E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > Possible Symptoms of failing VANOS Solenoids (n55)

11-17-2013, 02:14 PM   #1
kensk
Getting there...
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 e90 LCI

Exclamation Possible Symptoms of failing VANOS Solenoids (n55)

Let me start off by saying I'm not most knowledgeable with cars to begin with and will again note that I'm a beginner. But I would find this helpful to those who don't understand what the current problems are with the VANOS solenoids.

I currently drive a 2011 335i e90 (n55 engine) with a JB4 and catless BMS downpipe as my current mods. I've hit about 52k miles, had my chip for over 20k+ miles, and about 18k+ miles with my downpipe.

I've found this youtube video to be really helpful in understanding the solenoids but it doesn't specifically get into the e90's.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWKX97gHFlc

The Problem
1. At around 40k miles, I've noticed that my car would go into limp mode(yellow half engine light) on WOT(wide open throttle) with my jb4 turned on. A simple car restart would generally clear it, and if not turn the chip off and restart.
2. During low rpm's, my car would somewhat jerk when I'm pulling out of the driveway. This could happen in drive or reverse. I've taken it to the dealer under warranty, but they don't do jack for you ever. Nor will they ever. F**k them.
3. When stopped and in gear, I would notice that me engine seems to rattle and result to my car shaking a little bit before getting #2. Probably better defined as my engine idle tends to hiccup.
4. Whether the car is warmed up or not, when you rev the engine, you can tell that your rpm tends to 'hesitate' at around 1500rpm as it comes down ~900rpm. To me, it feels like the car is having a hard time breathing. It just doesn't feel comfortable/normal to me. This could be another symptom.