E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > washing my car often bad??

05-21-2010, 05:10 PM   #1
vietmike101
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 328i

washing my car often bad??

Hi E90ers.. long time viewer, first time poster. I like to keep my car clean.i plan on waxing/detailing my car 3 times a year. i was thinking of washing my car every week. Will this ruin my paint or wax? I heard people saying that by washing my car often, its washing off the wax of the car. Should i not wash it every week?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2010, 05:35 PM   #2
m.d.
Rep
Drives: E93 335is

I'm no expert, but I do weekly washing on my wife's gray 4 Runner without any troubles. I have always read that with a good wax/sealant on the paint and a mild car wash it should not strip the wax. I usually wash it every 1-2 weeks and do a full polish/wax 4 times a year. I use Zaino products and according to them, their car wash (Z-7) does not strip their wax.

I know there's some experts on here that can lend their vast knowledge to this post...
      05-21-2010, 10:17 PM   #3
Sooners335i
Private
Rep
Drives: 07 E90 335i

If you use a quality soap designed for washing cars, it will not strip the wax. Washing your car with something like Dawn dishwashing soap will strip the wax. There's nothing wrong with washing on a weekly basis. This will actually help to ensure the paint remains in good condition for longer by removing contaminants that may cause harm to the finish. If you don't keep it clean, things like bird droppings will etch the finish. Just make sure you have good washing technique so you're not introducing swirls into the paint.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2010, 12:42 AM   #4
jopa489
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Anything with Wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sooners335i View Post