E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Orange Peel - Wet sand only option?

09-22-2014, 09:20 PM   #1
PAT3L
Enlisted Member
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2008 BMW 323i E90 4 Door Sedan

Orange Peel - Wet sand only option?

Hey,

I'm new to this forum and don't quite know if i'm posting this in the right place or not.

So I currently got a new paint job on my BMW (full body) by a professional body shop, I had a few jobs done by him on my other vehicles but never a full body paint job. Anyhow when I got my car back I noticed the whole body had orange peel, from the research i've done so far, gathered that this is normal when doing paint jobs. Anyhow I was wondering is there any way other than wet sanding the car to get rid of orange peel perfectly? I don't want to risk damaging my clear coat by wet sanding since i've got no experience what so ever, and I don't want to spend $500-$1000 more getting it professionally done. If you know any products that work please let me know.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2014, 10:51 PM   #2
335speed
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 16 550

Garage List
2007 BMW E90  [10.00]
Having dealt with probably thousands of orange peel paint jobs, color sanding is the only way I know of but shouldnt be too expensive to get done? But seeing very visible orange peel means the paint job was subpar so id take it back and have them redo it or colorsand it themselves
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2014, 11:13 PM   #3
mythek
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 335i Coupe TIAG

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335speed View Post
Having dealt with probably thousands of orange peel paint jobs, color sanding is the only way I know of but shouldnt be too expensive to get done? But seeing very visible orange peel means the paint job was subpar so id take it back and have them redo it or colorsand it themselves