E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Replaced broken CIC drive with a used one - Navigation not working properly.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2017, 12:52 AM   #1
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
1023
Rep
3,044
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

Exclamation Replaced broken CIC drive with a used one - Navigation not working properly.

Hello,

A friend has a 2009 E61 with a replaced CIC unit that has been coded (with a blank .MAN) to his car. However the navigation only works intermittently. Sometimes it's grayed out on the main menu, other times it loads as normal. What could cause this? This is not a retrofitted CIC by the way, the car had a CIC from factory.

Also, is there anything special to be done to load North American maps onto the unit if it initially had Europe? The car is a EU import.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 06:10 AM   #2
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Was it script activated or have an emulator?
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 09:50 AM   #3
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
1023
Rep
3,044
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Was it script activated or have an emulator?
The car originally had a CIC that went bad so it was replaced with a used one.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 01:52 PM   #4
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Was it script activated or have an emulator?
The car originally had a CIC that went bad so it was replaced with a used one.
When you connect any other cic than yours, navigation won't work because it's vin locked. You need to activate by script or buy an emulator.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 06:05 PM   #5
Itec
New Member
Itec's Avatar
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Padova, Italy

iTrader: (0)

If car has CIC originally, emulator not needed. You can have navigation/maps if coding is correct. Email bimmer retrofit (www.bimmerretrofit.com), they can code for you.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 06:08 PM   #6
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
1023
Rep
3,044
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

I did the coding already:
-changed CIC VIN to match the car's via Tool32
-flashed the CIC with a blank .MAN file to align it to the car's VO/settings

Navigation loaded for a while and now it's grayed out again. I don't understand why it's working intermittently.

As for maps, do I need to provide the VIN of the donor car or the E61's to generate the map FSC?
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      08-08-2017, 06:15 PM   #7
Itec
New Member
Itec's Avatar
1
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Padova, Italy

iTrader: (0)

I think if your car has CIC originally, FSC for map must be for your car (not donor car).
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 05:51 AM   #8
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
I did the coding already:
-changed CIC VIN to match the car's via Tool32
-flashed the CIC with a blank .MAN file to align it to the car's VO/settings

Navigation loaded for a while and now it's grayed out again. I don't understand why it's working intermittently.

As for maps, do I need to provide the VIN of the donor car or the E61's to generate the map FSC?
If you change vin, certificates must be changed too.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 05:52 AM   #9
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itec View Post
If car has CIC originally, emulator not needed. You can have navigation/maps if coding is correct. Email bimmer retrofit (www.bimmerretrofit.com), they can code for you.
Wrong. Not plug'n play.
Script, emulator, or vin change along with certificates and fsc.
Just coding won't do it.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 09:51 AM   #10
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
1023
Rep
3,044
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
I did the coding already:
-changed CIC VIN to match the car's via Tool32
-flashed the CIC with a blank .MAN file to align it to the car's VO/settings

Navigation loaded for a while and now it's grayed out again. I don't understand why it's working intermittently.

As for maps, do I need to provide the VIN of the donor car or the E61's to generate the map FSC?
If you change vin, certificates must be changed too.
If I change the VIN back, then I assume it should be okay? I'm assuming I should only do the VIN change via Tool32, and avoid re-flashing with a blank .MAN after.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 11:54 AM   #11
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ixSpd View Post
I did the coding already:
-changed CIC VIN to match the car's via Tool32
-flashed the CIC with a blank .MAN file to align it to the car's VO/settings

Navigation loaded for a while and now it's grayed out again. I don't understand why it's working intermittently.

As for maps, do I need to provide the VIN of the donor car or the E61's to generate the map FSC?
If you change vin, certificates must be changed too.
If I change the VIN back, then I assume it should be okay? I'm assuming I should only do the VIN change via Tool32, and avoid re-flashing with a blank .MAN after.
Always need to script or emulator. Even with original vin. Certificates only ar needed of if vin is changed.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 12:57 PM   #12
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
1023
Rep
3,044
Posts

Drives: '12 M3 6MT, '09 328i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (1)

Okay thanks a lot. After using the emulator to get it up and running, what VIN do I give to the online maps FSC sellers? The E61's VIN or the donor car's VIN? I've already changed the VIN in the CIC itself to match the E61's.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT Alpine White + Fox Red Extended | '09 328i 6MT Space Gray + Saddle Brown

Appreciate 0
      08-09-2017, 04:51 PM   #13
Terraphantm
Lieutenant
112
Rep
586
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Always need to script or emulator. Even with original vin. Certificates only ar needed of if vin is changed.
If his CIC is on the latest softare, he could also just use the CIC patcher and sign his own FSCs
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2017, 07:23 AM   #14
Dtype
First Lieutenant
Portugal
10
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: BMW E91 320d 2007
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lisbon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terraphantm View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtype View Post
Always need to script or emulator. Even with original vin. Certificates only ar needed of if vin is changed.
If his CIC is on the latest softare, he could also just use the CIC patcher and sign his own FSCs
Yes. It's other way too.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST