E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Cheap and easy 1b file from CIC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2015, 07:51 AM   #67
MAN15H
Lieutenant
MAN15H's Avatar
United Kingdom
18
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i 4 Door Auto MSport
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Bedfordshire

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Man15h, you need the D-Link DUB-E100 and it must be gray, not black. It is very specific. The BMW Coding site has threads titled "Let's hack the CIC" and "Get 1B file from Exx CIC WITHOUT ICOM" with further detail.
Thanks for the info, I'll take a look.

Is the info that 'wildcatcrazy' posted about having to cut wires etc true...? I thought you just start to uplaod the new maps and the system asks for the FSC code which once typed in allows the maps to load and just start working..?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2015, 10:01 PM   #68
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
270
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAN15H
Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Man15h, you need the D-Link DUB-E100 and it must be gray, not black. It is very specific. The BMW Coding site has threads titled "Let's hack the CIC" and "Get 1B file from Exx CIC WITHOUT ICOM" with further detail.
Thanks for the info, I'll take a look.

Is the info that 'wildcatcrazy' posted about having to cut wires etc true...? I thought you just start to uplaod the new maps and the system asks for the FSC code which once typed in allows the maps to load and just start working..?
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1190582
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2015, 11:20 AM   #69
MAN15H
Lieutenant
MAN15H's Avatar
United Kingdom
18
Rep
450
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i 4 Door Auto MSport
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Bedfordshire

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
Interesting but its still possible that my CIC isn't script activated.. will have to give this some more thought. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 01:35 PM   #70
igotag
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i X-Drive Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

So I purchased one of the black OBDII to RJ45 converters, however I am unable to establish a connection. Is there a certain type of cable that is required?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 03:13 PM   #71
Len_Beach
Captain
55
Rep
886
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

The guides say to use the Rev.1b from memory which is grey. I couldn't get this to work however.

If your CIC is not retrofitted; use one of these http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/311485647433

I had no issues accessing the relevant file with this.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 10:52 PM   #72
igotag
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i X-Drive Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Turns out I needed to set my NIC to 100mbps/Full Duplex in the driver settings. Auto detect wasn't working.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 10:51 PM   #73
strayheart
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

does anyone know if this trick works with NBT as well?
without using E-Sys?
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2016, 11:45 AM   #74
atirad82
New Member
2
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: F32
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: THAILAND

iTrader: (0)

Help,

When I change ip address..

What number should I put in Dns server address ?

or just leave it blank

and does it work with NBT?


Thank guys
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2016, 07:23 PM   #75
Curval
New Member
1
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: 2011 E91 330d M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Since you're accessing an IP address directly, you don't need DNS servers.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2016, 04:42 AM   #76
Nicholas Bentley
Enlisted Member
United_States
5
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 335i E90 N55
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

I was able to download my 1b file today using a USB Ethernet adapter plugged into the USB port in the glovebox method. I used a TrendNet TU2-ET100 USB Ethernet adapter which has the ASIX AX88772A chipset (important). I picked it up from my local Frys for $12.99. I used IP 160.48.199.98, SM 255.255.255.128, DG 160.48.199.99 for my PC adapter settings. As accurately stated above by Curval, DNS isn't necessary, but I put it anyway as 160.48.199.99 (same as DG). I used ftp://160.48.199.99 in Internet Explorer on Windows XP Professional. My car (2011 335i E90 N55 LCI October 2010 build) did NOT ask for a user ID or password. Make sure you hire a hobbit when connecting the USB adapter to the port in the glovebox because it's hard to plug the darn thing in if you have normal sized hands.

Edit: I was successful to update my navigation maps from 2010 version to 2016 version. I used the FSC.exe package to create my code using the command, "fsc a.hex 0x2D 0x0B > code.txt". 0x2D is for North American Premium and 0x0B was from the 2016.1 info_map.imp file.

Last edited by Nicholas Bentley; 01-24-2016 at 05:54 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2016, 11:36 AM   #77
AntTwon
Second Lieutenant
AntTwon's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
212
Posts

Drives: 2011 M3 Sedan SGM
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (9)

Hi, first of all, thank you for all of the information posted in this thread. I have had success following these instructions 3 times now when updating to the 2016-1 maps. Yesterday I tried the same exact procedure when connecting to a 2013 e92 M3 and could not access the cars computer. I verified all settings multiple times and double checked all of my connections but nothing worked. I then took my computer without changing any configurations over to a 2011 135i and it prompted me for the username and password immediately. I was able to perform the update without a hitch. I am using the method with an E-net cable.

Any ideas why I would have difficulty connecting to the 2013 M3? All cars have CIC. Each car that I have had success with has been a 2011 build. Appreciate your help in advance
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2016, 02:00 PM   #78
ptmagnuson
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2011 X5 (E70)
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boise, ID

iTrader: (0)

Simplest Yet

Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Many thanks to Rotary Rasp and many others for developing these tools and techniques, I just combined several approaches to find a 12 step program. Here goes:

1. Get a ENET cable (yes, even though e9x doesn't normally use ENET). These typically end up costing about $5 by the time you pay for shipping and everything, but you can certainly save some money by making your own. Search eBay for "bmw enet", see this example for pre-made cables, or make your own with these instructions.
2. Set your PC/Android/Mac ethernet port to IP: 169.254.199.98, subnet: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 169.254.199.99, any DNS
3. Connect the cable and turn on the car (acc mode is fine)
4. In your web browser go to: ftp://169.254.199.99
5. It should prompt for a login, user name is "root", password is either "Hm83stN)" or "cic0803"
6. Click the link to go up a directory a couple of times then browse to /HBpersistence/normal and download the file "generalPersistencyData_DiagnosticSWTControlle r"
7. Disconnect from the car and get that file into Windows
8. Open the file in a hex editor like Hxd http://mh-nexus.de/downloads/HxDSetupEN.zip
9. Press CTRL-F to search, change the search mode to "Hex" and then search for "01 01 00 1B
10. Highlight and delete everything prior to "01 01 00 1B
11. Go to line (offset) 130 and delete the last block and everything after
12. Save the file as "a.hex", which should be exactly 319 bytes


Alternative options:
1a. Use a USB-Ethernet adapter per a thread on the other board titled "showthread.php?11728-Get-1B-file-from-Exx-CIC-WITHOUT-ICOM"
2a. Use winSCP to turn your computer into the host and force the CIC to the IP address of your choosing. Set your PC to a static IP address (e.g. 192.168.10.10/255.255.255.0) Launch TFTD32 and bind it to your wired adapter. Under the options tab, set the start address to 192.168.10.20 with at least 2 for the pool size. Reboot your CIC by pressing the VOLUME button for about 30 seconds. The CIC will now be accessible at the address you specified, 192.168.10.20 in this case.
4a. Use WinSCP or similar to make the FTP connection. You can check the "anonymous" box to login without a password. In this case the file will be called "data03" and located at /mnt/hbdebug/
This looks like the simplest approach I have seen yet. I am trying to apply this to a 2011 X5 E70. From what I have seen, it is not clear if the ENET-to-OBD cable will work with this car. Do you know if it will? If not, can these steps be used with the USB-to-OBD cable?
Many thanks.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2016, 01:47 AM   #79
TwinTurboRacer
Private
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2010 E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

I swear I have the worst of every possible coding situation with my 2010 model year CIC.... Okay, I've done coding before with my Pre-LCI E93, but when I tried to use the enet adapter (as linked in the eBay link OP posted and same as what a poster a few responses above had bought in the UK), I have no connection. Windows is showing the network adapter as not plugged in. I've tried MANY things including the following and looking for any advice.

1. Checked resistance, shows roughly 499 to 503 ohms.
A. I desoldered the resistor and used a pot I set to anywhere form 510 to 540 and it did not help.

2. Possible JB4 CANBUS interference?
A. I set to option 0-0 (Default map).
B. I even disconnected the JB4 from the ECU!

3. Cable bad/incorrect?
A. I tried multiple Cat5/6 cables I had at home. Verified with both straight through and crossover cables. Nothing worked.

Through all of this, I verified I can use my regular coding cable and access the OBD port.

In all of this, with Windows Firewall and Anti-Virus all disabled, my ethernet port (on THREE LAPTOPS; 2 Dell, 1 MBP) all did not detect a cable being plugged in. I tried setting to 10, 100, 1,000, and Auto settings. I've updated/downgraded drivers on the Dells. WiFi was turned off on all of them as well.

I verified the pins (continuity tester) were wired properly by the Chinese manufacturer. Ground is to the RJ45 metal jacket of the adapter, which I don't think matters since the ethernet cables are all plastic sleeved. Even the ones with the cables pre-fabbed have plastic sleeves, so the ground seems to be irrelevant. That said, I've tried to ground that jacket to chassis ground as well. (I'm serious when I said I tried everything I could think of)

Battery was just swapped (and properly coded as a 90ah AGM version). I even tried this with the engine running. And yes, while not running, this was done with the "2nd push" mode, SES light on, all others off.

ANY ideas would be appreciated. That or if there's someone in the Northern NJ area that would be willing to try and connect with their setup and let me know if I'm the crazy one or if something's wrong with my setup/car, I would appreciate it.

Last edited by TwinTurboRacer; 02-28-2016 at 02:51 AM. Reason: More things I've tried
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2016, 06:51 PM   #80
DaZuc
Congrats u played ya self
United_States
137
Rep
742
Posts

Drives: 335i xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rockland, NY

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboRacer View Post
I swear I have the worst of every possible coding situation with my 2010 model year CIC.... Okay, I've done coding before with my Pre-LCI E93, but when I tried to use the enet adapter (as linked in the eBay link OP posted and same as what a poster a few responses above had bought in the UK), I have no connection. Windows is showing the network adapter as not plugged in. I've tried MANY things including the following and looking for any advice.

1. Checked resistance, shows roughly 499 to 503 ohms.
A. I desoldered the resistor and used a pot I set to anywhere form 510 to 540 and it did not help.

2. Possible JB4 CANBUS interference?
A. I set to option 0-0 (Default map).
B. I even disconnected the JB4 from the ECU!

3. Cable bad/incorrect?
A. I tried multiple Cat5/6 cables I had at home. Verified with both straight through and crossover cables. Nothing worked.

Through all of this, I verified I can use my regular coding cable and access the OBD port.

In all of this, with Windows Firewall and Anti-Virus all disabled, my ethernet port (on THREE LAPTOPS; 2 Dell, 1 MBP) all did not detect a cable being plugged in. I tried setting to 10, 100, 1,000, and Auto settings. I've updated/downgraded drivers on the Dells. WiFi was turned off on all of them as well.

I verified the pins (continuity tester) were wired properly by the Chinese manufacturer. Ground is to the RJ45 metal jacket of the adapter, which I don't think matters since the ethernet cables are all plastic sleeved. Even the ones with the cables pre-fabbed have plastic sleeves, so the ground seems to be irrelevant. That said, I've tried to ground that jacket to chassis ground as well. (I'm serious when I said I tried everything I could think of)

Battery was just swapped (and properly coded as a 90ah AGM version). I even tried this with the engine running. And yes, while not running, this was done with the "2nd push" mode, SES light on, all others off.

ANY ideas would be appreciated. That or if there's someone in the Northern NJ area that would be willing to try and connect with their setup and let me know if I'm the crazy one or if something's wrong with my setup/car, I would appreciate it.
I can try my setup if you're still looking for help.
Appreciate 0
      02-29-2016, 04:10 PM   #81
TwinTurboRacer
Private
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2010 E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaZuc View Post
I can try my setup if you're still looking for help.
I would appreciate it. I'll PM you when I know I have some time to meet up. Had a small scare with my iPhone OBD scanner (GoPoint), but it turned out my iPhone itself needed a hard restart. I tried with my laptop and the ENET adapter, thinking MAYBE it'll work now, but still no go.

Per Einstein, I'm probably going insane... Doing the same things over and over again expecting different results...
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2016, 01:54 AM   #82
vespa
Private First Class
77
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Thousand Oaks

iTrader: (0)

Twin, use a regular cable, not crossover and test the setup by connecting to your router. You might have a bad connection at the OBD port or some problem with the ethernet wiring to the CIC. In either case the best solution would be to use the USB adapter method instead.
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2016, 08:13 PM   #83
TwinTurboRacer
Private
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2010 E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Twin, use a regular cable, not crossover and test the setup by connecting to your router. You might have a bad connection at the OBD port or some problem with the ethernet wiring to the CIC. In either case the best solution would be to use the USB adapter method instead.
Vespa, I did use a regular straight through cable first, then used crossover just in case. Connection to router works fine as well (cable modem wifi router, connected to a LAN port with wifi disabled, got internet when DHCP enabled). Did this on 2 Windows and 1 Mac laptop.

I may end up going the USB route, but trying to figure out if I have other issues that will prevent me from doing this regardless of interface method. Shouldn't be having this problem with a 2010 CIC (Original, not retrofit).
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 02:24 AM   #84
TwinTurboRacer
Private
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2010 E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

So, apparently I have one of those "special" models... Build date of 11/09, E93, original CIC, (Nav Map 1.4.6 2009-2).

I got the USB-Ethernet adapter, Didn't get the gray D-Link everyone else got ($20+). Instead got the UtechSmart USB 2.0 to 10/100 Fast Ethernet LAN wired Network Adapater for Wii, Wii U, Macbook, blah blah blah on Amazon for $9.99 (Free Prime 1 day available) and no tax (in NJ). Important thing was the ASIX AX88772 chipset and this has it.

Anyone who's local and wants the OBD-Ethernet Adapter, just buy me a McD Happy Meal. I'm sure it's fine and works, just not on my build, even though the Tx/Rx/ETH-a wiring is all on the OBD port from the CIC.

Link light came on right away. Had issues connecting to the FTP IP as instructed in that "other link" the OP posted. After some more digging, it turned out my special CIC required a different IP setup:

IP: 10.250.89.98
SN: 255.255.255.128
GW: 160.48.199.99
DNS: 160.48.199.99

FTP to 10.250.89.2

This allowed me to get WinSCP to connect with an anonymous login. If you get a prompt for username/password, try the anonymous route. The U/P provided in the other site didn't work for me (again).

Once I got that far, it's been smooth sailing. Here's an interesting kicker though and I'm not done loading the new maps (on USB 1 as I type this).

When doing the FSC code, I tried 0x08 and 0x09 to try and load my 2015-1 and 2016-1 maps. Invalid. I then said screw it, it's out of warranty, whoever else buys it from me years from now won't know what to do, and I really don't want to bother with this again in case my BMW specific laptop crashes one day. I decided to do the 0xFF lifetime command line. Now, AFTER I entered the fsc code in the CIC and it accepted it, I realized I used 0xDD! I did the command line again with 0xFF and it definitely outputs a different code so... I'm assuming there's a certain threshold where it just says "lifetime". FF is 255. DD is 221.

I'm up to USB 2 now. Let's see if my luck holds up as I've read that late '09/early '10 CICs have a unique bug that crashes the update at 93% or so. I'm either going to sleep pissed or a happy camper in an hour from now.

For those that don't want to Google, the 93% bug fix is a firmware update of the CIC which can only be done by dealer or ICOM. Some fortunate few may have had a dealer update it during service at some point due to recalls/TSBs for the N54. Crossing my fingers.

Last edited by TwinTurboRacer; 03-05-2016 at 02:49 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 10:27 AM   #85
TwinTurboRacer
Private
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 2010 E93 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

It worked with 0xDD!!! Got so excited I went for a drive last night and had fun with the JB4 tune as well.

Hope my writeup/addendum helps others who are having issues getting this done.

DaZuc, really appreciate the offer. In the same spirit, if anyone local needs some assistance as well, let me know.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2016, 08:45 PM   #86
DaZuc
Congrats u played ya self
United_States
137
Rep
742
Posts

Drives: 335i xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rockland, NY

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboRacer View Post
It worked with 0xDD!!! Got so excited I went for a drive last night and had fun with the JB4 tune as well.

Hope my writeup/addendum helps others who are having issues getting this done.

DaZuc, really appreciate the offer. In the same spirit, if anyone local needs some assistance as well, let me know.
All good no problem! Glad you figured it out!
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 12:21 PM   #87
jarojito
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 320d E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

These adapter that you put on the example is valid for bmw e90 pre-lci with cic retrofit with emulator? On the tittle say that is for F series.

Sorry about my poor english

Last edited by jarojito; 03-08-2016 at 12:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2016, 03:07 PM   #88
vespa
Private First Class
77
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Thousand Oaks

iTrader: (0)

Jaro, you need the D-Link USB adapter for a retrofit CIC because your car doesn't have ethernet wired to the OBD.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST