E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Oil filter housing gasket help

12-08-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
fenixxishot
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 08 335i e92 AW MT

Oil filter housing gasket help

So I replaced my oil filter housing and oil cooler gaskets a couple of weeks back however the leaking has returned(never went completely away but was reduced) from the same location. I don't really know how I could have made a mistake with putting the new gaskets in but I am not an expert. Has this happened to anyone before or does anyone have a recommendation for when I redo the job tomorrow that will prevent me from doing it a third time?

Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
Meeni
Gateropode
Rep
Drives: BMW 330i 06

you have to clean mating surface really good. however are you sure the leak is not spilling from the valve cover ?
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2012, 07:05 AM   #3
Efthreeoh
General
United_States
Rep
Drives: The E90 + Z4 Coupe & Z3 R'ster

I've only done the profile gasket on the N52, but I'm assuming the N54 is similar as one of the parts diagrams shows the housing that looks the same as the N52. All I can recommend is make sure the old gasket is completely removed from both surfaces. Make sure there head surface is clean and shiny with no nicks in it. Also, drain the coolant and detach all the hoses going to the housing so it is free to seat properly. And last when you re-install the housing torque the bolts down evenly in a pattern (i.e. don't fully tighten down one bolt at a time).
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2012, 07:22 AM   #4
Juiced46
Major
Rep
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi

A leaking oil filter cap o ring will also make it look like the filter housing is leaking but it is not.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2012, 04:28 PM   #5
fenixxishot
Lieutenant
Rep