E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Extended BMW 335d PIDs for Torque



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-27-2017, 02:56 AM   #199
m5james
Lieutenant Colonel
m5james's Avatar
United_States
185
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '10 X5M Alpine White on Sakhir
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Marysville, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
In case any one has a problem downloading the file, here's the txt in the csv:

Name,ShortName,ModeAndPID,Equation,Min Value,Max Value,Units,Header
0-0 BMW 335d Ambient Air Temperature,AAT,146,((A-40)*1.8)+32,0,50,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Intake Air Temperature,IAT,10F,((A-40)*1.8)+32,0,100,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Charged Air Cooler Temperature,CACT,177,((B-40)*1.8)+32,0,100,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d AFR,AFR,124,((A*256)+B)*0.00044225,0,30,AFR,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Air Mass,Air Mass ,110,((((A*256)+B)/100)*0.132276),0,50,lb/min,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Manifold Pressure,Boost,170,((((((D*256)+E)*0.296)-1000)/1000)*14.5),0,35,psi,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Exhaust Manifold Pressure,Exh Press,173,(((((B*256)+C)/10)-1000)/1000)*14.5,0,45,psi,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Fuel Flow,Fuel Flow,015E,((A*256)+B)*5.64,0,125,lb/hr,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Exhaust Temperature Post DOC,EGT Pre DPF,178,(((((B*256)+C)/10)-40)*1.8)+32,0,1400,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Exhaust Temperature Pre DOC,EGT Pre DOC,178,(((((D*256)+E)/10)-40)*1.8)+32,0,1400,F,Auto
0-0 BMW 335d Exhaust Temperature Pre SCR,EGT Pre SCR,178,(((((F*256)+G)/10)-40)*1.8)+32,0,1400,F,Auto
I've since installed a JB4 on my S63 powered X5M so I'm getting accurate boost readings that way but I'd still like to see about getting Torque to read correctly on my X5M and/ory GGF's N54 powered 535xiT. I see a lot of references to 335d in the above coding, but it that just naming that's read on the Torque app during use? Other than deleting EGR, assuming I don't have sensors on either of my cars, I'm just curious how hard it'd be to still make this work on gas engines.
Appreciate 0
      09-27-2017, 09:48 AM   #200
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m5james View Post
I've since installed a JB4 on my S63 powered X5M so I'm getting accurate boost readings that way but I'd still like to see about getting Torque to read correctly on my X5M and/ory GGF's N54 powered 535xiT. I see a lot of references to 335d in the above coding, but it that just naming that's read on the Torque app during use? Other than deleting EGR, assuming I don't have sensors on either of my cars, I'm just curious how hard it'd be to still make this work on gas engines.
There are some PIDs that are standard for all vehicles. Those are the one provided by Torque. Others are unique as designated by the manufacture. I think I need to consolidate the info in this thread into the first post. However, the information is within the thread with clues on how to create your own custom PIDs. I only guarantee my custom PIDs for use on the 335d.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2017, 07:57 AM   #201
Persian Whisperjet
Kind of a Big Deal
United_States
68
Rep
685
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.

iTrader: (0)

Just deleted iCarly and downloaded Torque Pro. Very psyched about entering these PIDs and doing some logging on a long drive this weekend.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2017, 11:21 AM   #202
Torqu3
Captain
132
Rep
924
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335D
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Centralish Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasanova View Post
Hi DWR, I think I spoke to you on one of the Facebook 335d groups, just found this thread. Did you ever take a look at setting up a reading for the oil temperature?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasanova View Post
Yup, it was definitely you. Only reason why I now know, is because you just mentioned the Scwaben tool again. I know another member was trying to get you the PID's but that post just disappeared to the bottom somewhere and I cant find it in my notifications. Will keep an eye on this thread from now on. And thank you again.
Did some poking around with my Schwaben tool earlier today. I found 2 interesting options: "Oil temperature, engine" and "Engine temperature". The engine oil temperature option was in the EPS module, and stayed within 2F of coolant temp. The engine temperature is read by the DME and also stayed within 2F of coolant temperature. My guess now is that it's all the same sensor, the coolant temperature sensor. No need in getting another PID for what we already have.
Appreciate 1
      10-04-2017, 01:30 PM   #203
Persian Whisperjet
Kind of a Big Deal
United_States
68
Rep
685
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqu3 View Post
Did some poking around with my Schwaben tool earlier today. I found 2 interesting options: "Oil temperature, engine" and "Engine temperature". The engine oil temperature option was in the EPS module, and stayed within 2F of coolant temp. The engine temperature is read by the DME and also stayed within 2F of coolant temperature. My guess now is that it's all the same sensor, the coolant temperature sensor. No need in getting another PID for what we already have.
Do you know how to generate a csv file from the Schwaben though?
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2017, 06:04 PM   #204
Torqu3
Captain
132
Rep
924
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 335D
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Centralish Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Persian Whisperjet View Post
Do you know how to generate a csv file from the Schwaben though?
Haven't looked into it. I will when I get time.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2017, 12:47 AM   #205
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqu3 View Post
Did some poking around with my Schwaben tool earlier today. I found 2 interesting options: "Oil temperature, engine" and "Engine temperature". The engine oil temperature option was in the EPS module, and stayed within 2F of coolant temp. The engine temperature is read by the DME and also stayed within 2F of coolant temperature. My guess now is that it's all the same sensor, the coolant temperature sensor. No need in getting another PID for what we already have.
Standard OBDII PID 5C is Engine Oil Temperature
EOT may be obtained directly from a sensor, or may be inferred by the control strategy using other sensor inputs. Since 335d does not have an oil temperature sensor, it must be inferred.

Correction: there is a temperature sensor in the oil "quality" sensor. However, I have never been able to get anything out of the ODBII port, regarding this parameter.

Last edited by DWR; 11-03-2017 at 10:36 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2017, 07:46 AM   #206
Persian Whisperjet
Kind of a Big Deal
United_States
68
Rep
685
Posts

Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington, D.C.

iTrader: (0)

Just loaded up my custom PIDs with torque Pro and a $22 BT adapter from Amazon and I could not be happier. Android device automatically syncs with BT adapter when I turn the car on and starts logging on its own. Syncing and logging with the iCarly app by contrast was like arming a nuclear warhead.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2017, 07:22 PM   #207
fsd350
First Lieutenant
fsd350's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
309
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 335d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BFE

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks for this DWR. Has been working great (my boost gauge has been waiting a year to be installed)

Last edited by fsd350; 11-05-2017 at 04:57 PM. Reason: irrelevant
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2017, 10:52 PM   #208
fsd350
First Lieutenant
fsd350's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
309
Posts

Drives: 2010 BMW 335d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: BFE

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
EGT Monitor Discrepancy

Haven't really thought about it until now after reformatting my tablet and reinstalling Torque last week.

Pre DOC reading is not reflecting EGT from sensor 1.
Shows ambient temp (my sensor 2 is connected and bagged)
The Post DOC - Pre DPF PID is monitoring proper EGT from sensor 1.
Looks like the equations are switched around.
Pre DOC should be (B*+C) and Post DOC-Pre DPF (D*+E) in the equations
Appreciate 2
      11-20-2017, 08:42 PM   #209
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsd350 View Post
Haven't really thought about it until now after reformatting my tablet and reinstalling Torque last week.

Pre DOC reading is not reflecting EGT from sensor 1.
Shows ambient temp (my sensor 2 is connected and bagged)
The Post DOC - Pre DPF PID is monitoring proper EGT from sensor 1.
Looks like the equations are switched around.
Pre DOC should be (B*+C) and Post DOC-Pre DPF (D*+E) in the equations
Wow, nice catch. I'll update the csv. Thanks. > Done.

Last edited by DWR; 11-20-2017 at 10:51 PM.
Appreciate 1
      11-20-2017, 09:10 PM   #210
rjahl
Major
rjahl's Avatar
203
Rep
1,145
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.5is
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsd350 View Post
Haven't really thought about it until now after reformatting my tablet and reinstalling Torque last week.

Pre DOC reading is not reflecting EGT from sensor 1.
Shows ambient temp (my sensor 2 is connected and bagged)
The Post DOC - Pre DPF PID is monitoring proper EGT from sensor 1.
Looks like the equations are switched around.
Pre DOC should be (B*+C) and Post DOC-Pre DPF (D*+E) in the equations
Did you replace the downpipe?
Is there an equivalent app for the IPhone?

I've been using DashCommander for a while but it does not support custom PIDs
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2017, 10:50 PM   #211
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
Is there an equivalent app for the IPhone?

I've been using DashCommander for a while but it does not support custom PIDs
As far as custom PIDs go, not that I am aware of. Apple doesn't allow 3rd party user code to be run within iPhone apps. However, that shouldn't deter anyone. Android pay-as-you-go phones can be dirt cheap. I am currently using an AT&T Alcaltel that I got from the local drug store for $14 because it was old stock. I see this genre of phones on sale from time to time for under $30. As a bonus, the battery seems to last longer when used in this manner. Just a thought ...

Last edited by DWR; 11-26-2017 at 10:59 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 12:03 PM   #212
DWR
Lieutenant Colonel
468
Rep
1,632
Posts

Drives: 2009 335d
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjahl View Post
Is there an equivalent app for the IPhone?

I've been using DashCommander for a while but it does not support custom PIDs
Try looking at this:
http://www.outdoor-apps.com/enginelink.html
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST