E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Potential new owner 335d

01-29-2016, 12:46 AM   #1
Tomar10
Rep
Drives: 335D

Potential new owner 335d

Hi experts and enthusiasts. I am a noob considering buying a 2011 335d 44k miles with Premium and cold weather package. My concern is with how reliable it is going to be and will I be saddled with expensive repairs.

I have had an Acura RL for a long time which has been essentially trouble free for me. I intend to keep my Acura as my winter driver should I buy this car.

I am trying to familiarize myself with some of the words here like CBU issues, alphabet delete (still don't understand it fully).

There is also another 2011 335 d with 35k miles with navigation and convenience , premium package and Navigation available but requires me to travel out of state to get that.

Another car that I like is a 2012 335 xi coupe with 26k miles with premium package and navigation. Though it's been in an accident early in its lease but the owner persisted with the lease so it wasn't that bad.

I don't have a commute to speak of so the d would be a weekend ride and used on vacation.

Now what would the recommendation be of you enthusiasts for me?

If you recommend the 335 d then what are the essential mods that I should get done to make it reliable and last long? I don't mind doing the mods as I am not in California and hopefully passing inspection isn't an issue. Also where could I get these done and how much would they cost, a ballpark

Any insight and advice would be greatly appreciated for I know very little.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2016, 05:21 AM   #2
bvanlieu
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Alpine 335d

Coming from a Honda, any BMW will be lower on the reliability scale, that's a given.