E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > job interveiws

12-04-2008, 06:23 AM   #1
Zk1
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i coupe

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [0.00]
job interveiws

I'm a freelance it contractor so i get to go to a lot of these.
Boy do they suck, recently i have had the most anal interveiwers ever.
The ones i hate like key scratches along the whole side of My car are the agenst who post fake jobs just to get refs for leads and make you wait three days before telling you that you're unsuccessful. nice.

I have started saying " im sorry i dont give refrences till the final stage or
is there actually a contract or are you generating leads, the more inexperienced agents then try to lie but their fairly obvious to spot.

we all have to pay for fuel somehow....
      12-04-2008, 06:38 AM   #2
dar2008
Major
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: E93 M3 and E92 M3 Comp

I'm in the same line of work. I always put on my cv 'references available on request'. I would never provide these until after an interview with the client, and only then assuming I was interested in the position. That said, in all my years of IT contracting (>12), I've never once had a reference taken up,... weird when you consider the hurdles permies have to go through to get a new permie job...
      12-04-2008, 07:13 AM   #3
marriedblonde
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: e92 330 sport

I'm a contractor as well and I would never dream of giving out refs until after I had been interviewed by the client!

Actually I don't think I have ever been asked to supply before I had been shown a offer letter or contract.

J.
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2008, 07:14 AM   #4
Carrera RSR
Colonel
England
Rep
Drives: BMW

I lost two jobs when I was young due to recruitment consultants. One sent my CV to my current employer. The second asked for references from my employer before I had resigned my position.