E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > [Newbie] General Questions about Maintenance and Warranty

02-08-2015, 07:37 PM   #1
mnguyen
Rep
Drives: 2011 BMW 328XI

Lightbulb [Newbie] General Questions about Maintenance and Warranty

Greetings from Madison, Wisconsin!

Before I start asking, I would like to to make it clear that I am very very new to BMW, and car-related stuff. Before my 2011 BMW 328xi, I owned a 1999 Camry and everything that I did was oil change, re-fueling and getting on the road (which unfortunately will not be the case with my BMW). Therefore, please pardon me if some of my questions do not make any sense to you guys.

I bought my 2011 BMW 328xi two months ago at 36300 miles and I have absolutely loved driving it so far. After a road trip this weekend, the clock reached 38000 miles and I started to think about what will happen when I reach 50000 miles. So I made friend with Google and searched for everything that I could. However, there must be a good reason for this forum to exist! Below are my questions.

1. Warranty: My local dealer offers $3100 for 60mt/100k miles platinum. I also read the BMW old school maintenance guide of Mike Miller, which recommends replacing certain items at certain milestones. Will it cost more than $3100 to replace everything that Mike mentions from 50k to 100k miles? How expensive will it be to fix minor things that are not mentioned in Mike's guide (like window buttons not working, door locks not working)?