E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Stoptech SS brake line failed almost crashed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-15-2018, 03:01 AM   #45
Brandon818
Private First Class
Brandon818's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
140
Posts

Drives: 2012 Bmw 335is coupe
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Los angeles

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2012 BMW 335is  [0.00]
SCARY!!! now I'm second guessing installing some that I just ordered. Glad you're ok OP
__________________
FBO 335is + Carbon Goodies
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2018, 07:32 PM   #46
madskillzE90
Private First Class
United_States
25
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: E90 AWD
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Goodyear AZ

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueeyesredpanda View Post
No I didn't install them incorrectly. They are LONGER than stock brake line. I have already sent Stoptech an email, but no reply from them. Stoptech used STOCK Rwd brake line length for AWD. It's rubbing on the shaft
So they sent you the wrong brake lines......

I looked at your pic and compared to mine.

Yep they sent you the wrong brake lines.
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2018, 11:04 PM   #47
Blueeyesredpanda
Captain
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
185
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madskillzE90 View Post
So they sent you the wrong brake lines......

I looked at your pic and compared to mine.

Yep they sent you the wrong brake lines.
My package says 950.34013.

Which i got it from here:
https://www.tdotperformance.ca/stopt...as-a-pair.html

Do you recall what is the part # of the one that you have
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 08:32 AM   #48
madskillzE90
Private First Class
United_States
25
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: E90 AWD
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Goodyear AZ

iTrader: (1)

Whats your year make and model
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 08:41 AM   #49
madskillzE90
Private First Class
United_States
25
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: E90 AWD
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Goodyear AZ

iTrader: (1)

You should have ordered 950.34023
These are exactly the same length as stock lines.
They have the metal fitting with locking clip to hold the line in place just like stock.

The ones you have are not correct they just have those rubber rings and are way to long.Hence the reason for the rubbing and zip tie.

NO need for a zip tie on the correct ones.



Last edited by madskillzE90; 03-16-2018 at 08:48 AM.
Appreciate 3
      03-16-2018, 11:39 AM   #50
gunnerxq
Lieutenant Colonel
gunnerxq's Avatar
United_States
138
Rep
1,556
Posts

Drives: e90 "325i"
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Staten Island and Albany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madskillzE90 View Post
You should have ordered 950.34023
These are exactly the same length as stock lines.
They have the metal fitting with locking clip to hold the line in place just like stock.

The ones you have are not correct they just have those rubber rings and are way to long.Hence the reason for the rubbing and zip tie.

NO need for a zip tie on the correct ones.


Yeah my ss brake lines were rubbing also but on the sway bar. I forgot what company they were but they are red. Managed to bend them out of the way a few times when they were warm and haven't had an issue since. The protective outer shell was rubbed through on the drivers side but they seem fine otherwise.
And yes I did get the right ones for the car.
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 04:19 PM   #51
Blueeyesredpanda
Captain
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
185
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madskillzE90 View Post
Whats your year make and model

10 328i xdrive
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2018, 04:26 PM   #52
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
2576
Rep
52,494
Posts


Drives: C6 Z06, 09 335i, 10 335xi
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: www.TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (37)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon818 View Post
SCARY!!! now I'm second guessing installing some that I just ordered. Glad you're ok OP
If they are the same size as stock then you won't have issue if installed correctly.

I have Stop Tech lines on my personal car and have been offering them for years without a hitch. This is a simple case of wrong part and an unfortunate incident for OP. Luckily for him nobody got hurt.

I actually had a similar incident on my Z06 with Goodridge lines but was entirely my fault since I was the installer but in part to blame from the manufacturer for not having instructions stating the specific orientation they needed to be installed. They actually had to go out to their race car as they were stumped about the issue too and sent me pictures. I worked with the manufacturer who sent me a replacement for free and they handled it very well and really I didn't even ask for anything for free, just wanted to know the correct way to install them to avoid them rubbing.

BTW I recommend anyone installing brake lines to check up on them after a few miles for rubbing and also re-tighten.
__________________
|Like us on Facebook||Evolution Racewerks| |Active Autowerke| |ETS| |Burger Tuning| |PURE Turbos| |Mishimoto||VRSF| |AWE| |Wagner|

|Price Match Guarantee + 5% Bonus Back* | |CTS| |KW| |Spec| |ST Coilovers| |Koni| |Bilstein| |Borla| |Magnaflow| |AFE| |Fabspeed| |Injen| Create an Account for up to 10% OFF!
Appreciate 2
Phyrexia211.50
PhaseP355.50

      03-16-2018, 04:44 PM   #53
Blueeyesredpanda
Captain
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
185
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madskillzE90 View Post
You should have ordered 950.34023
These are exactly the same length as stock lines.
They have the metal fitting with locking clip to hold the line in place just like stock.

The ones you have are not correct they just have those rubber rings and are way to long.Hence the reason for the rubbing and zip tie.

NO need for a zip tie on the correct ones.



You are right. All the XI shares the same brake line.
Which means 328xi should not be an option on

https://www.tdotperformance.ca/stopt...as-a-pair.html
because 950.34013 is for RWD ONLY.


And for 950.34023, 328xi should be an option here
https://www.tdotperformance.ca/stopt...as-a-pair.html

Name:  Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 2.36.21 PM.png
Views: 205
Size:  239.3 KB
Appreciate 1
FCobra941885.50

      03-16-2018, 05:11 PM   #54
FCobra94
Brigadier General
FCobra94's Avatar
1886
Rep
4,069
Posts

Drives: '07 E90 335i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N54POWR View Post
This is why aftermarket parts need to be checked and rechecked often. Whether install error or otherwise, it was definitely wearing down over time as shown by the other side. If you want reliability, keep it stock.
I've had stop tech lines for years, I keep them clean and check them regularly and I've never had a problem.
Yeah, exactly; which is why stainless brake lines are usually labeled as a "off-road use only" ... if you're gonna make the swap, you gotta keep a proper eye on the stuff:
Quote:
With the increase in strength associated with stainless steel lines, also comes a little more maintenance. The braided mesh covering can allow small dust and dirt particles to get between the braiding and hydraulic line. Over time, these dirt particles will wear away at the inner lining and will eventually cause a leak. Most stainless steel brake lines will come with a PVC (or other similar covering) on them to prevent dirt intrusion, but it is important to know the specifics of your lines. Even if you do have a PVC covering on your stainless braided lines, it is still a good idea to check them periodically for leaks.
__________________
'07 E90 335i - Automagic - Non-sport
MHD E60|Alpina Flash|Stg 2 LPFP|VRSF 7"FMIC-DP-CP|TIAL BOV|cp-e DCI
Bilstein B6|Dinan Camber Plates|E93 M3 FSB-LCA-Guide Rods|Manzo Toe Arms|HPS 5.0
Sonic Tuning ST100 - 18x8.5 ET35 - Conti DWS 245/40/18 - 10/20 F/R spacers
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2018, 02:30 PM   #55
Blueeyesredpanda
Captain
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
185
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

UPDATED
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2018, 04:23 PM   #56
Mistajay
Private
Mistajay's Avatar
Canada
29
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Sauveur

iTrader: (0)

I use stoptech at front and rear.

I broke one on HDPE event. I bought an another set and they are hard to fit very well.

I order stoptech BBK and they come with new in the box they fit better.

I think to be sure to fit it great with stock caliper you need to have a banjo bolt. for the ligne can move on the caliper when the car is moving.

If i need to another set for the OEM caliper i will bought an another brand .
Appreciate 1
feuer2268.50

      03-28-2018, 07:54 PM   #57
Blueeyesredpanda
Captain
Blueeyesredpanda's Avatar
185
Rep
991
Posts

Drives: E90 / F30
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistajay View Post
I use stoptech at front and rear.

I broke one on HDPE event. I bought an another set and they are hard to fit very well.

I order stoptech BBK and they come with new in the box they fit better.

I think to be sure to fit it great with stock caliper you need to have a banjo bolt. for the ligne can move on the caliper when the car is moving.

If i need to another set for the OEM caliper i will bought an another brand .
Does the Stoptech BBK stop much better? I think the 328i brake are kind of weak, its not like an instant stop.
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2018, 09:13 PM   #58
Mistajay
Private
Mistajay's Avatar
Canada
29
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Sauveur

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueeyesredpanda View Post
Does the Stoptech BBK stop much better? I think the 328i brake are kind of weak, its not like an instant stop.
Stop better?

My oem brake from my 335 was doing a great job.

When I was lapping with my old 328 with 330 motor upgrade. Everything was fine. I install 335 brake at 4 corner with street race pad everything was good.

When I upgrade my 335i to pure stage 1 and all Bolt on I warp one or 2 rotor per lapping day. The problem wasn't the torque of 335 brake it was the endurance of the plain rotor.

I go to stoptech to have thicker rotor and the 2 piece with 6 pots.

The torque was better but the best thing it was really more modulable VS 335 brake.

If you don't do hdpe event just install 335 brake with good pad and you will be really happy
Appreciate 1
feuer2268.50

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST