E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > M3 Steering Rack Swap



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-16-2015, 07:01 AM   #89
Kizzu
First Lieutenant
Malta
20
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: Bmw 125i Black Sapphire
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Malta

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostNinja View Post
I doubt it. Anyone tried it yet? Ive been swamped with customer cars.
So a hydraulic power steering from an electric assisted power steering conversion is not possible ?

Last edited by Kizzu; 06-17-2015 at 05:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2015, 09:42 PM   #90
BoostNinja
Second Lieutenant
42
Rep
208
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Spring TX

iTrader: (2)

Im working with a coder he thinks it can be done. He showed me some code where servotronic can be set to active. I'll know for sure in a week or so hopefully!
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2015, 07:28 PM   #91
whosdady
Major
whosdady's Avatar
112
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: STL

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostNinja
Im working with a coder he thinks it can be done. He showed me some code where servotronic can be set to active. I'll know for sure in a week or so hopefully!
Please keep us updated. The stock rack is one of my least favorite things about the car.

But I still prefer it over a dead servo that kills the luxury of power steering.
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2015, 06:38 AM   #92
Kong Sheng Han
Banned
North Korea
215
Rep
1,148
Posts

Drives: Something something racecar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austin, Texas

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW 328i  [0.00]
2001 BMW M3  [0.00]
Those of you buying M3 steering racks, I recommend y'all check out the Rack Doctor. He sells refurbished racks at great prices and is very helpful if you have any questions. 5/5.
Appreciate 1
      08-13-2015, 03:03 PM   #93
slinkygn
Enlisted Member
United_States
6
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: TX, US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
The inner tie rod of the 335i has different part number than the M3 one so no idea if you can fit the M3 rack
Anyone figure out what the difference is between these two yet? I haven't gotten to see them side by side, but they sure do look pretty close to identical when seen separately. Do they need to be swapped with a rack swap or not, or does it even matter? (I'm guessing nothing on the wheel side needs to change, since the outer tie rod is the same P/N.)
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2015, 04:41 PM   #94
robc1976
DIYER
robc1976's Avatar
428
Rep
5,532
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slinkygn View Post
Anyone figure out what the difference is between these two yet? I haven't gotten to see them side by side, but they sure do look pretty close to identical when seen separately. Do they need to be swapped with a rack swap or not, or does it even matter? (I'm guessing nothing on the wheel side needs to change, since the outer tie rod is the same P/N.)
M3 inner tie-rod less threads and can not be used. 335 inner tie-rod has to be used to get proper alignment specs. Outer tie-rod can be used.
__________________
JB4 G5, Stage 3 LPFP, Stage 2 MOTIV PI, VM 6466 ST, Custom OCC W/ SS lines, ER FMIC, ER CP W/HKS BOV, M3 control arms, M3 guide rods, M3 upper links, M3 front & rear sway-bars, HPA rear toe arms, Wavetrac LSD, HPF Gen 2, DEFIV kit, KW clubsport, Delrin solid SF bushings, stoptech rotors, Rogue Tranny Mounts, 1M bumper, M3 CF hood, M3 fenders, M3 OEM sideskirts, Mtech rear bumper, CSL trunk, MORR VS8.2 rims 245/295
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2015, 05:08 AM   #95
marconi118
Major
55
Rep
1,089
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

I swapped the M3 rack complete with M3 inner and outer tie rods

allignment was fine

but I have M3 lower arms
Appreciate 1
      08-14-2015, 12:57 PM   #96
robc1976
DIYER
robc1976's Avatar
428
Rep
5,532
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I swapped the M3 rack complete with M3 inner and outer tie rods

allignment was fine

but I have M3 lower arms
as Do I, usually with M3 inner tie-rods you can't get the correct toe settings
__________________
JB4 G5, Stage 3 LPFP, Stage 2 MOTIV PI, VM 6466 ST, Custom OCC W/ SS lines, ER FMIC, ER CP W/HKS BOV, M3 control arms, M3 guide rods, M3 upper links, M3 front & rear sway-bars, HPA rear toe arms, Wavetrac LSD, HPF Gen 2, DEFIV kit, KW clubsport, Delrin solid SF bushings, stoptech rotors, Rogue Tranny Mounts, 1M bumper, M3 CF hood, M3 fenders, M3 OEM sideskirts, Mtech rear bumper, CSL trunk, MORR VS8.2 rims 245/295
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2015, 03:13 AM   #97
slinkygn
Enlisted Member
United_States
6
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: TX, US

iTrader: (0)

Trying to wrap my head around that... if an M3 rack needs a 335i tie rod on a 335i but an M3 tie rod on an M3, doesn't that imply that the steering knuckle is a different distance away for the 335i and the M3? I thought the front track distance was the same for both vehicles, no?
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2015, 03:29 AM   #98
robc1976
DIYER
robc1976's Avatar
428
Rep
5,532
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slinkygn View Post
Trying to wrap my head around that... if an M3 rack needs a 335i tie rod on a 335i but an M3 tie rod on an M3, doesn't that imply that the steering knuckle is a different distance away for the 335i and the M3? I thought the front track distance was the same for both vehicles, no?
M3 has wider stance, wider fenders ect
__________________
JB4 G5, Stage 3 LPFP, Stage 2 MOTIV PI, VM 6466 ST, Custom OCC W/ SS lines, ER FMIC, ER CP W/HKS BOV, M3 control arms, M3 guide rods, M3 upper links, M3 front & rear sway-bars, HPA rear toe arms, Wavetrac LSD, HPF Gen 2, DEFIV kit, KW clubsport, Delrin solid SF bushings, stoptech rotors, Rogue Tranny Mounts, 1M bumper, M3 CF hood, M3 fenders, M3 OEM sideskirts, Mtech rear bumper, CSL trunk, MORR VS8.2 rims 245/295
Appreciate 1
      08-15-2015, 07:05 AM   #99
Griff500
Private
23
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Home

iTrader: (0)

The wider stance is in wheel offset alone, not the hub

The M3 upright/hub is different to non M cars. The position of the steering knuckle is a little further outboard on the M cars.
Appreciate 1
      08-15-2015, 03:26 PM   #100
slinkygn
Enlisted Member
United_States
6
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: TX, US

iTrader: (0)

Oh, that does make a lot of sense. I guess that'll also displace the strut, then, which is why the sway bar links are different P/Ns as well? That was another set of parts for which the difference between the 335i and M3 were a mystery to me, as they looked identical... a cm or two I didn't notice here and there because the wheel-side steering and suspension components are placed a little differently would explain it.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2015, 12:13 AM   #101
robc1976
DIYER
robc1976's Avatar
428
Rep
5,532
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I swapped the M3 rack complete with M3 inner and outer tie rods

allignment was fine

but I have M3 lower arms
there is no way, you must have had 335 inner tie rods on your car.

This is M3 next to installed 335 inner tie-rod on M3 rack
Attached Images
 
__________________
JB4 G5, Stage 3 LPFP, Stage 2 MOTIV PI, VM 6466 ST, Custom OCC W/ SS lines, ER FMIC, ER CP W/HKS BOV, M3 control arms, M3 guide rods, M3 upper links, M3 front & rear sway-bars, HPA rear toe arms, Wavetrac LSD, HPF Gen 2, DEFIV kit, KW clubsport, Delrin solid SF bushings, stoptech rotors, Rogue Tranny Mounts, 1M bumper, M3 CF hood, M3 fenders, M3 OEM sideskirts, Mtech rear bumper, CSL trunk, MORR VS8.2 rims 245/295
Appreciate 1
      09-10-2015, 08:55 AM   #102
marconi118
Major
55
Rep
1,089
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

I bolted a complete M3 rack coming from a salvaged M3, so the rods are from M3

have all 4 lower M3 arms and M3 knuckle with M3 shocks

Maybe this explains why it works on my car....
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 08:56 AM   #103
whosdady
Major
whosdady's Avatar
112
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: STL

iTrader: (10)

Just checking in to see if anyone was able to activate the servo? I've been wanting to upgrade the rack for a long time but don't want to deal with heavy turning...
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 09:46 AM   #104
marconi118
Major
55
Rep
1,089
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

I activated the servo manually with a PWM circuit

it can be set from fully soft to hard

unfortunately a static setting will not suffice, it will be ok as parking speeds but too soft for high speed or vice versa...


We need speed dependant control coming from the DME
Appreciate 1
      11-24-2015, 10:01 AM   #105
whosdady
Major
whosdady's Avatar
112
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: STL

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118
I activated the servo manually with a PWM circuit

it can be set from fully soft to hard

unfortunately a static setting will not suffice, it will be ok as parking speeds but too soft for high speed or vice versa...


We need speed dependant control coming from the DME
It's too bad it can't be set in the middle. This seems like a great mod. I hope someone figures this out soon...
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2015, 10:27 AM   #106
marconi118
Major
55
Rep
1,089
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

It can be set in the middle, but then it is too soft for high speed

It should variate with the speed of the car like in the real M3
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2015, 03:22 PM   #107
andrey_gta
Brigadier General
andrey_gta's Avatar
Canada
228
Rep
4,039
Posts

Drives: 130i coupé ;)
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bimmerpost

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 BMW 128i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118 View Post
I activated the servo manually with a PWM circuit

it can be set from fully soft to hard

unfortunately a static setting will not suffice, it will be ok as parking speeds but too soft for high speed or vice versa...

We need speed dependant control coming from the DME
Bravo!
Can it be made to be an On/Off switch - On for traffic/ parking. Off for driving.
Any details you share of the circuit and voltages/amperes will be great!
__________________
128i Sport 6MT converted to Euro 130i spec, 3.73 diff, tuned by evolve ~220 whp 207 wtq(ft-lb) SAE
In-progress: //M front arm, M3 rack, e36M lip Wishlist: Coils, n55 mnts, headers, LSD, e60 finn diff


"The 1-series is the last car that BMW engineered before the Germans, as a car-making culture, fell out of love with driving." - R&T 2013 135is
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2015, 08:54 AM   #108
whosdady
Major
whosdady's Avatar
112
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: STL

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marconi118
I activated the servo manually with a PWM circuit

it can be set from fully soft to hard

unfortunately a static setting will not suffice, it will be ok as parking speeds but too soft for high speed or vice versa...


We need speed dependant control coming from the DME
Would you explain to me in detail how you did this? (With the pvm)

I'm wondering if I might be satisfied say at 40% stiffness all the time.
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2015, 07:30 AM   #109
marconi118
Major
55
Rep
1,089
Posts

Drives: 06/07 e93 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: europe

iTrader: (0)

Just purchase on ebay a 12v PWM electric motor speed controller
http://www.ebay.de/itm/381099085157?...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

connect the output to the rack connector and the input to a +12v key switched

Put an Ampermeter in series on one of the wires that goes to the rack
ensure that the regulating potentiometer is at lowest setting

power on the car, slowly increase the pot until you read 0.7A, this is the max soft position, NEVER EXCED this position or you will fry the solenoid inside the rack!!!!!

now you can variate from full stiff 0A to full soft 0.7A

I requested to integrate in the JB4 an output dependant to the car speed to switch automatically from soft to normal, but never had an answer

you could use a switch for manoeuvre / cruise electricians could do that easily
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2015, 09:56 AM   #110
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
468
Rep
3,174
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Does anyone know anything about this Servotronic retrofit kit (p/n 32106796480)? I'd love to do this swap as well, but I'm not sure I want to deal with unassisted steering at parking lot speeds...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST