E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > N53 uneven idle and falling revs when "cold"

05-20-2024, 08:39 AM   #1
Spankey McCheeks
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW E92 330xi '08

N53 uneven idle and falling revs when "cold"

Hello people.

This is my first time ever posting here so excuse me if I'm posting in the wrong place/forum.

I've recently purchased an '08 E92 330xi which has the N53B30 engine. It's pretty high mileage (240k KM) so there's bound to be some maintenance required to get it into passable shape. I've not yet started work on that but I've ordered a handful of suspension components, intake manifold gaskets, CRC valve cleaner, the list goes on. Most issues are pretty obvious in their causes and not worth really worrying about. There's one issue though I'm not sure about and I'm almost afraid to ask since it might get very expensive real quick.

As seen in this videohttps://www.youtube.com/shorts/cpMUByWOrr8, when the engine is cold ("cold" as in not driven for at least a few hours, not "cold" as in below freezing temps) it experiences very uneven idle revs. The revs fall to just around 500, sometimes almost 400, before rushing up to 7-800 almost as if to try to keep itself from stalling.

Now, IF this problem was constant I could imagine the injectors were failing (though that might still be the case) but the issue here is that this problem only appears AFTER driving for about a minute when the engine is cold and goes away completely after 8-10 minutes of driving. Like, shouldn't the issue be there from start?? This is what I can't really wrap my head around. Has anybody experienced anything similar to this?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2024, 04:13 AM   #2
Phil325i
Brigadier General
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: E92 325i MSport Coupe

Garage List
First step...get your fault codes read.