E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Student - Should I extend my warranty for two years?

07-01-2010, 03:24 PM   #1
e90-ZeRo
Prone to sudden bursts of acceleration
United_States
Rep
Drives: 3-Series

Question Student - Should I extend my warranty for two years?

Hello everyone,

I'm a student and I currently have an 06' 325i which I adore greatly. I'm coming up on the magical 50,000 miles where upon, my vehicle will no longer be covered.

I called my favorite BMW dealership and the finance department person I spoke with offered me Fidelity Extended Warranty "Bumper-to-Bumper which includes radio/iDrive (which I don't have)". I asked him if they (the dealership) is liable if the 3rd party warranty gives me a run around and he said "Absolutely" which I am hesitant to believe. Though I drive a BMW, and have been responsible (even making greater payments on my car bills), money has been escaping my hands for this year as I got a couple of tickets, in which I had to pay a lawyer, and others I had to get extensions on.

Anyway, at first the warrranty for 2 years / 24,000 mi would be for $3,000~ with 0% financing. Then he lowered it by $300 making it a total of $2700 for the warranty.

I'm wondering if the warranty is worth it for the 325i I have? I mean $2,700 is a good chunk of cash to have in my pocket over two years, in which I'll have already paid off the car and could be using that money for another car or paying off the principal on the car sooner or just have around for unexpected expenses. I take care of my car and I do plan to have my vehicle inspected by a 3rd party mechanic to get a good estimate of where my car stands in health from a respected and knowledgeable source. However, obviously I am not an expert in cars, let alone BMW's and when things go wrong on a bimmer, they can be costly to downright exorbitant.