E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > How to use my BT cable the right way and how to datalog?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-09-2009, 12:39 AM   #1
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
Bagelfast's Avatar
83
Rep
1,546
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

How to use my BT cable the right way and how to datalog?

Hey guys i got my Bt cable on order, i have downloaded the drivers and software to my computer so it seems ready.


I was reading and it says on the bt cable website that if used incorrectly i can damage my ecu?

What should i be looking for not to do to not damage my ecu?

I just want to clear fault/shadow codes and datalog.

Should i backup my ecu file in some way? is that possible?


Also how do i go about datalogging?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 09:01 AM   #2
Graystone
First Lieutenant
Graystone's Avatar
11
Rep
342
Posts

Drives: 335i sport euro 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The World

iTrader: (1)

bump
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 09:15 AM   #3
Alex@AKMotorwerk
Alex@AKMotorwerk's Avatar
United_States
128
Rep
9,339
Posts

Drives: 2012 AW F10 535i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

iTrader: (7)

Send a message via AIM to Alex@AKMotorwerk
Only way to damage the ECU is if u go and try to change unknown parameters. The software will also warn you if u go into an area where u can damage something. All u need to do check/clear codes is "run full scan" then when it's done click "delete fault codes" and "delete shadow fault codes".
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 12:44 PM   #4
john boxter
Captain
United_States
17
Rep
763
Posts

Drives: 2008 e93
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: long Island New York

iTrader: (3)

its really that simple it finds them for you? you dont even have to highlight them or anything?
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 02:37 PM   #5
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
Bagelfast's Avatar
83
Rep
1,546
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks.. Yea i am only gonna play with the check and clear codes... Then into some datalogging.

John Boxter, from what i was reading, you cant choose a single code to delete, they must all be deleted if you choose to delete any codes.
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 02:37 PM   #6
john boxter
Captain
United_States
17
Rep
763
Posts

Drives: 2008 e93
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: long Island New York

iTrader: (3)

oh thats awesome so its very easy to use huh?
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2009, 05:40 PM   #7
ianthegreat
Colonel
ianthegreat's Avatar
39
Rep
2,316
Posts

Drives: n54
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh/Houston

iTrader: (1)

Could some explain the datalogging portion? Specifically, if I want to monitor boost over a 1/4 mile run.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2009, 01:40 AM   #8
Bagelfast
Lieutenant Colonel
Bagelfast's Avatar
83
Rep
1,546
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

bump.. need more info on Bt cable usage.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2009, 01:44 AM   #9
Twisty Fast Autobahn
Major General
Twisty Fast Autobahn's Avatar
United_States
210
Rep
5,888
Posts

Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
You cant damage anything if you have any computer experience. Start the program and look on the left side. It shows all the areas of the car. Pick an area, like the engine, and check for fault and shadow fault codes. Check the codes to see what the issues are and delete the appropriate ones. Dont delete codes that are needed if your car has problem.

On the top menu is the logging button. Click it and drive. Do some wots, not just normal driving. Get home, check the logs or post them up here and somebody will tell you if everything is ok. Its real simple. You cant back up the ecu. Just dont change any parameters. Check codes, delete codes, and log only.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2009, 02:02 AM   #10
vtec96
Second Lieutenant
vtec96's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
283
Posts

Drives: E89
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

so you are not suppose to change any parameters, including services?
Can you make oil change or any service time earlier?
__________________
CURRENT: 2009 E89 35i
Dinan Stage 2
PAST: 2008 E92 335xi
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2009, 02:12 AM   #11
Twisty Fast Autobahn
Major General
Twisty Fast Autobahn's Avatar
United_States
210
Rep
5,888
Posts

Drives: ///Mistress
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WV

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtec96 View Post
so you are not suppose to change any parameters, including services?
Can you make oil change or any service time earlier?
You can change whatever you want, but you might fudge up your car. And no you cant make the service internal change I dont think. I would definitely NOT recommendation changing warranty stuff like that. Shadow codes and logging should be all your doing imo.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST