E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > E90 aftermarket head unit, amp, sub install questions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2010, 02:27 PM   #67
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

My recommendation is:

- Keep the BMW HU.

Either:

A)

- Recode it to HiFi mode (flat preamp outputs)

- Add a balanced-input 4-channel amp, new front mids and tweeters, and underseat woofers. Maybe a PDX 4.100, Rainbow Dream Line 210.25, and Earthquake SWS8.

- Get the tweeter sail trim

OR

B)

- Get 4" mids and tweeters (Rainbow Dream Line 210.20 (non-Deluxe))

- Get something for underseat - EQ SWS8 or maybe Rainbow WOB200 (which take a lot more work)

- Get a small stereo amp with speaker-level inputs and power the underseats with it (Alpine V-Power?)

- Don't get the tweeter sail trim - it aims the tweeters at you, and since you're not recoding, the treble will be too bright that way. Just have the shop mount them flat in the sails...
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2010, 09:31 PM   #68
rkm3
Private
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PA

Posts: 86
iTrader: (5)

Has anyone recoded a 2010 Base Audio to HiFi using the new program discussed here?
rkm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2010, 10:17 PM   #69
spdy330
Major General
 
spdy330's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Tundra, 11 M3, 08 Odyssey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chino, CA

Posts: 5,977
iTrader: (159)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to spdy330 Send a message via Yahoo to spdy330
Personally I like my Logic 7.
__________________
- 2006 E90 330i TiAG retired.
- 2011.75 E90 M3 - BMW Performance Exhaust, BMW Performance Grills, Lux H8 V3, Reflector delete Euro style, Ceramic Tint 58%, Brembo 380mm BBK, V1 with custom multi-color display by www.Radar-Mirror.com - custom radar mount by www.performancepackage.com.
spdy330 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2010, 10:08 AM   #70
rkm3
Private
 
Drives: 2010 BMW 335xi
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PA

Posts: 86
iTrader: (5)

I thought the Logic 7 was decent too! However, I'm stuck with Base audio. Has anyone successfully recoded a Base to HiFi with the program discussed here?
rkm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2010, 02:19 PM   #71
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkm3 View Post
Has anyone successfully recoded a Base to HiFi with the program discussed here?
I've been waiting to hear anyone answer this question as well... might want to PM Jelly (Andrew from Autologic).
__________________
Musicar Northwest, Portland Oregon
The premier experts on BMW high-performance audio
Home of Tom Miller, 2014 Installer of the Year
Named a Top 12 Retailer in North America
musicarnw.com (please email, don't PM)

VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 07:49 AM   #72
ahmad.nassah
New Member
 
ahmad.nassah's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Graphite E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: STL

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

HELPPP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
... no, you are not.

Keep searching and you will find out that there are ways to either install an aftermarket HU (cannot use the OEM amp anymore), reprogram your OEM HU to either output analog or get a MOST converter to replace you OEM amp with aftermarket.
Every time I search this topic I see Technic's name and you seem to know a lot man and I truly respect that and I'm just wondering if you can help me out a little bit as well. I have an 06 330i and have top hifi sound. I know absolutely nothing about sound systems and I recently purchased a Pioneer Appradio 3 to be installed in my car however upon researching I've found out it isn't as simple as I had expected it to be. So far I've purchased the head unit, the Metra dash kit, heated seat relocation kit, wiring harness, and steering wheel control kit. My intentions were to install the head unit and run wires from each speaker to the head unit. I was told I wouldn't be able to do that I'd need a multichannel amp and run wires from each speaker to the amp and wires from the amp to the head unit. I don't know what amp I should purchase. Also I have no clue as to what I should do with top hifi amp/processor and oem head unit. I've been hearing about people needing to bypass the amp. If you could help me out i'd really appreciate it a lot man.
ahmad.nassah is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 11:03 AM   #73
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (0)

The problem with upgrading the logic 7 system is

The problem with upgrading the logic 7 system is
The connection between the Head Unit and Amp is optical and the signal is
in a BMW proprietary format . This basically means that the only Head Unit
that will interface with a BMW amp is a BMW Head unit set up for the optical connection. It also means there is no standard wiring setup between the Head Unit and Amp. Also there are side effects if you change out the head unit such as you will loose BMW SOS , PDC if you have it , Satellite Radio if you have it , BMW Bluetooth if you have it . Also you may get errors on the dash from the disconnected modules. But worst of all if you take your car in for a Software update or if you have a module replaced that needs software they will not be able to update or write the software to the new module. Never the less people do this but you have to be pretty much prepared to put a whole new system in . If you need repairs you have to remount the old system or install the head unit somewhere else in the car

So at the minimum don't get rid of your old head unit.
.

If you don't want to mess things up or pay someone to mess them up for you read and study the following threads.

BMW stereo types
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1260829447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343673
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1260829447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780605
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323
http://bmwcoders.com/forum/3-er-8/bm...1-e92-e93-291/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780865
http://www.bawarec.ru/manuals/3er/e9...3er-e90-12.pdf
http://www.musicarnw.com/page-2/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...4&d=1278871872

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
head unit relocation thread is one of the ones above.

Also best to start a new thread on this if you have the ability.

If you want to go ahead the common way to replace the L7 system is
a Technic Harness, MS8 and some multichannel amps and speakers upgrades.
This will work with a New Head Unit or the old Head Unit programmed for analog output.

Last edited by ctuna; 08-17-2013 at 01:29 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 12:48 PM   #74
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,910
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Search for "relocate radio to the trunk".

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmad.nassah View Post
Every time I search this topic I see Technic's name and you seem to know a lot man and I truly respect that and I'm just wondering if you can help me out a little bit as well. I have an 06 330i and have top hifi sound. I know absolutely nothing about sound systems and I recently purchased a Pioneer Appradio 3 to be installed in my car however upon researching I've found out it isn't as simple as I had expected it to be. So far I've purchased the head unit, the Metra dash kit, heated seat relocation kit, wiring harness, and steering wheel control kit. My intentions were to install the head unit and run wires from each speaker to the head unit. I was told I wouldn't be able to do that I'd need a multichannel amp and run wires from each speaker to the amp and wires from the amp to the head unit. I don't know what amp I should purchase. Also I have no clue as to what I should do with top hifi amp/processor and oem head unit. I've been hearing about people needing to bypass the amp. If you could help me out i'd really appreciate it a lot man.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 04:11 PM   #75
ahmad.nassah
New Member
 
ahmad.nassah's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Graphite E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: STL

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Search for "relocate radio to the trunk".
other than that does everything else sounds about right?
ahmad.nassah is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 05:20 PM   #76
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (0)

You are missing some big points here

You are missing some big points here.
The L7 system is 9 channels and has an amplifier with a sound processor driving the speakers. Almost any aftermarket head unit is 4 channels of head unit power and doesn't have a processor . So you have 13 speakers that you are going to drive with 4 channels of head unit power, how are you going to do that? This will not sound better than what you already have. Yes you will have more features from the new head unit but it comes at a price.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 05:27 PM   #77
ahmad.nassah
New Member
 
ahmad.nassah's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Graphite E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: STL

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
You are missing some big points here.
The L7 system is 9 channels and has an amplifier with a sound processor driving the speakers. Almost any aftermarket head unit is 4 channels of head unit power and doesn't have a processor . So you have 13 speakers that you are going to drive with 4 channels of head unit power, how are you going to do that? This will not sound better than what you already have. Yes you will have more features from the new head unit but it comes at a price.
See my factory amp doesn't work at all I have no sound and it's been like that for 2 years I'm a junior in college and I can't afford to replace a 1700 dollar amp. I appreciate it your help man. I really need all the help I can get.
ahmad.nassah is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2013, 07:52 PM   #78
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (0)

You might be able to get a used on or get it repaired.

You might be able to get a used one or get it repaired.
If the amp is really the problem , some of the time its not
the amp that stops the stereo from playing its one of the other modules
that are used for options like bluetooth or BMW Sos.

http://www.bmwgm5.com/Logic7_6941681.htm

http://www.bmwradiorepair.com/?gclid...FccbQgodIEn0Cg

Last edited by ctuna; 08-17-2013 at 08:38 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:02 AM   #79
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,012
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmad.nassah View Post
See my factory amp doesn't work at all I have no sound and it's been like that for 2 years I'm a junior in college and I can't afford to replace a 1700 dollar amp. I appreciate it your help man. I really need all the help I can get.
You can find a used one. Or if your wanting to replace the headunit you can replace it with an ms8.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 02:37 PM   #80
ahmad.nassah
New Member
 
ahmad.nassah's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Graphite E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: STL

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
You can find a used one. Or if your wanting to replace the headunit you can replace it with an ms8.
so if i get an ms8 i can add the head unit i bought. the ms8 will power everything? and wha do i do with the tophifi amo and oem hu
ahmad.nassah is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 02:49 PM   #81
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (0)

You will also need a Technic Harness

You will also need a Technic Harness
You should keep the head unit and/or mount it the car.
ms-8 is an amp replacement sort of.
Most people end up adding amps and better speakers when they
get one.
You might be able to get some money for the L7 amp if it was working .
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 07:48 PM   #82
flinchy
Colonel
 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: QLD, Australia

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin@MMW View Post
just a drop of info for you, dunno if you bought it CPO..

If you take out the stock head unit, the car can no longer be programmed.

You will have to replace your stock head unit before the car goes in for programming/service.

for your subs, the trunk is sealed so sound isnt very good unless you do something like i did:
wait.. you can't do any coding at all without the head unit?.. why not? it's all stored on the ECU, and the OBD port is totally separate to the head unit? head unit is just sitting on a separate part of the bus off the JBE...

that makes no sense.. so you can't even use a cobb or something if you have an aftermarket head unit?

i don't want to have to keep my stock head unit laying around just to code stuff, that's unbelievably stupid!
flinchy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 07:55 PM   #83
flinchy
Colonel
 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: QLD, Australia

Posts: 2,765
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Search for "relocate radio to the trunk".

the only thing i can find for this is to 'retain OEM chimes'

is this literally the only way to do this no matter what?

even if you have the connects2 harness that also keeps the PDC and steering wheel controls?

and as above, do you really NEED to keep the OEM radio to do anything... pretty important since i'm swapping in an N54 and will have to code injectors and stuff -_-

ED: OH is this just for people with idrive, needing to keep the head unit for DVD map updates and stuff?

Last edited by flinchy; 08-18-2013 at 08:01 PM.
flinchy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-19-2013, 10:49 AM   #84
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,092
iTrader: (0)

I think you can still code without the head unit it just that.

I think you can still code without the head unit it just that the BMW repair
computer setup is an all or nothing concept. If it can not read the original configuration(or a configuration) of the car talk to the modules, it goes no further. If you have a coding settup it can read and write to individual modules as long as there on the main bus.
So you would be able to code injectors for example . However you would have to do this stuff yourself as there are no commercial repair shops that support this method as far as I know.
The new program BMW uses is ISTA I don't know if it acts the same as
DIS57 this question needs to be asked on the coding board.

Last edited by ctuna; 08-19-2013 at 10:57 AM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST