E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > New Owner: Non-OEM HID + turn signals/high's don't work

09-01-2015, 12:54 PM   #1
ernald711
Rep
Drives: 2007 E90 Sedan

Lightbulb New Owner: Non-OEM HID + turn signals/high's don't work

Recently got a E90 2007 Pre-LCI Sedan and i'm sure it came with H7 Halogens, but when I got it from a private party it had on Xenon HID's (pictured below) and the turn signals (in the headlight) and high beams are not working. The turn signals also are blinking fast and the Active light code is going off.

I'm not a newbie too car forums as I've been on several for the past 15 years, but I'm trully new to these fancy headlights as I previously came from an Lancer Evolution background (OEM HIDS) and haven't been really into lighting. I'm still learning and have a lot to catch up on. Just looking up the words "LCI" and "Dymanic lighting" was already something that gave me a headache to understand which models it came in and stuff. I have been searching with no luck for my problem.

I have a picture below of the headlight and the script "BMW DYNAMIC XENON D1S...", which I researched on this forum, and found that it is active lighting, but not sure if it was retrofitted to this car or is OEM. Is there a way to get the turn signals/high beams working on this car without having to rip out the HID Kit or is it just a crappy kit and should I just go back to Halogens?

I will eventually go to some BMW spot if I don't have the answers, but I'd rather do this myself.
Attached Images

Last edited by ernald711; 09-06-2015 at 11:22 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2015, 09:50 AM   #2
Ali-E90
Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 E90 323i (Cdn)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [8.00]
2007 BMW 323i  [8.50]
Pics of headlight might help distinguish what the OEM light was (halogen vs xenon)
      09-06-2015, 09:54 PM   #3
ernald711
Rep

Quote: