E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Newbie

01-16-2017, 04:42 AM   #1
alddiem415
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2011 335i xdrive

Hello everyone!! Newbie here!! Bought a 2011 335i xdrive a week ago.
Wheel and fender is just too big of a gap.
It is my DD and i live in Jersey

Not planning on slamming the car. Priority is Comfort

Thinking about same height with 335i sport suspension. Probably 1" drop all around.

Im on stock wheel for now
Budget around $1600

1. What's the best setup for a dd and comfort is top priority?
2. Coilover or shock/spring combo?
3. What Brand of coilover?
4. What spring/shock combo?
Edit QUOTE
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2017, 11:56 PM   #2
Go Horns!
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2013 335is

If comfort is a top priority, you need to maintain a "flat ride" spring ratio of the front spring to the rear spring. BMW designs the springs to provide the car with what is known as a "flat ride." The natural frequency of the front spring is lower than the rear so that when you go over a bump the rear suspension can "catch up" to the front. If you don't maintain close to OEM ratios, then you get a jarring ride.

Most aftermarket springs and coilovers increase the front spring rate too much when compared to the rear. And that is not much of a problem on the track where the road is smooth. But out on the street, you will feel the car pitching (your head gets tossed from the front to the back) because the springs cannot sync up. The pitching is what causes factory shocks to wear out because you need increased dampening to control it. So when you add aftermarket shocks with increased dampening, to control the out of whack springs, your ride gets stiffer and less comfortable.

Stock spring rates for xi are 145 /460 (lb/in) (3.17 ratio).