E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > V3 Lite Released! 3/27/17 - Preloaded VMWare/VBox Image - Coding/Diag/Programming



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2016, 08:51 AM   #89
loknar
Private First Class
loknar's Avatar
Canada
41
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 335i e90 iDrive
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to loknar
Any reason for the vm snapshots? hurting performance and disk size. Of course there's the advantage of rolling back after you screw up something.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2016, 10:27 AM   #90
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
166
Rep
1,857
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gtrain View Post
Since this was created on VM Workstation 12, if you have and older version of Workstation this would not work.

Alternatively you can use Oracle VirtualBox which is free.

After you install Oracle VirtualBox, you can hit new and hit hide description
Name the Virtual Machine
Select Microsoft Windows
Select Windows 7
Set your memory size to 2048 or larger depending on your machine
Under hard drive section, select Use an existing virtual hard drive
Then find the *********.vmdk location
Hit Create

Now you should be able to start the BMW Coding Virtual Machine in Oracle VirtualBox
Do you have the issue where the Whole computer crashes whenever you unplug the KDCAN cable? This only happens whenever I use VirtualBox.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2016, 07:12 PM   #91
tdavis42
Captain
tdavis42's Avatar
160
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 328i ZSP AT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
depends on the work you want do.. V1 has ISATA D (Rheingold) Mainly diagnostics. Plus other BMW Standard tools software.
Not looking to do any major work. Just headlight error coding and the other fun stuff like all windows up when holding lock on fob. My E90 is really stock with the addition of hot climate package and sport package with paddles. I only wish the guy would have gotten heated front seats(he did too).

I got an amazing deal on this 08 E90 with 64,000 $11,500 private seller. He did the euro delivery and took great pride in it. He even replaced all tires, rotors, and windshield wiper pump before he sold it. Even the dealer said the car was in great shape when I had them change the brake fluid. They had no work needed to be done to upsell me!
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2016, 12:08 PM   #92
hoopvillian
Private First Class
hoopvillian's Avatar
13
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dago

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this nate16
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2016, 08:11 PM   #93
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
166
Rep
1,857
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdavis42 View Post
Not looking to do any major work. Just headlight error coding and the other fun stuff like all windows up when holding lock on fob. My E90 is really stock with the addition of hot climate package and sport package with paddles. I only wish the guy would have gotten heated front seats(he did too).

I got an amazing deal on this 08 E90 with 64,000 $11,500 private seller. He did the euro delivery and took great pride in it. He even replaced all tires, rotors, and windshield wiper pump before he sold it. Even the dealer said the car was in great shape when I had them change the brake fluid. They had no work needed to be done to upsell me!
Well V1 is all you'd need but its not in english regarding BMW Standard Tools. It works but not knowing the wording is a headache. Possible try wildcatcrazy setup of BMW standard tools. It is the most fluent I've seen
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2016, 07:07 PM   #94
tdavis42
Captain
tdavis42's Avatar
160
Rep
657
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 328i ZSP AT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Phoenix, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
Well V1 is all you'd need but its not in english regarding BMW Standard Tools. It works but not knowing the wording is a headache. Possible try wildcatcrazy setup of BMW standard tools. It is the most fluent I've seen
Thank you Sir!
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2016, 08:18 PM   #95
DrSingh
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: e92 335d
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: aberdeen

iTrader: (0)

This is a great package and you've gone to a lot of effort. I'd like to see this one day on parallels for the macbook, however this is wishful. Thanks again
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2016, 01:04 AM   #96
fazman
Brigadier General
United_States
591
Rep
3,597
Posts

Drives: 335 e90
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate16 View Post
V2 Has been released!!
Included is everything in V1 with these additional features, this should be an almost complete image of tools needed on a regular basis.

New in V2:
Reduced VM ram to 2GB (Increase this if your computer will support it)
ISTA/P 3.56.1.002
ISTA/P Loader 4.5 with K+DCAN and ENET ICOM Emulator
ETK 01.2016 with Prices
Switched to UBlock Origin from AdBlock Plus in Chrome
CutePDF Writer for saving diagnostic reports via print to PDF
Additional help files and documentation.
Couple little tools such as K-Line to DCAN Switcher, EasyConnect Tester
All Windows Updates Completed
Theme switched to Windows Classic for quicker operation.

VM Size is now 205GB Extracted and just under 100GB Compressed

Make sure to keep resolution at at least 1280x1024 for proper ISTA/P operation.

I will only be seeding V2 as of tonight 1/31.

Please provide feedback and rep if you enjoyed this!



Download Info:
http://pastebin.com/76B4DJHh

Enjoy!
I see PichaDis11 is already on the thread. I haven't read thru all the pages... but i have a nice macbook pro with vmware 7.1.3 or do i need to upgrade to vmware 8 to use this? i have about 16gb of ram on the macbook

Has anyone had issues with their coding cables getting bricked by the drivers on this VM?
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2016, 01:18 AM   #97
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
166
Rep
1,857
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fazman
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate16 View Post
V2 Has been released!!
Included is everything in V1 with these additional features, this should be an almost complete image of tools needed on a regular basis.

New in V2:
Reduced VM ram to 2GB (Increase this if your computer will support it)
ISTA/P 3.56.1.002
ISTA/P Loader 4.5 with K+DCAN and ENET ICOM Emulator
ETK 01.2016 with Prices
Switched to UBlock Origin from AdBlock Plus in Chrome
CutePDF Writer for saving diagnostic reports via print to PDF
Additional help files and documentation.
Couple little tools such as K-Line to DCAN Switcher, EasyConnect Tester
All Windows Updates Completed
Theme switched to Windows Classic for quicker operation.

VM Size is now 205GB Extracted and just under 100GB Compressed

Make sure to keep resolution at at least 1280x1024 for proper ISTA/P operation.

I will only be seeding V2 as of tonight 1/31.

Please provide feedback and rep if you enjoyed this!



Download Info:
http://pastebin.com/76B4DJHh

Enjoy!
I see PichaDis11 is already on the thread. I haven't read thru all the pages... but i have a nice macbook pro with vmware 7.1.3 or do i need to upgrade to vmware 8 to use this? i have about 16gb of ram on the macbook

Has anyone had issues with their coding cables getting bricked by the drivers on this VM?
You are about set. You should definitely try it with what you have and see if it works first. It was made in Worskstation 12 I believe.

No bricked cables on my end. The OS on the VM is Windows 7 so upon startup, you should disable the wifi then jump into settings to turn off automatic updates. You should be good to go from there.
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2016, 05:10 PM   #98
loknar
Private First Class
loknar's Avatar
Canada
41
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 335i e90 iDrive
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to loknar
There's one issue. If you install windows updates you will get genuine Microsoft warnings. If I find what update to uninstall or a fix I'll advise you.

Found it. Avoid the update KB971033 at all cost. But if you do install it like a dummy, open a command line as administrator and run:
wusa /uninstall /kb:971033

Turn off automatic updates. I turned it on because I wanted drivers. My bad

Last edited by loknar; 02-28-2016 at 09:22 AM.
Appreciate 1
      03-02-2016, 12:25 PM   #99
devildogae
New Member
devildogae's Avatar
2
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 06 330XI
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Troy, VA

iTrader: (0)

WOW, can't wait to get home and download this. When flashing a 07 x5, I would need to use an ENET to obd cable correct? I've heard also about using the fiber optics ports for some things. Anyways great job.

Why don't you guys join the BMW coders junkies facebook page...https://www.facebook.com/groups/825629300888365/
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2016, 09:25 PM   #100
Johnny Boost
Colonel
272
Rep
2,001
Posts

Drives: '11 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: TBD

iTrader: (0)

What type of FSC tools are included? Will this allow me to update my maps?
__________________
WedgePerformance E40 MHD | Performance Exhaust Mod | BMS DP | Vibrant 1790 | BMS Intake | VRSF CP | xHP Stage 3
Michelin PSS | M3 Control Arms
LUX v4 LEDs | Shadowline Grills | Lip Spoiler
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2016, 10:22 PM   #101
N54Twin
Major
N54Twin's Avatar
Dominican Republic
307
Rep
1,270
Posts

Drives: E60 535XI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ?

iTrader: (9)

Hi guys i install VMware how do i get this programs up and running?

Anyone need it let me know i got key for it.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by N54Twin; 03-02-2016 at 10:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2016, 12:24 AM   #102
devildogae
New Member
devildogae's Avatar
2
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 06 330XI
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Troy, VA

iTrader: (0)

nobody seeding this anymore?
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2016, 09:27 AM   #103
loknar
Private First Class
loknar's Avatar
Canada
41
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 335i e90 iDrive
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to loknar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewill0360 View Post
Hi guys i install VMware how do i get this programs up and running?

Anyone need it let me know i got key for it.
Sweet. You're all set. Just download V2 and unpack it. Click on the vmx file and that will open vmware workstation. Specify you have "copied it" when asked.

When connecting your cable, you have to allow your vm to use it. So plug it in while the vm is running for getting a popup asking you what to do.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2016, 06:10 PM   #104
N54Twin
Major
N54Twin's Avatar
Dominican Republic
307
Rep
1,270
Posts

Drives: E60 535XI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ?

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by loknar View Post
Sweet. You're all set. Just download V2 and unpack it. Click on the vmx file and that will open vmware workstation. Specify you have "copied it" when asked.

When connecting your cable, you have to allow your vm to use it. So plug it in while the vm is running for getting a popup asking you what to do.
I get this error.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2016, 01:26 AM   #105
prodigymix
happy.
prodigymix's Avatar
United_States
137
Rep
492
Posts

Drives: 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: palm beach county

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewill0360 View Post
I get this error.
Check your BIOS and see if you have VT-x disabled in there. I have to on my desktop because I run a hackintosh and it doesn't play nice - but I'm using my Macbook Pro w/VMWare Fusion 8 for this.


On top of that - I'm currently downloading / seeding and getting about 2MB/s - should be done in 8 hours or so LOL - but I'll keep seeding as long as I can to help others out.
__________________
'09 Jet Black E90 335i | BMS DCI | Forge DV | VRSF CP, DP, 7" FMIC, Exhaust | MHD Stg 2 / 93 Oct | Koni Yellow / H&R Sport | Mooooarrrrrr
this list is getting too long.....
Appreciate 2
      03-04-2016, 09:55 AM   #106
loknar
Private First Class
loknar's Avatar
Canada
41
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: 335i e90 iDrive
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to loknar
+1

Or maybe check if your cpu supports it
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2016, 08:42 PM   #107
N54Twin
Major
N54Twin's Avatar
Dominican Republic
307
Rep
1,270
Posts

Drives: E60 535XI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ?

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by prodigymix
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewill0360 View Post
I get this error.
Check your BIOS and see if you have VT-x disabled in there. I have to on my desktop because I run a hackintosh and it doesn't play nice - but I'm using my Macbook Pro w/VMWare Fusion 8 for this.


On top of that - I'm currently downloading / seeding and getting about 2MB/s - should be done in 8 hours or so LOL - but I'll keep seeding as long as I can to help others out.
Im in thanks....

Now do i need to install or move anything?
__________________
Sweet Pie
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2016, 10:24 PM   #108
prodigymix
happy.
prodigymix's Avatar
United_States
137
Rep
492
Posts

Drives: 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: palm beach county

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
As far as I know everything should be already installed in the Virtual Machine - if you have that running you should be good to go!

Just make sure your cable is being recognized on COM1 in the virtual machine and everything should work fine! Do some testing first before attempting to push coding, to ensure you can read everything you want to.

I'm still learning myself so if I'm missing anything I apologize - maybe a coding veteran can chime in.
__________________
'09 Jet Black E90 335i | BMS DCI | Forge DV | VRSF CP, DP, 7" FMIC, Exhaust | MHD Stg 2 / 93 Oct | Koni Yellow / H&R Sport | Mooooarrrrrr
this list is getting too long.....
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2016, 10:47 AM   #109
bNks334
Major
bNks334's Avatar
210
Rep
1,002
Posts

Drives: '11 135i (N55)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Upon extraction I got an error: ! H:\VMWARE\*********V2-1-31-16.rar: CRC failed in the encrypted file *********V2\*********-000001.vmdk. Corrupt file or wrong password.

Anyone else?

Am I going to have to re-download the whole thing again?!
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2016, 11:45 AM   #110
N54Twin
Major
N54Twin's Avatar
Dominican Republic
307
Rep
1,270
Posts

Drives: E60 535XI
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ?

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bNks334 View Post
Upon extraction I got an error: ! H:\VMWARE\*********V2-1-31-16.rar: CRC failed in the encrypted file *********V2\*********-000001.vmdk. Corrupt file or wrong password.

Anyone else?

Am I going to have to re-download the whole thing again?!
U putting something wrong bud, everything is working.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST