E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > New to detailing

04-06-2012, 05:05 PM   #1
bonnie335i
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: F80 M3 YMB

New to detailing

Hey guys I bought a 11 335i special edition last November and this will be my first summer with the car. This is my first car and I really want to take care of it. I'm new to detailing and was wondering if someone can guide me on the right direction to what I should use to keep the car and rims in great condition and what are recommend brands to use. Any input would greatly be appreciated thank you!
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #2
jbas93
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi

Meguirs makes decent car care products. You can find then at any auto shop. (autozone) if you want more high end products search the forum lot of people use different products OPTIMUM or Chemical Guys. For beginners I guess you can start off with washing the car, claying it, polishing, and waxing. When washing i usually clean wheels first. And for the body always wash from top to bottom. You don't want to carry all the dirt from the bottom of the car to other areas. Search around and you can get some more ideas!
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 07:17 PM   #3
drmdvl
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5 50i, 2015 Macan Turbo

Garage List
I'm an amateur DIY'er as well. I learned everything you need to know from this site and from detailed image's step by step guide...
http://www.detailedimage.com/Auto-Detailing-Guide/

Good Luck!
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2012, 02:50 AM   #4
bonnie335i
Enlisted Member
Rep

Hey thanks a lot for the help guys. I'm going to do some more research because I realized my question is quite broad and I'll let you guys know for more specifics!
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 11:56 AM   #5
335xi_zer0
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: Monaco Blue 2007 335xi

Quote: