E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > [Video Guide] Full BMW Coding Setup



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-10-2014, 09:16 PM   #243
js335in54
Banned
4
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: BMw e92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norwalk

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmlcrisis View Post
Do I delete the old content of the folders before putting the news files in the folders.
if it ask you to overwrite the files do so. do not delete them just overwrite
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2014, 07:40 PM   #244
mmlcrisis
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
47
Posts

Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (0)

A couple questions relating to OP's video

I have a couple questions that I am hoping the experienced coders in the forum can answer.

1) Does the OP's video procedure work for Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit?
I have read in other posts that an upgrade to Windows Professional is
required to run NCSexpert. Something about you must run Windows 7 in
the XP mode which is available only in Professional Version.

2) I have a 2009 335i E92. I succesfully coded the car a year and a half ago
using a laptop running XP. I believe in January of 2014, the dealer
replaced my CIC under warranty and loaded 2014 Nav maps while he
was at it. He reprogrammed my whole car, wiping out all my coding.
The new software on my car has daten newer than the Daten on my XP
system or in the OP's resouce package. Do I have to get new Daten
before I can attempt to recode my car with my XP system or the
Windows 7 system (if I can get Windows 7 to run), both with older
Daten that that on my car?

Hope my questions make sense. While following the OP's video with my Windows 7 Home system, the only problem I had was an error message indicating the picture was invalid when I tried to run the BMW Coding Tool. This error prevented the tool from running, so I had to perform it's task manually. All looked good until I interfaced the laptop to the car. Neither the BATTERY or IGNITION circle were backened. Any ideas will be appreciated. Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2014, 03:24 PM   #245
js335in54
Banned
4
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: BMw e92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norwalk

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmlcrisis View Post
I have a couple questions that I am hoping the experienced coders in the forum can answer.

1) Does the OP's video procedure work for Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit?
I have read in other posts that an upgrade to Windows Professional is
required to run NCSexpert. Something about you must run Windows 7 in
the XP mode which is available only in Professional Version.

2) I have a 2009 335i E92. I succesfully coded the car a year and a half ago
using a laptop running XP. I believe in January of 2014, the dealer
replaced my CIC under warranty and loaded 2014 Nav maps while he
was at it. He reprogrammed my whole car, wiping out all my coding.
The new software on my car has daten newer than the Daten on my XP
system or in the OP's resouce package. Do I have to get new Daten
before I can attempt to recode my car with my XP system or the
Windows 7 system (if I can get Windows 7 to run), both with older
Daten that that on my car?

Hope my questions make sense. While following the OP's video with my Windows 7 Home system, the only problem I had was an error message indicating the picture was invalid when I tried to run the BMW Coding Tool. This error prevented the tool from running, so I had to perform it's task manually. All looked good until I interfaced the laptop to the car. Neither the BATTERY or IGNITION circle were backened. Any ideas will be appreciated. Thank you.

this is comonly due to the obd.ini file you have to make sure the com port matches your inpa cable and set timer latency to 1
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2014, 06:57 PM   #246
itsstock02
First Lieutenant
8
Rep
325
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: MI

iTrader: (2)

I followed the videos directions to a tee but when i open INPA it doesnt list any chassis codes tied to the F keys. Is that normal?

edit: copied and pasted the new inpa folder and now e90 is tied to f3. Im ordering my one stop cable tonight and hoping to have sucessful coding soon!
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2014, 05:55 PM   #247
iwantaw335
Private First Class
7
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport/ 2015 320i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LBC

iTrader: (1)

Read transmission error code

Hello, I followed the video instruction however I created a virtualbox environment and passing usb k-dcan cable into my virtual environment. The environment is windows xp 32 bit.

All seems to work. I get the two black dots for battery and ignition after I launch Inpa.
I then hit f3 to go to E89 and then select transmission. Then I select the very first option and I get an error about control unit not found. Please see image attached.

Also my car is 2011 335xi coupe. Is the daten files on this guide too old?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2014, 05:32 AM   #248
cryptomit
Captain
44
Rep
698
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

you have selected wrong module. Try different one.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2014, 01:25 PM   #249
iwantaw335
Private First Class
7
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport/ 2015 320i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LBC

iTrader: (1)

Under Transmission There are 3 options. None of the options work for me. I get errors on All 3 option. Do I need to update my Daten files? I'm using the daten's from this post. I'm currently downloading 50.2 daten. But does INPA even use the daten files?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2014, 02:57 PM   #250
cryptomit
Captain
44
Rep
698
Posts

Drives: 320d 2012
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: AS

iTrader: (0)

what INPA version do you have? Yes, maybe some files are missing.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2014, 03:15 PM   #251
iwantaw335
Private First Class
7
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: 2011 335xi Msport/ 2015 320i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LBC

iTrader: (1)

All files and programs are from the 1st post. There is a text file that says version 5.0.6
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2014, 05:16 PM   #252
maxgohan
Private First Class
5
Rep
189
Posts

Drives: pre-lci e90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

hey guys,

someone mind sending me a link to english version of all the apps I need?
I'm picking up the cable tonight and I'd like to get started ASAP

I got a SES light last night and I'm itching to read the code and figure out what it was for, someone please help!

maxgohan [at] gmaIl

EDIT:
nvm, found it within this thread for anyone that's looking
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=451145
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2014, 12:50 PM   #253
Precision Engineered
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
201
Posts

Drives: M sport
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

This completely doesn't work for me. INPA just wont talk to my car in the sense that the battery and ignition dots don't turn black. Annoying thing is that I've had inpa working (black dots recognise ignition on etc.) before but came to test the air bags and got errors.

where can I check what com port inpa is trying to use?
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2014, 01:29 PM   #254
js335in54
Banned
4
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: BMw e92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Norwalk

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Precision Engineered View Post
This completely doesn't work for me. INPA just wont talk to my car in the sense that the battery and ignition dots don't turn black. Annoying thing is that I've had inpa working (black dots recognise ignition on etc.) before but came to test the air bags and got errors.

where can I check what com port inpa is trying to use?
heres where you set the com port on this folder

C:\EDIABAS\Bin

then look for the Obd.ini then make sure the com port is 1

you can use any com port but most people feel confortable choosing com1


then go to your device manager click on com port and make sure is com1

also for latency timer set it to 1
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2014, 01:40 PM   #255
Precision Engineered
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
201
Posts

Drives: M sport
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by js335in54 View Post
heres where you set the com port on this folder

C:\EDIABAS\Bin

then look for the Obd.ini then make sure the com port is 1

you can use any com port but most people feel confortable choosing com1


then go to your device manager click on com port and make sure is com1

also for latency timer set it to 1
Tried that bud, stull get the same problem, really weird. it was working earlier today when I installed using the cd that came with the adaptor but when I followed this guide I've not been able to get inpa working since. car is 2008 e92 CIC
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2014, 05:58 PM   #256
Precision Engineered
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
201
Posts

Drives: M sport
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lancashire

iTrader: (0)

Appears to be the cable playing up as now when I plug it into any pc, windows sees it as the DCAN cable but will not install drivers for it no matter what I try. Reported as faulty to seller (tried on several pcs and laptops).
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2014, 12:57 PM   #257
Kjaakars
New Member
Kjaakars's Avatar
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: BMW 08 e90
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Latvia, Ogre

iTrader: (0)

Hello everybody...
Do anyone have exactly those files which are in video at the beginning of this post (Rich`s Coding Pack) ?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2015, 03:57 PM   #258
jc_bmw
First Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

iTrader: (3)

OK installed this again onto my new computer and I got to say these instructions are the easiest to follow. This time on a Windows 8.1 64-bit machine.

Updated with 50.2 Daten. Not sure if this has been answered before but INPA still seems to be in German. Do I need to do anything to get it to become English?
__________________

09 E90 328i 3IM, Eurocharged, K&N, 80W LED Angel
Coding: Digi Speed, Express Up Fob, Wipe Wash Count, Weather Station, Headlight Sensitivity
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2015, 07:47 PM   #259
jc_bmw
First Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

iTrader: (3)

looks like I might have solved my own question. I just needed to copy the .IPO filess rom INPA 5.0.2 over too 5.0.6 to get most of it in English.
__________________

09 E90 328i 3IM, Eurocharged, K&N, 80W LED Angel
Coding: Digi Speed, Express Up Fob, Wipe Wash Count, Weather Station, Headlight Sensitivity
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 12:09 PM   #260
Chris_Rav
Lieutenant
Chris_Rav's Avatar
25
Rep
522
Posts

Drives: 2011 e92 LCI 335i xdrive 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjaakars View Post
Hello everybody...
Do anyone have exactly those files which are in video at the beginning of this post (Rich`s Coding Pack) ?
BUMPP does anybody know where to find these files?
__________________
2011 AW / CR 6MT 335i Xdrive Coupe | JB4 Stage 2 | BMS Intake | Performance Spoiler | Powder Coated Red Linea Corse 818 | Blacked Out Roof | Wrapped Interior Trim
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 03:08 PM   #261
jc_bmw
First Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Rav View Post
BUMPP does anybody know where to find these files?
I think it was in the BMW coding forum, not this forum.... I have a copy of those files somewhere...
__________________

09 E90 328i 3IM, Eurocharged, K&N, 80W LED Angel
Coding: Digi Speed, Express Up Fob, Wipe Wash Count, Weather Station, Headlight Sensitivity
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 06:11 PM   #262
Chris_Rav
Lieutenant
Chris_Rav's Avatar
25
Rep
522
Posts

Drives: 2011 e92 LCI 335i xdrive 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jc_bmw View Post
I think it was in the BMW coding forum, not this forum.... I have a copy of those files somewhere...
Is there any way you could post them or email them to me? I found a download for bmw standard tools but after that I got nothing.
__________________
2011 AW / CR 6MT 335i Xdrive Coupe | JB4 Stage 2 | BMS Intake | Performance Spoiler | Powder Coated Red Linea Corse 818 | Blacked Out Roof | Wrapped Interior Trim
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 10:09 PM   #263
jc_bmw
First Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Rav View Post
Is there any way you could post them or email them to me? I found a download for bmw standard tools but after that I got nothing.
Try doing a search for Rich's BMW Coding Pack on Google. If not I will try and upload it somewhere this week.. need a place to host it around 55mb?
__________________

09 E90 328i 3IM, Eurocharged, K&N, 80W LED Angel
Coding: Digi Speed, Express Up Fob, Wipe Wash Count, Weather Station, Headlight Sensitivity
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2015, 12:12 PM   #264
jc_bmw
First Lieutenant
Canada
31
Rep
369
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 328i E90
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario

iTrader: (3)

Here is the file. https://mega.co.nz/#!3sdnRZZJ!uqdkCN...oxBUQgMZ809Fzc
__________________

09 E90 328i 3IM, Eurocharged, K&N, 80W LED Angel
Coding: Digi Speed, Express Up Fob, Wipe Wash Count, Weather Station, Headlight Sensitivity
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST