E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > [Video Guide] Full BMW Coding Setup



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-17-2013, 11:10 PM   #133
nahyt
Private
nahyt's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e92 335i  [5.00]
I followed the video in the first post and it came with two profiles ExpertMode and Manipulate. I've been using the Manipulate profile, should I use ExpertMode instead? Have I been following the right steps?
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2013, 06:54 PM   #134
BMW..
Captain
50
Rep
832
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nahyt
I followed the video in the first post and it came with two profiles ExpertMode and Manipulate. I've been using the Manipulate profile, should I use ExpertMode instead? Have I been following the right steps?
Expertmode will reset the module no matter what even if you have a modified Fsw psw. Manipulate will always change the car with the settings currently in Fsw psw
__________________
Mystic Blue E90
Phoenix Yellow E46
South Florida BMW Coding
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2013, 01:12 AM   #135
minhly4
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: bmw335i 2008
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Stanton, CA

iTrader: (0)

i have E60 bmw 525i 2005. which Daten should i use to code in NCSExpert?
please help......
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2013, 10:50 AM   #136
nahyt
Private
nahyt's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e92 335i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW.. View Post
Expertmode will reset the module no matter what even if you have a modified Fsw psw. Manipulate will always change the car with the settings currently in Fsw psw
So I use the Manipulate profile, get my trace file then rename it to FSW_PSW.MAN. Make the changes, then NCSexpert change job (SG_COIEREN) and code?
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2013, 05:58 PM   #137
BMW..
Captain
50
Rep
832
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nahyt View Post
So I use the Manipulate profile, get my trace file then rename it to FSW_PSW.MAN. Make the changes, then NCSexpert change job (SG_COIEREN) and code?
100% spot on!
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2013, 12:59 AM   #138
nahyt
Private
nahyt's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e92 335i  [5.00]
Just discovered this after playing around so I guess I did something right, now I'm just missing the other 50%



Also I noticed that when I tap my turn signal it use to blink 3 times then stop, now it only blinks once can I re-code this? I vaguely remember a post about it. Thanks again for the help!
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2013, 09:35 AM   #139
PichaDis11
Lieutenant Colonel
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
79
Rep
1,706
Posts

Drives: E90 N52
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nahyt
Just discovered this after playing around so I guess I did something right, now I'm just missing the other 50%



Also I noticed that when I tap my turn signal it use to blink 3 times then stop, now it only blinks once can I re-code this? I vaguely remember a post about it. Thanks again for the help!
This can be changed from instrument cluster using BC stalk...
__________________
...
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2013, 12:25 PM   #140
nahyt
Private
nahyt's Avatar
Canada
1
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 e92 335i  [5.00]
Thanks, it shouldn't be too hard to find then


... Got thanks again

Last edited by nahyt; 09-20-2013 at 04:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-29-2013, 03:48 PM   #141
madbim
Private First Class
United_States
7
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 08' E90 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the video guide. I'm a little confused, using the PDF guide provided in another thread it mentions creating a profile. My first consistency check passes, but when I select the 3 options in car-keymemory and run the consistency check again it fails.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 04:31 PM   #142
gimmethemuumuu
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
933
Posts

Drives: '17 F80 M3, SO/Bk
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (15)

Likewise, thanks for the video guide!

I was really excited to see that one could now set up an installation on a 64-bit machine. I was having no luck seeing the USB serial port through VirtualBox. However, after setting up my machine (Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit), I'm still having an issue:

I keep getting an IHF-003 communication disturbed error from INPA and a VIN is faulty message from NCS-Expert. And this is with a proven cable, one that I've successfully coded three different cars with, including the current one!

I'm wondering: What exactly are the errors I'm getting indicative of? How can I prove whether my cable still works properly?

Also, regarding the installation: Is it imperative to run the BMW Standard Tools installation in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode. I mean, I didn't specifically check that but I got no errors during the installation.

Please advise…
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2013, 06:17 PM   #143
BMW..
Captain
50
Rep
832
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by madbim View Post
Thanks for the video guide. I'm a little confused, using the PDF guide provided in another thread it mentions creating a profile. My first consistency check passes, but when I select the 3 options in car-keymemory and run the consistency check again it fails.
Dont need to make new profiles. Delete the ones in your install directory and copy the ones I provided no need to change them
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2013, 02:58 AM   #144
gimmethemuumuu
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
933
Posts

Drives: '17 F80 M3, SO/Bk
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmethemuumuu View Post
Likewise, thanks for the video guide!

I was really excited to see that one could now set up an installation on a 64-bit machine. I was having no luck seeing the USB serial port through VirtualBox. However, after setting up my machine (Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit), I'm still having an issue:

I keep getting an IHF-003 communication disturbed error from INPA and a VIN is faulty message from NCS-Expert. And this is with a proven cable, one that I've successfully coded three different cars with, including the current one!

I'm wondering: What exactly are the errors I'm getting indicative of? How can I prove whether my cable still works properly?

Also, regarding the installation: Is it imperative to run the BMW Standard Tools installation in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode. I mean, I didn't specifically check that but I got no errors during the installation.

Please advise…
Anyone have any ideas or recommendations?
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2013, 10:45 PM   #145
crbalch
The Schwab
crbalch's Avatar
United_States
259
Rep
1,443
Posts

Drives: 2016 M235xi ACF Tuned
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2016 BMW M235xi  [0.00]
I followed all of the instructions (thank you btw), and am now ready to code. I feel like there are many DIYs and some have some steps, others have different steps, etc.

Which DIY guide would you suggest that compliments what you have outlined as the more preliminary steps needed to start?

Thanks!
__________________
Esti the M235 | 2016 BMW M235xi | EBII | ACF Performance Flash | Fabspeed Sport Cat Downpipe | ///M Performance Exhaust | Wagner EVO II Performance FMIC | aFe Magnum Force Stage 2 Intake | ER CP | ///M Front Lip | ///M Full Carbon Interior | ///M Rear Diffuser | BMS 12mm/15mm Spacers | Matte Black Roof Wrap | Matte Black Rear Spoiler, Mirror Caps, Double Slat Grille | ///M Side Sill Decals | Stainless Pedals | Hardwired Escort Passport | Hardwired Thinkware F770 Dashcam
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2013, 11:52 PM   #146
psychosinmylobby
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmethemuumuu View Post
Likewise, thanks for the video guide!

I was really excited to see that one could now set up an installation on a 64-bit machine. I was having no luck seeing the USB serial port through VirtualBox. However, after setting up my machine (Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit), I'm still having an issue:

I keep getting an IHF-003 communication disturbed error from INPA and a VIN is faulty message from NCS-Expert. And this is with a proven cable, one that I've successfully coded three different cars with, including the current one!

I'm wondering: What exactly are the errors I'm getting indicative of? How can I prove whether my cable still works properly?

Also, regarding the installation: Is it imperative to run the BMW Standard Tools installation in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode. I mean, I didn't specifically check that but I got no errors during the installation.

Please advise…
Thanks for the video guide BMW..

But I am getting the same problem. When I ran INPA I got the Version is Different Error and when I used V49 daten file and ran NCS-Expert, I got Chassis is faulty error. Updated to v50.2 and got this "Vin is Faulty" error. Inpa shows both black dots and airbag status check with no errors so I know it is not my cable.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 12:12 PM   #147
psychosinmylobby
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimmethemuumuu View Post
Likewise, thanks for the video guide!

I was really excited to see that one could now set up an installation on a 64-bit machine. I was having no luck seeing the USB serial port through VirtualBox. However, after setting up my machine (Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit), I'm still having an issue:

I keep getting an IHF-003 communication disturbed error from INPA and a VIN is faulty message from NCS-Expert. And this is with a proven cable, one that I've successfully coded three different cars with, including the current one!

I'm wondering: What exactly are the errors I'm getting indicative of? How can I prove whether my cable still works properly?

Also, regarding the installation: Is it imperative to run the BMW Standard Tools installation in Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode. I mean, I didn't specifically check that but I got no errors during the installation.

Please advise…

I have figured it out. You should apply the inpa fix that was included in the extras folder to both NCSEXPERT and INPA.

Test coding successful using 30 dollar cable
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 12:22 PM   #148
gimmethemuumuu
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
933
Posts

Drives: '17 F80 M3, SO/Bk
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychosinmylobby View Post
Thanks for the video guide BMW..

But I am getting the same problem. When I ran INPA I got the Version is Different Error and when I used V49 daten file and ran NCS-Expert, I got Chassis is faulty error. Updated to v50.2 and got this "Vin is Faulty" error. Inpa shows both black dots and airbag status check with no errors so I know it is not my cable.
I got the VIN is faulty error. However, I'm getting no dots whatsoever in INPA

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychosinmylobby View Post
I have figured it out. You should apply the inpa fix that was included in the extras folder to both NCSEXPERT and INPA.

Test coding successful using 30 dollar cable
I will look for the INPA fix you mention. Thanks for the info

Glad to hear everything's working on your setup. If you would, PM me where you got your cable???

If I don't get my issues resolved, I may have to try a new cable. Shouldn't have to--I've got the eBay automotive-tool cable now.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 09:12 PM   #149
jjezzile
New Member
jjezzile's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 07 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Orleans

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to jjezzile Send a message via Yahoo to jjezzile
I need inpa
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 09:13 PM   #150
jjezzile
New Member
jjezzile's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 07 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Orleans

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to jjezzile Send a message via Yahoo to jjezzile
can someone help me
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 11:39 PM   #151
psychosinmylobby
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjezzile View Post
can someone help me
It's in the download..... click on coding resources..
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 05:37 AM   #152
MAKKNOWLES330I
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2006 330i N52 A22 E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: LAS VEGAS, NEVADA

iTrader: (0)

Free Coding Files

I Just Paid Someone Togive Me All The Files To Code The Bmw's. Thereare Several Different Ones,and It Came With A Tutorial As Well. Let Me Know If Anyone Is Missing Anything. My Problem Is I Have Windows 8 And I Dont Think It Works With 8. I Havent Been Able To Get It To Yet Anyways????
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2013, 08:26 PM   #153
cbecker33
Second Lieutenant
8
Rep
241
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: StL

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychosinmylobby View Post
... got this "Vin is Faulty" error. Inpa shows both black dots and airbag status check with no errors so I know it is not my cable.
Me as well. Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2013, 01:43 PM   #154
BMW..
Captain
50
Rep
832
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
Me as well. Any ideas?
Sorry for the late responses guys ive been really busy recently. For those with the faulty vin message, have you fixed your com ports in device manager? Also for those with tunes, you must be in map 0 to communicate with the car
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST