E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Cleaning & Detailing the engine bay?...

05-26-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
crzylildude
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe

Garage List
Cleaning & Detailing the engine bay?...

Can anyone tell me how to DIY my engine bay?... Has anyone had tried presure washing their engine before?... Is there any cleaner i can buy from AUTOZONE or PEPBOYS to clean my engine?... any advise is very much appreciated...
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2012, 09:23 AM   #2
drmdvl
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 X5 50i, 2015 Macan Turbo

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzylildude View Post
Can anyone tell me how to DIY my engine bay?... Has anyone had tried presure washing their engine before?... Is there any cleaner i can buy from AUTOZONE or PEPBOYS to clean my engine?... any advise is very much appreciated...
I am not a pro detailer by any means, but I do like to keep my car nice and detail as a hobby.
I dont think its a good idea to use a pressure washer in your engine bay. I just spray P21s total auto wash over everything in the engine bay, including the bottom side of the hood - let it sit for a few minutes - then use a small bristle brush to agitate any crevices or hard to reach places. P21 is a pretty safe and gentle degreaser - it doesnt take much scrubbing.
-Rinse with a hose or low pressure stream of water.
-Dry. I just blow it out with compressed air and use a towel.
-Spray down EVERYTHING, except belts and fan, with Aerospace 303 for a great finish.
Takes about 15 minutes total for a real nice detail.
Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2012, 09:54 AM   #3
crzylildude
Colonel
United_States
Rep

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by drmdvl View Post
I am not a pro detailer by any means, but I do like to keep my car nice and detail as a hobby.