E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > INPA/Cable Help - Had it working, but....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-13-2018, 06:36 PM   #1
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

INPA/Cable Help - Had it working, but....

I installed INPA and had it working fine a week ago. I went to install it on another computer and it wouldn't work, and was driving me nuts. So then I tried the cable with the working system to test it and it's not working.

Is there a way that I may have bricked the cable somehow? I opened it up and it looks fine, so I would assume it's firmware related, maybe??

This is driving me nuts, any help will be greatly appreciated.

The cable I'm using is a clear one with green PCB and FT232RQ chip.

Again, I had it working and coded my battery with it. I will post screenshots of other tests I did to prove it if you'd like.

Please help,

Thank you,

Kaz
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 06:42 PM   #2
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
447
Rep
1,871
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz26 View Post
I installed INPA and had it working fine a week ago. I went to install it on another computer and it wouldn't work, and was driving me nuts. So then I tried the cable with the working system to test it and it's not working.

Is there a way that I may have bricked the cable somehow? I opened it up and it looks fine, so I would assume it's firmware related, maybe??

This is driving me nuts, any help will be greatly appreciated.

The cable I'm using is a clear one with green PCB and FT232RQ chip.

Again, I had it working and coded my battery with it. I will post screenshots of other tests I did to prove it if you'd like.

Please help,

Thank you,

Kaz
Check your COM port settings first.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 08:57 PM   #3
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Thank you, but I have been through that. I forgot to mention that INPA shows both black and says:

Cable Detected: Yes
Ignition: On

I assume it's some kind of driver error, but I don't know, maybe it's a cable malfunction. Any sure way of finding out if it's the cable? I downloaded Mprog and FT-prog, but I havent figured out how to use them yet. I was wondering if the EEPROM needs to be reprogrammed.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 09:47 PM   #4
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
447
Rep
1,871
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz26 View Post
Thank you, but I have been through that. I forgot to mention that INPA shows both black and says:

Cable Detected: Yes
Ignition: On

I assume it's some kind of driver error, but I don't know, maybe it's a cable malfunction. Any sure way of finding out if it's the cable? I downloaded Mprog and FT-prog, but I havent figured out how to use them yet. I was wondering if the EEPROM needs to be reprogrammed.
So it shows in your device manager when plugged in to your laptop? Does INPA show a connection error message?
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 11:32 PM   #5
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Yes, I should have mentioned that. I will post pics below. The error says:

ApiResultSets: Error #100
SYS-0010: INITIALIZATION ERROR
API job error or no such result!
Continue script processing?

I'm running FTDI driver 2.12.28.0. I've tried 4 different drivers to no avail... This is why I'm starting to feel like something was written to the EEPROM somehow. If there is an ept file I could write to it to be sure, that would be great.
-----
Here are the pics:



----------

Here's a pics of some data I checked out when I had it running to register my battery.





---------------

And here's a pic of the board and the FT232RQ chip:



I realize the solder joints aren't great, but they should be decent enough to get the job done. Though, I've considered pulling out the iron and reworking them a bit, I don't think it's necessary.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 11:37 PM   #6
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I've tried to simply read fault codes, but it won't do that either. I don't understand why INPA is seeing the cable and appears connected, but won't read it.


Last edited by Kaz26; 02-13-2018 at 11:42 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 01:32 AM   #7
arkie6
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i sedan
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Russellville, AR

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Does your cable have an LED on the OBD end of the cable? If so, what is the LED doing when connected to the laptop and INPA running? Is it flashing?

What sequence do you use to connect the cable to the laptop, to the car, INPA open, car ignition on?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 01:08 PM   #8
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

The order I used is:
1. Plug cable into computer USB (the same USB I set it up on)
2. Plug OBD side into Car OBD port
3. Turn ignition On
4. Open INPA

The LED turns on when I plug it into the computer, but I haven't paid attention to what it does when I plug it into the car or start INPA for that matter. What is it supposed to do?

Thank you for the replies
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 04:07 PM   #9
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

One thing I noticed is that the pcb has the exact same layout at the white pcb and I believe it has the counterfeit FTDI chip. So, at this point I believe I need to unbrick the chip somehow by loading new firmware onto it.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 08:13 PM   #10
arkie6
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 335i sedan
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Russellville, AR

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz26 View Post
The order I used is:

The LED turns on when I plug it into the computer, but I haven't paid attention to what it does when I plug it into the car or start INPA for that matter. What is it supposed to do?
All that I have used mine for so far is to code my new fuel injectors. When I initially plug it into the OBD connector, I get a solid red LED. After a few seconds it goes OFF. Then when I get to the correct screen in INPA to read the fuel injector values, the LED starts flashing rapidly indicating communication from the laptop to the OBD connector.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2018, 10:32 PM   #11
LMB335IS
Sua Sponte
LMB335IS's Avatar
United_States
447
Rep
1,871
Posts

Drives: 2013 LMB 335is
Join Date: May 2008
Location: FOB FL

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335is  [4.42]
I've never heard of anyone "bricking" a cable. Cheap cables going bad, yes. If you have access to another cable I'd try that and see if you can connect. Personally I'd spend the $45 and either get the Topgear Solutions or bimmergeeks.net cable and call it a day, they're both guaranteed. I've been using the BG cable for a while and it connects to everything with a better data transfer speed.
__________________

335is/DCT/MHD/BQ Tuning
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2018, 01:30 PM   #12
mecheng77
Second Lieutenant
mecheng77's Avatar
29
Rep
224
Posts

Drives: 2007 328i JBlk , Volvo S70 T5
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Ontario Canada

iTrader: (0)

My cable was giving me an error when I connected it to my computer sometimes indicating "unknown device, error installing". It would then not connect to the computer

Other times, it was fine and allowed me to code. I looked at my PCB and it was flawless. It seems to be okay now, last night it caused no issues. Who know what the issue is, stupid temperamental electronics I guess.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2018, 07:24 PM   #13
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Just wanted to report back with my findings. I bought a new cable on Amazon with a guaranteed genuine FT232RL chip and everything works great. With that said, I'm done messing and took your advice with spending the $45 for a good cable with genuine FT232RL. I may never know what the issue was with the cheap cable, but I personally believe the problem is in the FT232R chip, which I believe was a counterfeit on the cheap one.

The day and a half a lost trying to troubleshoot it, combined with the frustrations has made me never want to go cheap again. Not worth it.

Thanks again!

Kaz
Appreciate 1
      02-16-2018, 12:39 PM   #14
mattoak
Private
mattoak's Avatar
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Seeing as a bunch of you have screenshots from INPA in english, hopefully someone can do me a favor...?

I have INPA installed and working, and some of the menus, especially the initial screens, are in english. But then when I start going into the jobs/modules, the menus turn back to German.

Would someone be willing to share with me the SGDAT and CFGDAT files you're using to have English everywhere? I can't seem to find an English version. I think I might also need your ediabas/ecu .grp files?

Thanks

Edit: Would by best bet just to go to bimmergeeks.net, download their software, uninstall my existing Standard Tools installation and then follow their instructions for installing? I might try that, and save a backup copy of my current installation just in case anything gets broken.

Last edited by mattoak; 02-16-2018 at 01:22 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2018, 04:38 PM   #15
Kaz26
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Alpenweiss
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

SPDaten 60.1 from Bimmergeeks.net:
https://mega.nz/#F!D9RSzQDQ!kfkRj1wG6VHRtemuG7Lv0g

Just go here: https://www.bimmergeeks.net/downloads

They have all sorts of great downloads. Their cables are apparently excellent quality as well!
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2018, 11:14 AM   #16
mattoak
Private
mattoak's Avatar
0
Rep
90
Posts

Drives: 06 325i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Collins, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaz26 View Post
SPDaten 60.1 from Bimmergeeks.net:
https://mega.nz/#F!D9RSzQDQ!kfkRj1wG6VHRtemuG7Lv0g

Just go here: https://www.bimmergeeks.net/downloads

They have all sorts of great downloads. Their cables are apparently excellent quality as well!
Thanks. The cable I have works with my BMW Standard Tools install, but when I copied over the three folders inside their install that you replace, the cable didn't read. I didn't do a full install from their installation executable, so I'm going to try that next.

Also, what is the difference between 50.2 and 60.1 daten files? Besides 60.1 being more recent? Is 60.1 also in English?
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2018, 08:53 PM   #17
d1saster
Lieutenant
Bulgaria
27
Rep
559
Posts

Drives: X1 s28i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

There are reports that using original ftdl driver (or whatever is called) can brick cloned chip. That may be your case.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST