E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wash, Wax, Detailing and Cosmetic protection/repairs > Quick word of caution: avoid Autopia

09-02-2010, 07:20 PM   #1
jopa489
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Anything with Wheels

Quick word of caution: avoid Autopia

This past weekend, my Windows desktop was infected directly from Autopia.org. I'd strongly advise those of you who use this site to avoid it for the time being. Not sure how they let this happen, but that place has really gone to hell since the new site was launched.

It was a Java-based attack (an alternate browser won't protect you from these) which provided me with a nice batch of fake anti-virus malware. I work in IT and these are a huge issue, and I'm sure some of you have seen these around too. The Autopia domain has been flagged by Google as a reported attack site (more technical explanations on that here).

I'd be happy to help remove this junk from your computer if you were infected, just give me a shout.

That's all. Figured I'd post this here, since I know many of you are also members at Autopia.

X7 LCI // Incoming
C7 ZR1 ZTK // Sebring + TRX // Hydro + Raptor Gen1 Roush // Tuxedo
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2010, 08:12 PM   #2
techlogik
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2020 M340i Dravit Grey

Haha..yeah, I was looking for an old contact that used to advertise and show his work on there, and Google was all over the dangerous URL in the search.

That used to be a great place...now some hackers/losers got ahold of it and are just looking to infect your computer to rip you off.
      09-02-2010, 10:30 PM   #3
BillLee
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Garage List
09 E92 M3  [9.00]
thanks for the heads up
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2010, 11:38 PM   #4
shoes
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 07 BSM E92 335i

I noticed it was flagged by Google, but I didn't know why.
Hopefully they get it cleaned up soon.

Thanks for the info.