E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion > No Audio for MP3s on CD [2006 530xi]

05-25-2009, 09:46 PM   #1
kooliehi
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 530xi

No Audio for MP3s on CD [2006 530xi]

Hi everyone,

I've been playing this CD with MP3s burnt on it fine since I got this car 5 months ago with no problems. Today I play the CD and there is no audio. The track time for the song goes on but no audio. I crank the volume and mute then unmute and still no audio. I eject the CD and the source switches to radio and I get audio. I insert the CD with MP3s back in and again, no audio. I then insert a regular store bought CD with 12 tracks and it plays fine with audio. I put back the CD with MP3s and again no audio. I switch from FM then to AM all other sources and I get audio. I go back to CD with MP3s and no audio. If anyone can help it would be much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 02:42 PM   #2
3lusive
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 MINI JCW Hardtop

I think my dad's 530xi wagon had the same problem. He went to the dealer and they replaced the audio unit i think. Not sure but what i do know is that going to the dealer will fix the problem
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 06:53 PM   #3
silvergray545
Skittles, OT OG
Lebanon
Rep
Drives: Lots of M cars

Garage List
2016 BMW M3 ZCP  [0.00]
2000 BMW M Roadster  [0.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2014 VW GLI  [0.00]
If you have the MP3 option enabled (which I'm guessing you do), you can only play MP3 CDs from the drive in the dash. The 6 disc changer will NOT play MP3 CDs. If that isn't the problem, take it into the dealer. I believe there is a SIB for that, but I'm not sure. Don't quote me on that.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2009, 10:01 PM   #4
kooliehi
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 530xi