E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > New & Preowned BMW Ordering / Pricing / Tracking Information Forum (including European Delivery) > Registration/Sales tax question

07-25-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
Beerflakes
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2020 X5, 2021 M550i (soon)

Registration/Sales tax question

I plan to lease a vehicle in about a week and have been really thinking about a multi-state registration issue...

I'm from Missouri and attend grad school full-time in Missouri, but live in central New York where I work full time and am a resident.

My dealer suggested registering in MO since I am a student and have a semi-residence (parents) so that I'd be able to roll my sales tax into monthly payments instead of paying up front like NY requires...

Will I run into issues with this? I visit Missouri several times a year for school but the vehicle will be primarily in New York.

MO insurance and registration, NY license and residence...
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2010, 07:33 PM   #2
John 070
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 335i cpe

I think the real issue is insurance fraud. If the car is always in NYS, and you tell your insurance co. the vehicle is garaged in MO, if they ever find out, you wont be covered. I know plenty of people who seem to feel it's ok, esp. in CT where there is property tax. But I know of one instance where a person's vehicle got stolen and recovered in Brooklyn, and he was questioned as to why if he lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan, that his car was registered in east jibit (insurance was cheaper). Needless to say his theft was not covered.
Appreciate 0
      07-25-2010, 07:45 PM   #3
Beerflakes
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2020 X5, 2021 M550i (soon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John 070 View Post