E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Newbie Tuning/Dealership Question (Be gentle)

03-16-2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Big Baldy
Big Bald & Grumpy
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2011 E91 318d Wagon

Talking Newbie Tuning/Dealership Question (Be gentle)

Greetings earthlings.

I'm a newbie to the site and to life with an E91. My new company car is a 318d touring exclusive edition and as much as I love it I'd like a little more poke!

My issue with getting it tuned (Remapped, Bluefin'd or tuning box) is will the dealer be able to tell whenever it gets plugged into their computer? I'd hate to get into a load of bother at work so is it worth it?

I was also told to use one key for the daily driving and one for trips to the dealer as the keys are like a small scale black box recorder. Is this true or just plain old BS???

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
Hotcoupe
Major General
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: Don't know yet!

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Baldy View Post
Greetings earthlings.

I'm a newbie to the site and to life with an E91. My new company car is a 318d touring exclusive edition and as much as I love it I'd like a little more poke!

My issue with getting it tuned (Remapped, Bluefin'd or tuning box) is will the dealer be able to tell whenever it gets plugged into their computer? I'd hate to get into a load of bother at work so is it worth it?

I was also told to use one key for the daily driving and one for trips to the dealer as the keys are like a small scale black box recorder. Is this true or just plain old BS???

Thanks in advance!

Yes.

If the dealer has to carry out any warranty work, the first course of action the dealer takes (should take) is to 'plug' the car in and the files are sent across to BMW AG.