E90Post

GT Haus

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > anyone have a good source for BMW engine facts?

12-15-2007, 09:11 PM   #1
BMS98
Private

Drives: 2006 E90 325i

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
anyone have a good source for BMW engine facts?

I'm completely new to BMW's, always drove Mustangs. I am used to Ford's modular 4.6L engine where the block is used on several different cars, but different heads, cams, intakes, etc may differ between models. for example the new mustang uses the 4.6L block with 3-valve cams and its own intake but the F150 uses the same heads on a 5.4L block with different cams and intake. I've torn several of these engines apart, eventually fitting new '00 GT heads to a '98 Block with a '00 intake and custom cams. Was going to do a stroker kit to a 5.0L block but got tired of the mustang scene and bought my first BMW.

Basically I want to know what engines share what parts between models and years. How long has the block that is in my 2006 325i been around? Is it basically the same block used for years, with some slight design improvements? How about the heads and cams? Pistons, crank, rods? Does the 3.2L I-6 in the Z4-M use the same block with a different crank/rod/piston setup to increase the displacement from 3.0L in the 3 series to 3.2L? Do you see what I am after?

Thanks!
      12-15-2007, 09:37 PM   #2
tctic
Major

Drives: BMW E90

If you are new to BMW, then I'll try to provide some of the basics.

- All BMWs series share the same engines between the different lines. (Except for the M cars) So basically the last two digits of the model number tells you what engine is under the hood. Example: MY2007 328, 528 both share the same engine.