E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > Ahh I screwed up big time, Vista/XP



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-25-2007, 12:50 PM   #1
matt.love84
xXx
matt.love84's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 E90.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to matt.love84
Ahh I screwed up big time, Vista/XP

Well a month or so ago I decided to try Vista Ultimate, not thinking to myself I upgraded the desktop with the trial version and so forth.

Well, I put a few little things on there (pictures, music, documents, etc).. well, I haven't used this desktop in a couple weeks or so and now that I'm back It will ONLY let me connect my computer to the internet. I can't get into my own desktop, Start Menu, etc.. It's now asking for a product key.

To be honest I hated vista(I also don't want to spend $350 on it) and will gladly go back to my bought version of XP.. only thing is, how in the hell can I get to those images/documents/music I saved once I stick my Dell Restore Disc back in?

If ANYONE can help me it would be SO very greatly appreciated. Thank you
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2007, 03:57 PM   #2
Ninjaneer
Shadow Warrior
Ninjaneer's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,097
Posts

 
Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

I'm not familiar with Vista (still on XP). What do you mean it'll only let you connect to the Internet? Don't you have to get onto your desktop normally first?

Anyway I would advise you not to use your "restore disc" till you've located and backed up your documents/photos. Usually these restore discs will get rid of everything you had and you'll lose everything.

You could install XP on a different drive and try to load with that as your OS to access the files... but that's a tedious process and doesn't get rid of Vista in the end... and I'm not sure if this is possible with Vista on there at the moment. I've done this before with Win98 then going to WinXP.

Or perhaps someone can point out a Linux boot disc solution that'll allow you to temporarily go in through Linux and grab what you need. I know these methods exist but haven't tried them personally to point you in the right direction.
__________________
335i E90 / Arctic / Gray / Burl Walnut / Steptronic / ZPP / ZSP / Paddles / CA / Nav / PDC / OEM Spoiler
Mods:
PIAA Angel Eyes, Rear Fog Switch, Escort X50 Blue hardwire, 30% Charcoal Llumar
Installing soon: Rear Power Outlets (Happy Robot mod!)
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2007, 11:09 PM   #3
FirstClass
Brigadier General
31
Rep
3,199
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, grab a boot disk spin it up them copy your stuff to a flash drive. Easy.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2007, 02:45 AM   #4
Comet
Troll Harder
Comet's Avatar
Lebanon
73
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: 997 GT3, 997 4 GTS, X6M
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Beirut

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
put that hard drive as a slave drive on a friend's PC, copy the stuff, format, install XP and done

off topic: why didnt u like Vista? I prefer it to XP
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2007, 11:57 AM   #5
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
UncleWede's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
2,375
Posts

 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

iTrader: (0)

It will only allow you to connect to the internet to validate after (30?) days.
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2007, 03:48 AM   #6
FirstClass
Brigadier General
31
Rep
3,199
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet View Post
off topic: why didnt u like Vista? I prefer it to XP
Probably because it's slow as hell (kills FPS) and doesn't add any new features that can't be had in XP. They scrapped all the truly revolutionary changes as too hard/long to implement.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2008, 04:46 AM   #7
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
UltimateBMW's Avatar
105
Rep
3,287
Posts

 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
Probably because it's slow as hell (kills FPS) and doesn't add any new features that can't be had in XP. They scrapped all the truly revolutionary changes as too hard/long to implement.
Unless your a gamer, in which case it gives you Directx 10.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2008, 05:34 AM   #8
Comet
Troll Harder
Comet's Avatar
Lebanon
73
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: 997 GT3, 997 4 GTS, X6M
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Beirut

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
Probably because it's slow as hell (kills FPS) and doesn't add any new features that can't be had in XP. They scrapped all the truly revolutionary changes as too hard/long to implement.
slow as hell? my PC runs way faster since Vista... :/
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2008, 12:30 PM   #9
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,852
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet View Post
put that hard drive as a slave drive on a friend's PC, copy the stuff, format, install XP and done

that do this. just take the drive out and put it into another PC. this way you'll be able to get all the files.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2008, 12:33 PM   #10
AWD Addict
Chief Executive
AWD Addict's Avatar
35
Rep
2,483
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi 6spd Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 335xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet View Post
slow as hell? my PC runs way faster since Vista... :/
Not with just a gig of ram, though, which would run XP just fine - maybe that's it? Vista is a RAM whore.

DX10 is too young to be worth upgrading for yet. Crysis looks great in DX9, for example. If you're an IT tech, it's a different story, obviously, but XP is still a great OS. Given I'm basically my family's IT Tech (built all their computers), I'll be going to Vista soon so that when it's time to upgrade them, I'll be up to speed.

Either way, if you're already on vista, don't go back. Go buy a few more sticks of memory and keep going. No sense on going backwards at this point.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST