E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > Need help...again.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-03-2008, 02:20 PM   #1
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Need help...again.

I'll keep it short. I was playing a game and walked out the room. When I came back there was a burning smell and my screen had no signal. The CPU fan and powersupply fan wasnt working either yet the case light was still on.

Now when I try to power the computer the cpu fan gives a little movement but stops immediately. The power light remains on but that's it. The powersupply fan doesnt go on either.

Any ideas? If it's just the cpu fan could someone tell me how to remove it? I know it has clips but I havent seen clips like it before and there isnt even a model number on the fan.
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2008, 03:08 PM   #2
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,621
iTrader: (3)

i think this happend to me once the power supply was dead
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2008, 03:17 PM   #3
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
i think this happend to me once the power supply was dead
Hmm, is there any way to be sure? I think you might be right. I recently added a graphics card which is connected to the powersupply unit. Maybe it caused this to happen, but how do I check?
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2008, 03:40 PM   #4
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,621
iTrader: (3)

i would just go to frys pick up a new one....if thats not the prob return it....trial and error are my best solutions...

i think the computer would still pass the bios even if the fan was dead
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2008, 03:57 PM   #5
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,307
iTrader: (0)

Sniff around in the case and see which one is burned up, the power supply or the CPU fan. It's usually pretty obvious if there is a burning smell in the room.
UncleWede is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2008, 05:41 PM   #6
FirstClass
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 3,199
iTrader: (0)

Adding components to a stock power supply is a bad idea in most cases as the manufacturer sticks in the shittiest PSU that will run what they have in the machine.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
FirstClass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 02:27 PM   #7
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
Adding components to a stock power supply is a bad idea in most cases as the manufacturer sticks in the shittiest PSU that will run what they have in the machine.
I thought it would be fine since there are a few spare cables coming from the PSU? I decided to use the one that fitted the graphics card. Hmm. If my PSU needs replaced why does the powe light come on?
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 02:34 PM   #8
its ray den
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2004 Mazda6s
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

it might be drawing just enough power to turn the lights on, but not enough to power the rest of the system. i agree with every one else's assessment - it seems like a PSU problem. i would go get one with better amperage.

i had the same issue when my PSU died. the indicator lights on the motherboard were on, but nothing else was. i ended up RMA'ing the motherboard and the processor before i decided to RMA the PSU. learn from my experience, change the PSU :P
its ray den is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 02:36 PM   #9
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (0)

I thought of that too but wasnt sure. Seems logical. Thanks people
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 02:37 PM   #10
MadDog
Careful, I Bite.....
 
MadDog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area

Posts: 504
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hks786 View Post
I thought it would be fine since there are a few spare cables coming from the PSU? I decided to use the one that fitted the graphics card. Hmm. If my PSU needs replaced why does the powe light come on?
Your PSU puts out more than one voltage (+5V, +3.3V, +12V). One (or more) voltages is dead. It doesn't seem that your Power light is affected.

What wattage is the PSU ??
MadDog is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 02:46 PM   #11
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,350
iTrader: (0)

Wattage is 350W
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2008, 03:58 PM   #12
MadDog
Careful, I Bite.....
 
MadDog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area

Posts: 504
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 325i  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hks786 View Post
Wattage is 350W
That doesn't seem too low, but may depend on what you have in your system.

A few months ago, my PC started randomly rebooting, and I found, through the MB BIOS, that one of the voltages was low. Once I replaced the PSU, it's been rock solid ever since.

Good Luck.
MadDog is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST