E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Stack jb4 with Cobb ap



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2016, 02:14 PM   #1
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Stack jb4 with Cobb ap

I had a Cobb v3 ap and wanted to stack jb4 on top of it for methanol but I can't seem to get them to work along with each other. Running ots stage2+fmic aggressive on Cobb and have the jb4 on map 5 auto tune and my engine just stutters and stalls, anyone have any suggestions? I've tried looking for a backend flash but the only one I found for Cobb was the single turbo map
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 02:20 PM   #2
csu87
Brigadier General
csu87's Avatar
1544
Rep
3,177
Posts

Drives: 09 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern Colorado

iTrader: (0)

you need a backend flash to run the jb4 with a flash tune.

Dont think you can load the JB4 backend flashes with COBB, but i could be mistaken.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 02:35 PM   #3
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csu87
you need a backend flash to run the jb4 with a flash tune.

Dont think you can load the JB4 backend flashes with COBB, but i could be mistaken.
So I need to use a bt cable to get the backend? I have the alpina flash on my car as well and hoping it doesn't overwrite that, but I was trying to use Cobb only with the jb4 still installed on map 0 and still stuttering and stalls
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 02:48 PM   #4
csu87
Brigadier General
csu87's Avatar
1544
Rep
3,177
Posts

Drives: 09 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
So I need to use a bt cable to get the backend? I have the alpina flash on my car as well and hoping it doesn't overwrite that, but I was trying to use Cobb only with the jb4 still installed on map 0 and still stuttering and stalls
you sure you have the jb4 installed correctly? shouldnt have any affect on the car in map 0

Yes you would need a BT cable and the *********** software to do the backend flash or MHD and cable.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 04:00 PM   #5
Sered
Major
Sered's Avatar
86
Rep
1,191
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL

iTrader: (3)

You shouldn't be running that map with a JB4 on map 5. If you had read up on it, you'd see that the back-end flashes are what you should pair up with the JB4 as a non-advanced user. Go read the JB4 threads on the other forum to see how you're supposed to run JB4 stacked. There's a few menu options to set.

And if your car is running bad on map 0; then you installed the JB4 wrong. And I'm not certain if back-end flashes support Cobb anymore. It's old and deprecated now.
__________________
'08 E90 w/ just boltons
'09 Z4 sDrive35i w/ just boltons

Last edited by Sered; 08-08-2016 at 04:15 PM.
Appreciate 1
      08-08-2016, 04:04 PM   #6
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sered
You shouldn't be running that map with a JB4 on map 5. If you had read up on it, you'd see that the back-end flashes are what you should pair up with the JB4 as a non-advanced user. Go read the JB4 threads on the other forum to see how you're supposed to run JB4 stacked. There's a few menu options to set.

And if you're car is running bad on map 0; then you installed the JB4 wrong.
Could you link me to them? I can't seem to find any of the flash maps other than the single turbo map for the ap to run with jb4, the jb4 alone on map 0 runs perfectly fine but as soon as my ap is plugged in it starts to stutter and not run smoothly
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 05:15 PM   #7
csu87
Brigadier General
csu87's Avatar
1544
Rep
3,177
Posts

Drives: 09 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern Colorado

iTrader: (0)

n54tech.com
Appreciate 1
      08-08-2016, 08:19 PM   #8
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by csu87
n54tech.com
Thanks I think I figured it out going to do it tomorrow and see how things go
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 01:17 AM   #9
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Update: turns out the jb4 g5 I have is the ISO version so map 0 isn't truly a bypass map. So I can't run the two together while the jb4 is still installed. Just going to uninstall and sell the AP since I liked the jb4 more anyways. Thanks for the help!
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 07:56 AM   #10
Sered
Major
Sered's Avatar
86
Rep
1,191
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
Update: turns out the jb4 g5 I have is the ISO version so map 0 isn't truly a bypass map. So I can't run the two together while the jb4 is still installed. Just going to uninstall and sell the AP since I liked the jb4 more anyways. Thanks for the help!
Not sure I understand that. Putting the JB4 in map 0 disables the JB4. Map 4 is the bypass map.
__________________
'08 E90 w/ just boltons
'09 Z4 sDrive35i w/ just boltons
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 10:00 AM   #11
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sered
Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
Update: turns out the jb4 g5 I have is the ISO version so map 0 isn't truly a bypass map. So I can't run the two together while the jb4 is still installed. Just going to uninstall and sell the AP since I liked the jb4 more anyways. Thanks for the help!
Not sure I understand that. Putting the JB4 in map 0 disables the JB4. Map 4 is the bypass map.
So the jb4 G5 Iso still controls boost although in map 0, but it'll still act like stock bypass just not 100% bypassed as far as I understand
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 10:03 AM   #12
stanlalee
Major
162
Rep
1,137
Posts

Drives: 07' E92 335i manual
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Newport News, Va

iTrader: (0)

You can easily stack the two. It's no different than stacking it with any flash. JB4 does not know or care if you're DME is flashed by MHD, Cobb or BMW. You just need to read up on the latest JB4 settings (and be on the latest firmware). You don't have an off the shelf BEF like for MHD and BB but if your happy with the Cobb tune and just want the jb4 for meth no changes are needed to the flash. Just set the JB4 settings properly so that it only controls boost (like all BEF set ups). The JB4 has to control boost for meth reference so you can't simply use the jb4 in full bypass. Just leave the Cobb tune as is and tune the boost curve with the JB4 which is probably the easiest thing to do since it's ISO and you just plug numbers in (vs load based like a flash).
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 10:38 AM   #13
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlalee
You can easily stack the two. It's no different than stacking it with any flash. JB4 does not know or care if you're DME is flashed by MHD, Cobb or BMW. You just need to read up on the latest JB4 settings (and be on the latest firmware). You don't have an off the shelf BEF like for MHD and BB but if your happy with the Cobb tune and just want the jb4 for meth no changes are needed to the flash. Just set the JB4 settings properly so that it only controls boost (like all BEF set ups). The JB4 has to control boost for meth reference so you can't simply use the jb4 in full bypass. Just leave the Cobb tune as is and tune the boost curve with the JB4 which is probably the easiest thing to do since it's ISO and you just plug numbers in (vs load based like a flash).
Can you elaborate on how to do this? Or just send me in the right direction
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 04:34 PM   #14
Blaster400
Captain
Blaster400's Avatar
United_States
50
Rep
772
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i E92 BSM 6AT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, MI

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i E92  [4.89]
Send a message via AIM to Blaster400
Just ditch the Cobb and get MHD for JB4 back-end flash.
__________________
MOTIV 750 ST | MOTIV PI | 100% E85 | Fuel-it Stage 3+ LPFP | JB4 G5 w/MHD BMS flash | Quaife | Íhlins | Brembo | Akrapovic
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 04:36 PM   #15
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaster400
Just ditch the Cobb and get MHD for JB4 back-end flash.
Does that affect the alpina b3 flash? I uninstalled the ap already
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 05:36 PM   #16
mike@x-ph.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
mike@x-ph.com's Avatar
United_States
2787
Rep
46,740
Posts


Drives: 2007 e92 335i / 2013 F30 328
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (14)

When stacking use backend flash not the OTS maps
__________________
Lowest Price Guarantee - 6 Months No Interest Financing - Earn Loyalty Points with Each Purchase - Best Customer Service!
Lowest Price + Combo Deals: Burger Tuning - Active Autowerke - VRSF - Wagner Tuning - Injen - Evolution Racewerks - REMUS - Fabspeed - GTHaus- Agency Power
Follow Us On Social Media For Exclusive Deals:Website - Facebook - Twitter - Google+ - Instagram - Youtube
Appreciate 1
csu871544

      08-09-2016, 05:39 PM   #17
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike@x-ph.com
When stacking use backend flash not the OTS maps
Do you know where I can find these flashes using the Cobb ap? I don't want to shell out more money for the bt cable etc
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 08:36 PM   #18
Blaster400
Captain
Blaster400's Avatar
United_States
50
Rep
772
Posts

Drives: 2007 335i E92 BSM 6AT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Birmingham, MI

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 335i E92  [4.89]
Send a message via AIM to Blaster400
Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
Does that affect the alpina b3 flash? I uninstalled the ap already
It will not affect Alpina flash. Go over to N54tech and read MHD sticky to answer your questions.
__________________
MOTIV 750 ST | MOTIV PI | 100% E85 | Fuel-it Stage 3+ LPFP | JB4 G5 w/MHD BMS flash | Quaife | Íhlins | Brembo | Akrapovic
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2016, 08:10 AM   #19
Sered
Major
Sered's Avatar
86
Rep
1,191
Posts

Drives: 08 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
So the jb4 G5 Iso still controls boost although in map 0, but it'll still act like stock bypass just not 100% bypassed as far as I understand
No, the JB4 will NOT control boost when on Map 0. It ceases to function at that point. If your car is running badly with JB4 on map 0, then it was most likely installed incorrectly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
Do you know where I can find these flashes using the Cobb ap? I don't want to shell out more money for the bt cable etc
Those will be difficult to find. The Cobb is obsolete and no longer supported as far as I know. You don't need a BT cable to flash via MHD.
__________________
'08 E90 w/ just boltons
'09 Z4 sDrive35i w/ just boltons
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2016, 03:18 PM   #20
free35
Enlisted Member
Canada
1
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 08 BMW 335
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: CANADA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sered
No, the JB4 will NOT control boost when on Map 0. It ceases to function at that point. If your car is running badly with JB4 on map 0, then it was most likely installed incorrectly.
I have checked and checked again the install and also compared pictures which I'll post of the jb4 harness, it is installed correctly. The thing is when I'm using map 0 and the ap my boost now limits to 5-6psi even at WOT but jb4 alone runs at 17psi. But I have decided to just ditch the ap, thanks everyone for your input and help!
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2016, 06:38 PM   #21
mike@x-ph.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
mike@x-ph.com's Avatar
United_States
2787
Rep
46,740
Posts


Drives: 2007 e92 335i / 2013 F30 328
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by free35 View Post
Do you know where I can find these flashes using the Cobb ap? I don't want to shell out more money for the bt cable etc
Post on N54tech.com or contact Terry for these maps ... Not sure if he still supports Cobb
__________________
Lowest Price Guarantee - 6 Months No Interest Financing - Earn Loyalty Points with Each Purchase - Best Customer Service!
Lowest Price + Combo Deals: Burger Tuning - Active Autowerke - VRSF - Wagner Tuning - Injen - Evolution Racewerks - REMUS - Fabspeed - GTHaus- Agency Power
Follow Us On Social Media For Exclusive Deals:Website - Facebook - Twitter - Google+ - Instagram - Youtube
Appreciate 2
      08-13-2016, 11:46 AM   #22
BlackBB6
Lieutenant
United_States
23
Rep
544
Posts

Drives: E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
I have some older IJE0S cobb BEF files for E85, Terry stopped supporting them when MHD came out though.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST