E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp Limp Limp



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-21-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Limp Limp Limp

V2 was installed on Friday. The car was acting normal for 3 days. However, this morning the way to work. My car gets limp mode every time I have paddle down (every time).

The data files was taken this afternoon. Someone, please help.

Last edited by Shih; 02-28-2008 at 06:46 PM.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 03:32 PM   #2
Ado
King Kong
 
Ado's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto

Posts: 769
iTrader: (0)

Hi Shih,

I think we could make a song out of the "limp limp limp". hehe

One thing that you may want to check is the weiring again. The SAME EXACT thing happend to me. The car ran fine when I didn't slam down on the gas even if I take it into high RPM's as long as I didn't give it too much gas.

Well the problem ended up being a loose wire, I can't remember which one it was but when I checked the weiring by trying to slightly pull them apart one of them were almost not connected at all.

Good luck.
__________________
08 E92 M3 - AA ECU, AA Pulleys, AA Air Filter, AA Short Shifter - CURRENT
E92 335i - Vishnu V3, Exhaust, Intake, BOV, CDV Delete - SOLD
1991 850i Dinan Twin Turbo - SOLD

Health Forums
Ado is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 03:37 PM   #3
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ado View Post
Hi Shih,

I think we could make a song out of the "limp limp limp". hehe

One thing that you may want to check is the weiring again. The SAME EXACT thing happend to me. The car ran fine when I didn't slam down on the gas even if I take it into high RPM's as long as I didn't give it too much gas.

Well the problem ended up being a loose wire, I can't remember which one it was but when I checked the weiring by trying to slightly pull them apart one of them were almost not connected at all.

Good luck.
Going to check right away.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 03:38 PM   #4
Garrett
Banned
 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Going to check right away.
let us know....
Garrett is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 03:42 PM   #5
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
I would agree with the loose wire diagnosis. If you look at the calculated load on the third graph, it drops out for a second, and then jumps off the chart, which is suggestive of a connection issue.
Dustin Bramell is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 03:45 PM   #6
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
I would agree with the loose wire diagnosis. If you look at the calculated load on the third graph, it drops out for a second, and then jumps off the chart, which is suggestive of a connection issue.

Can you take a look of pix 2? the boost spike to 14.7. Setting are in 90% only.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 05:28 PM   #7
Driver72
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 335i - to new owners now.
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California

Posts: 4,485
iTrader: (0)

I'd check the wiring too.
Could be a loose or bad PROcede power connection (happened to me) or the female spade connector is bent and not getting a solid connection (also happened to me and many others).
Driver72 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2008, 05:56 PM   #8
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

I uploaded the map again and checked the wires, everything seemed fine.
I have not done a test run. I will do it tomorrow and post the outcome.

Thanks for everyone's help.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 04:38 PM   #9
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

The reloading the map and checking the wires did not work. I still get limp mode today.

Do anyone of you think it is the 08 problem or bad procede?
Is not 14.7 psi too high for 90% setting?
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 05:55 PM   #10
Ado
King Kong
 
Ado's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto

Posts: 769
iTrader: (0)

I have no idea how the PSI works. My max PSI at 98% was 14.5 PSI.
__________________
08 E92 M3 - AA ECU, AA Pulleys, AA Air Filter, AA Short Shifter - CURRENT
E92 335i - Vishnu V3, Exhaust, Intake, BOV, CDV Delete - SOLD
1991 850i Dinan Twin Turbo - SOLD

Health Forums
Ado is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 06:11 PM   #11
LambOfGod
Lieutenant
 
LambOfGod's Avatar
 
Drives: 335 Red Sedan
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan

Posts: 571
iTrader: (0)

Hey...Are you guys using tape or heat shrink tubing for the connections? If so, how does the stuff come apart? I don't want a huge mess but I like the idea of have a more secure connections.
LambOfGod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 07:12 PM   #12
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LambOfGod View Post
Hey...Are you guys using tape or heat shrink tubing for the connections? If so, how does the stuff come apart? I don't want a huge mess but I like the idea of have a more secure connections.
I am using the tape only.

DO NOT USE the heat shrink. You will have hard time taking them off when you need to.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 09:42 PM   #13
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Shiv, can you PM me your email address. I want to send you the data logs to you.

Thanks,
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 09:47 PM   #14
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

I'm having similar issues to Shih. I too have been trying to send the datalogs. no limp but very similar rattle and car hesitation. I also have 15.3 psi boost at that point on default settings. Posted datalog in another thread and PM'd but still no response.....would like some input. Anyone?....Just turn down settings at 4500-5500 rpm? Why such high boost on default settings?

see post #15 here:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108812
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 09:51 PM   #15
Garrett
Banned
 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Shiv, can you PM me your email address. I want to send you the data logs to you.

Thanks,
Damn bro... 24 hours... Did you just pull out the PRocede?
Garrett is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 09:59 PM   #16
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
Damn bro... 24 hours... Did you just pull out the PRocede?
I rechecked the wires again today. I end out broke one of power connector.

Before this issue, I had limp mode from 3-4 gear if I rev pass 6700.

MG, I have so many issues with procede. with v1 1.47 map, I got 80HP drop from 5300rpm. V2 limp mode all the time.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 10:03 PM   #17
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007_E93 View Post
I'm having similar issues to Shih. I too have been trying to send the datalogs. no limp but very similar rattle and car hesitation. I also have 15.3 psi boost at that point on default settings. Posted datalog in another thread and PM'd but still no response.....would like some input. Anyone?....Just turn down settings at 4500-5500 rpm? Why such high boost on default settings?

see post #15 here:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108812
Do you have 08 car?
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2008, 10:10 PM   #18
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Do you have 08 car?
No,...one of the last runs of 2007 though. June 27, 2007.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2008, 10:05 PM   #19
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

I just set the car to 80%.

Car does not go "GO SLOW MODE" anymore. However, my car now sometimes boost up to 15.3 psi and hold there. Weird.....80%
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2008, 10:08 PM   #20
NPDAN
Colonel
 
NPDAN's Avatar
 
Drives: AW DCT M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So.Cal

Posts: 2,570
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [4.00]
07' E92 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to NPDAN
Make sure your tq setting arent set too high and try to burn through the tank of gas you have in there now... Also check your vacuum or whatever they're called lines. Make sure they're nice and snug. Wouldnt hurt to check your ground also.
__________________
NPDAN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2008, 10:10 PM   #21
Garrett
Banned
 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

Posts: 1,356
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
I rechecked the wires again today. I end out broke one of power connector.

Before this issue, I had limp mode from 3-4 gear if I rev pass 6700.

MG, I have so many issues with procede. with v1 1.47 map, I got 80HP drop from 5300rpm. V2 limp mode all the time.
Just take the PROcede out..! Damn Dude I wouldn't be driving around having it induce "limp mode" on your $40k car...! Let your engine and ECU stabilize and get your engine running correctly before you cause more harm.

Then, in about a week, re-install PROcede to make sure it not your car... if you get "limp mode" again, and Shiv hasn't figured it out by then, sell it back! There are plenty of aftermarket tunes for the 335 that don't give limp modes...!
Garrett is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2008, 10:41 PM   #22
Shih
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

Posts: 180
iTrader: (3)

I really think that procede is causing the problem, not the wiring issues. I checked the wires twice and still getting limp mode. (TQ setting 90%)

Now, I am running TQ 80%, and the boost goes even higher than before but no more limp mode.
Shih is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST