E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Limp Limp Limp



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-27-2008, 05:26 PM   #67
Graphite Shark
IT geek
Graphite Shark's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA / Culver City, CA

iTrader: (0)

Allow me to add nothing to this thread as well.

Mine and several others i've either helped with or done all run fine. I'm sure there are other reasons- their are so many little mistakes you can make during the install- you really need to pay attention and triple check everything and for fuck sake, please use shrinkwrap and not electrical tape, people.

Assuming the install was done correctly, have you considered switching gas stations (and brands)?
__________________
07 E93 335i Sparkling Graphite RB Turbos, Procede V5, Spearco FMIC, BMS DCI, Forge DV/yellow springs, AR Catted DP's & open mid pipes

2011 E89 Z4 sDrive 35is Metalic black/black
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2008, 05:52 PM   #68
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenmaster View Post
Could this happen if the car was still adapting back to stock?
Hypothetically, but not likely.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2008, 05:54 PM   #69
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
(unplug and plug every single one) and used the bypass. The car went limp with 3rd gear around 5k rpm.
Again, and just to clarify, you experienced limp mode after and while the bypass plugs were installed?
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2008, 10:14 PM   #70
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
Again, and just to clarify, you experienced limp mode after and while the bypass plugs were installed?
I have the car running 3 days w/o limp mode (only llimp when go over 6.7k rpm and shift for next gear - only happened with 3rd gear, no road for 4th). After 3 days, the car just go limp all the time whenever the paddle is pushed over half way down for few secs.

I checked the wires for many times include 2 times reinstallation. Now, the car go limp with bypass installed too at 3 gear around 5k rpm. (my car goes limp both with and w/o bypass)
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 02:50 AM   #71
sambonator
Samtaro!
sambonator's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
2,549
Posts

 
Drives: a car
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Milky Way Galaxy

iTrader: (6)

What code are you getting with the code reader?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 08:12 AM   #72
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Now, the car go limp with bypass installed too at 3 gear around 5k rpm. (my car goes limp both with and w/o bypass)
Have you tried removing the harness completely? That would certainly be the next step.
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 08:43 AM   #73
Garrett
Banned
16
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fraggy View Post
Why the fuck should I be banned? Because I dont wanna have a shit load of issues with my car when I purchase super expensive software? I shouldnt have to worry about which brand of gas is in the tank, what altitude im at ect. What if I wanna travel, my car should fine EVERYWHERE and on ANY brand of gas. To limit myself for a few ponys is stupid as far as Im concerned.

Imagine the embarrassment of having my car go limp as I drive a girl up the mountains to the cabin.

I got nothing against shiv except that I have no faith buying his product as I cant afford to have ANY issues, not even for a week or two. My car has to work flawlessly always!
+5


Thats what Eugene hs been saying along along... (me too). I always get knocked down for questioning Shiv's motive or direction. I guess that is too much for some people and rather than refuting it, the'd choose to have us silenced!

Now that the Attache' is comming to the market, Shiv cannot afford to be so deaf to those demanding a solid, flawless tune before he releases another version. Many feel he caters to the limited populace of the dragracers (95+ octane, Time slip, DP, LSD, etc) too much. Or, perhaps thats the direction he is headed..?
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 11:19 AM   #74
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sambonator View Post
What code are you getting with the code reader?
I can not see any code from my C reader.
I can not connect INPA to my car also. Bad OBD port?
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 11:20 AM   #75
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
Have you tried removing the harness completely? That would certainly be the next step.
You mean, take everything out (with wiring?)
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 11:34 AM   #76
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
You mean, take everything out (with wiring?)
That is correct, remove the entire harness.
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2008, 04:25 PM   #77
OtuaCarGod
22 yeard old and daddy didn't buy me shit...
OtuaCarGod's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
158
Posts

 
Drives: Black on Black 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sin City

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to OtuaCarGod
*potential PROcede buyer subscribed to see the outcome*
__________________
.......................FOR SALE........My Baby's for sale... .............FOR SALE............

DON'T DRIVE FASTER THAN YOUR GUARDIAN ANGEL CAN FLY... I GOT ONE FAST MOTHER F#@KIN ANGEL
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2008, 12:50 PM   #78
Joekerr
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
310
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

I'm interested as well! Potential buyer in spring.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 09:08 AM   #79
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quick update.

I reinstalled the precede unit again yesterday

Still Waiting Dustin to reply my email.

Last edited by Shih; 02-28-2008 at 06:50 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 12:28 PM   #80
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
United_States
10
Rep
428
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Quick update.

I reinstalled the precede unit again yesterday, as well as used electric grease to improve the connection. However, my car still limps.

Any 08 car running procede smoothly?


Still Waiting Dustin to reply my email.
The email you sent 3 minutes before posting this? As mentioned before, if you are having issues even with everything removed, the issue is not the PROcede. I will go into depth a little more via email. Shih, would you mind if we stick to a single form of communication, as it is too difficult to track down what has occurred and what hasn't occurred when we are jumping back and forth between email and the forum. Once we find the resolution, Shih can report back.

And yes, there are plenty of 08 cars running just fine.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 12:31 PM   #81
ArmyBimmerDude
Major General
ArmyBimmerDude's Avatar
United_States
67
Rep
5,504
Posts

 
Drives: Lola
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ArmyBimmerDude Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyBimmerDude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
And yes, there are plenty of 08 cars running just fine.
Plenty of 07 cars too
__________________
2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 12:37 PM   #82
Garrett
Banned
16
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Quick update.

I reinstalled the precede unit again yesterday, as well as used electric grease to improve the connection. However, my car still limps.

Any 08 car running procede smoothly?


Still Waiting Dustin to reply my email.


How many days did you have the harness/piggyback out of the car...? Did you encounter any problems..?
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 12:45 PM   #83
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
United_States
10
Rep
428
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
How many days did you have the harness/piggyback out of the car...? Did you encounter any problems..?
He threw a limp even with the bypass plugs installed. He posted this already, but perhaps, it does bare repeating. I am going to be working with Shih to get his issue resolved, and I am sure he will let you know what we come up with.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 04:34 PM   #84
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
He threw a limp even with the bypass plugs installed. He posted this already, but perhaps, it does bare repeating. I am going to be working with Shih to get his issue resolved, and I am sure he will let you know what we come up with.
The procede unit will be removed today, and will post the out come as soon as it is done.
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2008, 08:55 PM   #85
2007_E93
Captain
10
Rep
604
Posts

 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
The procede unit will be removed today, and will post the out come as soon as it is done.
Good luck! I suspect that you crossed or accidentally hooked the wires into the wrong slot in the ECU. Thats the one of the only explainations I could think of. If bypass plugs still cause limp you GOTTA have a wire messed up because the wiring is the same just a bit longer path. Is it grounded well? Are the wires protected well from one another so that they dont cross/short out so to speak?

And for those of you asking above I was the one with Procede and weird rattling around shift points and high boost pressures and found out car needed to RE-ADAPT after placing car into Valet mode for only a few minutes. I let the car adapt again and everything is fine now. No limps, no sounds, just POWER!
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2008, 09:35 AM   #86
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007_E93 View Post
Good luck! I suspect that you crossed or accidentally hooked the wires into the wrong slot in the ECU. That's the one of the only explanations I could think of. If bypass plugs still cause limp you GOTTA have a wire messed up because the wiring is the same just a bit longer path. Is it grounded well? Are the wires protected well from one another so that they dont cross/short out so to speak?

And for those of you asking above I was the one with Proceed and weird rattling around shift points and high boost pressures and found out car needed to RE-ADAPT after placing car into Valet mode for only a few minutes. I let the car adapt again and everything is fine now. No limps, no sounds, just POWER!

Procede was removed yesterday to test out what is the problem.
Unfortunately, my car limped without procede installed for unknown reason. I checked the wires again with cheat sheet, and made sure no wires were plugged into the wrong slot. No luck.



I will post the outcome once it is fixed, and thanks for everyone's suggestion.

Last edited by Shih; 02-28-2008 at 06:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2008, 10:13 AM   #87
Garrett
Banned
16
Rep
1,356
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mich

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shih View Post
Procede was removed yesterday to test out what is the problem.
Unfortunately, my car limped without procede installed for unknown reason. I checked the wires again with cheat sheet, and made sure no wires were plugged into the wrong slot. No luck.

Service are scheduled with local center on Feb 28th.

I will post the outcome once it is fixed, and thanks for everyone's suggestion.


I'm somewhat confused... what wires are all plugged back in?
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2008, 10:18 AM   #88
Shih
Private First Class
2
Rep
180
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
I'm somewhat confused... what wires are all plugged back in?
I am sorry for the confusion. I uninstalled the procede to check if that was my car problem instead of procede.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST