E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Navi making bad decision



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-01-2008, 02:56 AM   #1
jonzilla23
Second Lieutenant
jonzilla23's Avatar
5
Rep
286
Posts

 
Drives: E92 Titanium Silver
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Arcadia, CA

iTrader: (10)

Navi making bad decision

I just got my 2008 335i in January, and I have tested out the navi in LA. When I set my destination for home... it makes me get off a couple exit early one one freeway. On another freeway, it makes me get off an exit later... and there's no traffic. I don't know why??? Maybe it's a faulty navi or the settings on the navi. I put my navi on fastest route. What options do you guys put it on? This is seriously pissing me off... useless navi.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2008, 09:14 AM   #2
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,858
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
i love it when it takes you down a dead end street and tells you to keep going onto a street the doesnt exist... Oops!
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2008, 11:14 AM   #3
Fraggy
Brigadier General
Fraggy's Avatar
United_States
46
Rep
3,328
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 e90
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (11)

Ive noticed the nav works better when YOU dont know where you are going. Most of the time it gets you where you want to go, but if you know your way, it will not always use the same route you would.
__________________
Step--Premium--Sport--Nav--20% Tint--Blacklines--18" Beyern Mesh--Michelin Super Sports--Bastuck Exhaust--M3 Steering Wheel--BMW Performance Springs--Koni--M3 Front/Rear Sways--
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2008, 07:18 PM   #4
Tommy420
peace.love.health.happine ss
Tommy420's Avatar
14
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i e92 Montego/Blk lthr
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fraggy View Post
Ive noticed the nav works better when YOU dont know where you are going. Most of the time it gets you where you want to go, but if you know your way, it will not always use the same route you would.
+1

I only use the Nav when I'm going somewhere and I don't know how to get there...why would you use the nav to get home?
__________________
2008 335i e92 Montego blue/black leather, alum brush trim, MT, ZSP, ZPP, nav, ipod/usb, sirius, alum brush e-brake, alum pedals, 35% Madico

For pics of my ride, go to www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=108628
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2008, 12:56 AM   #5
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
United_States
134
Rep
11,038
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy420 View Post
+1

I only use the Nav when I'm going somewhere and I don't know how to get there...why would you use the nav to get home?
i do... gives me ETA, miles left, etc. plus if i take detours such as stops at the mall or at the gym... its useful. (when i go home from school its like 110 miles)
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2008, 02:48 AM   #6
jonzilla23
Second Lieutenant
jonzilla23's Avatar
5
Rep
286
Posts

 
Drives: E92 Titanium Silver
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Arcadia, CA

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy420 View Post
+1

I only use the Nav when I'm going somewhere and I don't know how to get there...why would you use the nav to get home?
Just to test the stupid navi out... better to test it to some place you know then some place you don't know. It gives me the worst directions possible... if i were to pick a place I didn't know I wouldn't know the difference. If it told me to drive off a cliff i wouldn't know better. lol
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2008, 08:00 PM   #7
rsjames
Private First Class
1
Rep
122
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i Montego Blue
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Orange County, Calif.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy420 View Post
+1

I only use the Nav when I'm going somewhere and I don't know how to get there...why would you use the nav to get home?
Traffic warnings.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2008, 02:09 PM   #8
BMdblU
Brigadier General
Canada
46
Rep
3,850
Posts

 
Drives: with no destination
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 416

iTrader: (2)

I don't like using fastest route, or shortest.. I find with, or without highways to be the best for good directions.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2008, 03:20 PM   #9
dcar335i
Private
dcar335i's Avatar
0
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

I have found that the ETA is off considerably (estimates way to long to get there) after it first calculates the route. Today I took a 3.5 hour trip and it told me it was going to take 4.5 hours! The ETA did not read correctly until half way into the trip.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2008, 04:02 PM   #10
rob72
/dev/random
rob72's Avatar
9
Rep
353
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcar335i View Post
I have found that the ETA is off considerably (estimates way to long to get there) after it first calculates the route. Today I took a 3.5 hour trip and it told me it was going to take 4.5 hours! The ETA did not read correctly until half way into the trip.
So you consistently driving 28-29% above the speed limit?

No seriously, in my experience it is taking a slightly conservative approach and estimating that you will drive on average slightly below the speed limit, to make up for things such as traffic lights and slow traffic. But if most of your journey is motorway with little traffic you will arrive well before the original ETA calculation. But after a bit the system does start to change the estimates.

What annoys be though is that it does not take traffic problems into consideration when calculating the ETA.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST