E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > LED Signal Install Failed - Fault Error Still Shows



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2008, 03:12 PM   #1
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

Question LED Signal Install Failed - Fault Error Still Shows

So, I try installing the LED signal bulbs from Jlevi with the resistors.
They worked, but still caused a fault error - which I can't "live" with.

I take them out, remove the resistors, the connectors taps and put the old bulbs back in - but the bulb out error still shows up.

Checked all my bulbs - all work but bulb out error is still there.

Can anyone assist?
Do I need to reset something?
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 03:18 PM   #2
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
So, I try installing the LED signal bulbs from Jlevi with the resistors.
They worked, but still caused a fault error - which I can't "live" with.

I take them out, remove the resistors, the connectors taps and put the old bulbs back in - but the bulb out error still shows up.

Checked all my bulbs - all work but bulb out error is still there.

Can anyone assist?
Do I need to reset something?
What's the fault error? just light on dash? Make sure all your wires are insulated after removing tap.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 03:19 PM   #3
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007_E93 View Post
What's the fault error? just light on dash? Make sure all your wires are insulated after removing tap.
yeah just on the dash.
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 03:24 PM   #4
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
yeah just on the dash.
Try checking the fuse in fusebox. LED are CURRENT driven. May have pulled too much current despite resistor and blown fuse.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 03:27 PM   #5
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007_E93 View Post
Try checking the fuse in fusebox. LED are CURRENT driven. May have pulled too much current despite resistor and blown fuse.
coolness. i'll check that too.
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 04:18 PM   #6
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

fuse is good.
still getting error.
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 06:54 PM   #7
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
fuse is good.
still getting error.
I'm not sure which mod you tried, so maybe it would help if you described the light error you are getting (maybe xerox a pic of it from owner's manual or take a pic). Not sure I know what more to help with at this point but will try.

May need dealer to check it out.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 07:15 PM   #8
Netcub
Private
 
Drives: 2008 AW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kentucky

Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

I think i read somewhere if you disconnect the battery for 15 minutes or so, sometimes when you start the car back up the errors will go away.
Netcub is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 08:07 PM   #9
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netcub View Post
I think i read somewhere if you disconnect the battery for 15 minutes or so, sometimes when you start the car back up the errors will go away.
You may be correct. I got an error installing my alarm and disconnected battery for only 2 min and it went away.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2008, 11:03 PM   #10
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

yeah, i'm going to have to try the disconnection of the batt and hopefully that'll work.
no bulbs are out. the wires are fine (thinking the taps may have caused it, but they're fine and have been taped up if exposed...)

i'm not going to run into any other problems disconnecting the batt, am i?
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 12:37 AM   #11
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
yeah, i'm going to have to try the disconnection of the batt and hopefully that'll work.
no bulbs are out. the wires are fine (thinking the taps may have caused it, but they're fine and have been taped up if exposed...)

i'm not going to run into any other problems disconnecting the batt, am i?
No. Just disconnect the negative terminal and leave off for about 15-30 min. You will have to resync your cell phone for BT capabilities and redo your radio presets, and clock. Most everything else should remain the same.
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 01:06 AM   #12
Alpine
Major
 
Alpine's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Memphis, TN

Posts: 1,425
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
My advice... don't give up on the LED install. Go over what you did when you installed. You must've crossed a wire wrong. Maybe you had the resistor in the wrong place. Just go over your install and find out what was wrong, then reinstall it. Never give up!!
__________________
Alpine is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 02:30 AM   #13
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007_E93 View Post
No. Just disconnect the negative terminal and leave off for about 15-30 min. You will have to resync your cell phone for BT capabilities and redo your radio presets, and clock. Most everything else should remain the same.
Thanks for your help today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
My advice... don't give up on the LED install. Go over what you did when you installed. You must've crossed a wire wrong. Maybe you had the resistor in the wrong place. Just go over your install and find out what was wrong, then reinstall it. Never give up!!
I didn't want to give up.
It's frustrating.
I've done absolutely everything I could to get it working. But as I told Jlevi, every light LED they've offered, I've bought and it doesn't work out. Not their fault, but probably my car's software, manufacture build, etc...I don't know.

Nice sig BTW...
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 02:38 AM   #14
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
Thanks for your help today.
Did it work?
2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 08:51 AM   #15
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

PROBLEM SOLVED! ! !

Thank you Netcub & 2007_E93

__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 01:41 PM   #16
2007_E93
Captain
 
Drives: ?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ?

Posts: 604
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
PROBLEM SOLVED! ! !

Thank you Netcub & 2007_E93

2007_E93 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2008, 10:32 PM   #17
Alpine
Major
 
Alpine's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Memphis, TN

Posts: 1,425
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Good to hear!! Care to enlighten us on the solution?
__________________
Alpine is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 11:42 AM   #18
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

As suggested earlier, the solution to getting rid of the bulb error was to disconnect the negative terminal of the batt for a few minutes to reset the vehicle.
It seemed to keep the error up despite me putting the old bulbs back in and it didn't know any better.

It makes me think that if I had continued and kept the LEDs (I returned them), that I might have been able to keep them and get rid of the error by doing the disconnection of the battery.

But that's ok, I'm good with regular bulbs for now.
I may return to doing this mod, but again, I'm good.
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 02:02 PM   #19
Netcub
Private
 
Drives: 2008 AW 335i Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kentucky

Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

I learned a bunch of stuff reading these forums while waiting 7 weeks for my car! Glad it helped, I know something like that would be very frustrating for me.
Netcub is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 04:04 PM   #20
Dj Mastergrind
Private
 
Dj Mastergrind's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden

Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 320d  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
As suggested earlier, the solution to getting rid of the bulb error was to disconnect the negative terminal of the batt for a few minutes to reset the vehicle.
It seemed to keep the error up despite me putting the old bulbs back in and it didn't know any better.

It makes me think that if I had continued and kept the LEDs (I returned them), that I might have been able to keep them and get rid of the error by doing the disconnection of the battery.

But that's ok, I'm good with regular bulbs for now.
I may return to doing this mod, but again, I'm good.
Im gonna try that because I changed to led last weekend (with load equalizers from jlewi) and have the bulb error.
Dj Mastergrind is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2008, 05:38 PM   #21
neuronpetkowski
Captain
 
neuronpetkowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Greater Detroit Area

Posts: 719
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Mastergrind View Post
Im gonna try that because I changed to led last weekend (with load equalizers from jlewi) and have the bulb error.
Let me know if it does go away by disconnecting the batt.
If so, I'll do this again.
Jlevi will think I'm nuts, but I can't the stop mods.
__________________
<img src=http://min.us/llSXwa border=0 alt= />
neuronpetkowski is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2008, 09:49 AM   #22
Dj Mastergrind
Private
 
Dj Mastergrind's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 320D
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden

Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 320d  [2.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuronpetkowski View Post
Let me know if it does go away by disconnecting the batt.
If so, I'll do this again.
Jlevi will think I'm nuts, but I can't the stop mods.
Well...I tried disconnecting the battery today but the error message still comes when Im starting the car. In my case I get the bulb error and the first time I use the turn signal it flashes rapidly three times and then it works as it should. Very disturbing.

How long did you disconnect the battery. I had it disconnected for a couple of minutes and had to set the clock again and lightning. But the radio stations and some more functions were still there. Maybe I should disconnect it longer? What do you think?
Dj Mastergrind is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST