E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Got my boost gauge installed and working right...crazy sh*t!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-27-2008, 09:16 AM   #23
Vince@ V K Motorwerks
Lieutenant Colonel
Vince@ V K Motorwerks's Avatar
51
Rep
1,739
Posts

 
Drives: 01 Black 911 Turbo, 09 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bloomingdale, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
What, I got you beat by at least two months and was trying new maps until I got side tracked during and after the holidays. Blame me for not continuing with this sooner as a solution could have already been had.
Hey scalbert,

I was reading over some of your threads and I wanted to say good work, your write ups are very informative. Keep it up.

Vince
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 09:38 AM   #24
XLR8MF
Captain
XLR8MF's Avatar
9
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: 335i sedan 2008
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mesa

iTrader: (6)

Chitown335i I agree with you but at the same time cn555ic has a good point as well. I hope Shiv does come out with something, anything. Maybe a dp map and something to watch boost that works. However, when a few people have problems and something like this is discovered a good company would address it publicly. The private PM's is back handed at best and looks sneaky. He says he is tired of hearing peoples crap well keeping people in the dark will make the natives more upset than before. Communication is key, that's all I am trying to say.

Great post and thanks for the info.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 09:48 AM   #25
hotrod2448
grand poobah
hotrod2448's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
2,015
Posts

 
Drives: E70 X5 SG, F10 535i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Are there any 0-5v inputs available on the procede?

It would be nice to be able just to add a sensor in the manifold and let the Procede monitor boost via that instead of having to add a gauge. Then you could data log it and compare it directly to what the Procede thinks boost is.

Or is the glitch in the actual reader software?
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 09:51 AM   #26
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod2448 View Post
Or is the glitch in the actual reader software?
It is something else, more on that later.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 09:53 AM   #27
uberschnell
Brigadier General
uberschnell's Avatar
No_Country
71
Rep
3,424
Posts

 
Drives: // 135i //, X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (44)

I vote cn55ic calms down.

Dude, do you even own the procede? If so please sell it immediately and move on. The reason shiv is not bothering to post here is probably due in no small part to these "head for the hills" comments.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:22 AM   #28
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (5)

+ 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magna3 View Post
I vote cn55ic calms down.

Dude, do you even own the procede? If so please sell it immediately and move on. The reason shiv is not bothering to post here is probably due in no small part to these "head for the hills" comments.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:26 AM   #29
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,559
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
If someone had a problem with a Dinan flash, would they come here and post a message asking Dinan to help them? I know historically Vishnu has come here to help, maybe that was a bad idea to start that precedence?

Anyway, Chitown335i glad to see you finally have a gauge and are now under control.
I completely agree. I would drive to the dealership immediately and demand warranty service!

Many procede buyers have come to rely on this forum for help and advice concerning their purchase and now Shiv is faced with the problem of "putting the toothpaste back in the tube."
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:27 AM   #30
O-cha
Brigadier General
O-cha's Avatar
81
Rep
4,729
Posts

 
Drives: Mcoupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In front of you

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to O-cha
Quote:
Originally Posted by scalbert View Post
What, I got you beat by at least two months and was trying new maps until I got side tracked during and after the holidays. Blame me for not continuing with this sooner as a solution could have already been had.
I'm talking about that it was not logging boost correctly not that the spiking was occurring.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:29 AM   #31
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by O-cha View Post
I'm talking about that it was not logging boost correctly not that the spiking was occurring.
That was noted as well way back when. But I was more interested in fixing the primary issue.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:32 AM   #32
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,559
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magna3 View Post
I vote cn55ic calms down.

Dude, do you even own the procede? If so please sell it immediately and move on. The reason shiv is not bothering to post here is probably due in no small part to these "head for the hills" comments.
If my memory serves me correctly, cn555ic was one of Shiv's biggest supporters, claiming its superiority in a number "other tunes" threads. I remember him criticizing the Dinan Flash price/power several times.

Sell it before Helix is released.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:43 AM   #33
michsu
Second Lieutenant
michsu's Avatar
4
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i e90
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

down with Procede!!.. I tried asking people for help on this forum (just to tweak my Procede settings) and my post gets moved somewhere else.. while someone who is trying to install their DPs, their message can still stay on this forum.. My question was for SOMEONE to help me tweak the PROCEDE settings.. so I'm going to go against Procede now.. just because I haven't received help from anyone here and also no help from Vishnu themselves.. I have sent emails too to them asking for help.....

I am just asking someone to help me tweak my settings from 90% default.. is that so hard to do?? just a 5 minute thing and I can drive by too.. I just don't have a laptop at the moment to use.. and I don't want to get one just for that reason.. I have downloaded the software and read about it, and also saw what Shiv did that day when he installed it... .. the next one I will be turning to would be JB2 then.. this is ridiculous..

and what's up with the exhaust drone? Don't get the Vishnu exhaust, this is stupid.. It is so loud you can't even hear the music.. I have to turn it up high just to cancel out the drone.. mainly the drone comes at below 2.5k.. but in LA, you really can't go all that high due to the traffic.. so I hear a "constant" drone all the time.. I can accelerate past that, but only for a while..
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:49 AM   #34
munters
Captain
munters's Avatar
8
Rep
675
Posts

 
Drives: E91 335XI AT Dakota Black M
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michsu View Post
down with Procede!!.. I tried asking people for help on this forum (just to tweak my Procede settings) and my post gets moved somewhere else.. while someone who is trying to install their DPs, their message can still stay on this forum.. My question was for SOMEONE to help me tweak the PROCEDE settings.. so I'm going to go against Procede now.. just because I haven't received help from anyone here and also no help from Vishnu themselves.. I have sent emails too to them asking for help.....

I am just asking someone to help me tweak my settings from 90% default.. is that so hard to do?? just a 5 minute thing and I can drive by too.. I just don't have a laptop at the moment to use.. and I don't want to get one just for that reason.. I have downloaded the software and read about it, and also saw what Shiv did that day when he installed it... .. the next one I will be turning to would be JB2 then.. this is ridiculous..

The how to tweek was clearly desribed in a post from Shiv.
If you mean the user Tq settings. What are you asking for? Uups didn't dee your edit. So no laptop... take your desktop down :-) (another forum member did this as well.)
__________________
59 Corvette, 72 240Z, 73 Espada, ZXR
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:49 AM   #35
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michsu View Post
I have downloaded the software and read about it, and also saw what Shiv did that day when he installed it... .. the next one I will be turning to would be JB2 then.. this is ridiculous..
To be fair, you should have the tools if you purchase the components. And here is a hint, there is nothing to really tune with the JB2. Sure, you can add the H pull (or two) but there is no tuning involved. It sounds like you are just screaming to be heard, nothing more.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:54 AM   #36
Ruff Rider
"posting from my recliner"
Ruff Rider's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
7,241
Posts

 
Drives: twin turbo Prius
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Where the air is thin

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to Ruff Rider
I don't know what some people have done to piss off Shiv and company. Any time I have any issues I just go to their web site and use Tech Support Contact. I get either a phone call or e-mail in the same day or next day.

I guess those that bitch the most get the least.
__________________

Ping Golf Club demo tech
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:55 AM   #37
michsu
Second Lieutenant
michsu's Avatar
4
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i e90
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

no, actually I just wanted someone to help.. that's all.. what I ask is not how to use the software.. just someone to help me tweak the Procede.. I have sent a nice email asking for help to Vishnu (Dustin, Ali and Shiv).. well, if you by someone's product and it doesn't work right, you would want help too? Shiv told me I didn't need anything because he was going to do the install that day in LA.. but you can't just change the procede settings to 92% or whatever at the start... Also, there are many people who have Procede in Southern California, and they have laptops too.. It is just that people aren't willing to help out..

and yes, I am looking at the JB2 just for that reason.. did you happen to see how long ago my post was to ask for help?.. and it got moved from this forum too, although it was related to Procede.. and RuffRider, I am not "bitching" about anything.. I just want someone to help me out..
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 10:58 AM   #38
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michsu View Post
no, actually I just wanted someone to help.. that's all.. what I ask is not how to use the software..
If there is no one local that can or is willing to help, there is no recourse except to help yourself. Get a cheap laptop, read the instructions and become all that wiser.

Also, install a boost gauge.

If still unable to or unwilling to help yourself, go to a local speed shop. They will be glad to help, and take your money.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:04 AM   #39
michsu
Second Lieutenant
michsu's Avatar
4
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i e90
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

do you know how much they would charge? probably 1 hours' worth I guess.. haha, yes I did read the instructions.. I can change the settings at work (just the torque values setting under the menu).. Also, I was saying in another post, would setting all the numbers to one value seem bad?.. wouldn't a "custom" setting for each value be better? Also, having more values would be good too, I see some people are having problems in-between the numbers in the Procede Software..
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:05 AM   #40
ontopofm
Lieutenant Colonel
28
Rep
1,548
Posts

 
Drives: stock
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (4)

I'll Help You If You Drive Down To Garden Grove
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:13 AM   #41
Vince@ V K Motorwerks
Lieutenant Colonel
Vince@ V K Motorwerks's Avatar
51
Rep
1,739
Posts

 
Drives: 01 Black 911 Turbo, 09 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bloomingdale, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michsu View Post
down with Procede!!.. I tried asking people for help on this forum (just to tweak my Procede settings) and my post gets moved somewhere else.. while someone who is trying to install their DPs, their message can still stay on this forum.. My question was for SOMEONE to help me tweak the PROCEDE settings.. so I'm going to go against Procede now.. just because I haven't received help from anyone here and also no help from Vishnu themselves.. I have sent emails too to them asking for help.....

I am just asking someone to help me tweak my settings from 90% default.. is that so hard to do?? just a 5 minute thing and I can drive by too.. I just don't have a laptop at the moment to use.. and I don't want to get one just for that reason.. I have downloaded the software and read about it, and also saw what Shiv did that day when he installed it... .. the next one I will be turning to would be JB2 then.. this is ridiculous..

and what's up with the exhaust drone? Don't get the Vishnu exhaust, this is stupid.. It is so loud you can't even hear the music.. I have to turn it up high just to cancel out the drone.. mainly the drone comes at below 2.5k.. but in LA, you really can't go all that high due to the traffic.. so I hear a "constant" drone all the time.. I can accelerate past that, but only for a while..
Bro are you serious? You spent all this money and cant invest $300 more for a used thinkpad? Anyways, as this thread states, get a boost gauge first. You dont just have the V2 you have dp's and other mods which will alter your boost. Once you have a boost guage then you can dial in the right tq settings and see what happens. Also if you dont have a laptop how did you get the firmware and map loaded?

In regards to the exhaust. You have DP's that in itself will make your exhaust much louder then stock. I have dp's with stock exaust and I notice that my car is louder then some of the guys with exhaust. Even with JB2, if your running JB2HHr or even JB2Hr I would recommend a gauge. Terry will probably tell you the same thing since I new some people with the Juice box and were advised by him. Even though his tune require to ECU to adjust the air fuel and timing itself the variables going into the ecu from the Juice box are going to be altered. Therefore, the car has really no idea how much boost is really running. Basically V2 and Juice box is "tricking" the Ecu into thinking that insufficent boost is being supplied therefore the ECU will bring up the boost. However, Like with me, my car was was actually showing boost above 15psi at the top of 3rd gear. That can cause damage to your engine. So once again it is impairative that you get a boost gauge and then worry about how your going to set the tq settings. If you dont like your exhaust sounding like that sell it on ebay or get high flow dp's.

Hope that was informative bro. Good Luck
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:20 AM   #42
michsu
Second Lieutenant
michsu's Avatar
4
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i e90
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

where at? you can send me a PM on that, thanks =) Actually, I drove to Westminister to meet Shiv (with a few other guys) that day he came down.. so that is around the same place.. thank you..

thanks for the info, Chitown335i.. thought you were against Procede now, haha.. well, yes, I did hear a much bigger sound now that the downpipes (they are high-flow) and the exhaust have been changed.. sort of a loud rumbling.. my dad came by one day and even referred to it as a "tank" and should get the car checked.. he said other BMWs (and other cars) don't make that much of a sound.. do you think by leaving it at 90% I would be safe of the boost spikes that you have? Seems like people are moving it near the "limit" of what they usually can do (92% on 91 octane, 94% on 93).. so of course, you might be hitting over the 15psi if you have any kind of a spike.. but you do get to max out your hp and torque though.. you said by turning down to 80%, you get 13-14.5psi (that is supposedly at the 90% setting).. that means we can't really go over, say 85% then safely with all the other mods factored in?? but I'll try to get a boost guage like you said.. hopefully there is a digital one.. that would be nice..

Last edited by michsu; 02-27-2008 at 11:55 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:34 AM   #43
PAKMAN
Lieutenant General
PAKMAN's Avatar
North Korea
189
Rep
16,123
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA

iTrader: (34)

Garage List
2011 BMW E92 M3  [4.75]
2006 e90 330i  [2.75]
:PICS
__________________
stock car
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2008, 11:53 AM   #44
Vince@ V K Motorwerks
Lieutenant Colonel
Vince@ V K Motorwerks's Avatar
51
Rep
1,739
Posts

 
Drives: 01 Black 911 Turbo, 09 X5
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bloomingdale, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michsu View Post
where at? you can send me a PM on that, thanks =) Actually, I drove to Westminister to meet Shiv (with a few other guys) that day he came down.. so that is around the same place.. thank you..

thanks for the info, Chitown335i.. thought you were against Procede now, haha.. well, yes, I did hear a much bigger sound now that the downpipes (they are high-flow) and the exhaust have been changed.. sort of a loud rumbling.. my dad came by one day and even referred to it as a "tank" and should get the car checked.. he said other BMWs (and other cars) don't make that much of a sound.. do you think by leaving it at 90% I would be safe of the boost spikes that you have? Seems like people are moving it near the "limit" of what they usually can do (92% on 91 octane, 94% on 93).. so of course, you might be hitting over the 15psi if you have any kind of a spike.. but you do get to max out your hp and torque though.. you said by turning down to 80%, you get 13-14.5psi (that is supposedly at the 90% setting).. that means we can't really go over, say 85% then safely with all the other mods factored in??
Shiv is in Cali, Im in chicago. We have a "real" winter, you know the good stuff, snow, sleet, hail, freezing rain, and temps that will make you wish you were in Cali! LOL. Seriously though, the temps out here have been below freezing. So with the cold dense air the car is running with higher boost, Almost like you have NOS beeing sprayed all the time! the only thing that sucks is you cant really floor it, because you will just sit there and spin your tires. When it gets warmer 40 F or above you will have to raise the tq settings to compensate. However, if you want the most performance, Put in 100 oct raise everything to 100% and get your boogy on!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST