E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > jb4 help...



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-27-2015, 07:18 AM   #1
Dave2013
Private First Class
3
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

jb4 help...

I had it installed and have been using map 2 for a few days.

I was on the motorway last night and loaded it from 2,000rpm in 5th slow enough to not have the kick down come in....really slow spool pick up and then the engine mangement light came on and it reverted to map 4 (safety issue) on its own.

Plugged in the laptop and the only 2 code faults it has were to do with the decat pipes.....(which I thought the JB4 was okay with?!)

Codes: 29F4 catless downpipes detected and 29F5 catless downpipes detected.

Reset the codes and the lights gone off. Any ideas?

Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 08:23 AM   #2
djgandy
Major
18
Rep
1,366
Posts

Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Not completely sure as I don't have DPs, but two things I remember reading are that you have to have auto clear on with DP's or have some O2 sensor hack.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 09:02 AM   #3
windymissile
Captain
17
Rep
894
Posts

Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Knock detection.
Disable auto clear and try to recreate the fault. I wouldn't worry too much about it.
Have you changed fuels recently?

WM
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 10:28 AM   #4
Dave2013
Private First Class
3
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Is that what its doing, that might explain why it went to the 'safe' map. I dont think I have auto clear on.

Does that mean I either A. Cant run map 2 and boost from 5th or B. Need to fix something to stop knock?

Do people tend to run map 1, 2 or 5? I found map 2 gave me the best results on the Dyno.

Oh and 1 last point....the JB4 USB cable isnt log enough to rest the laptop on the passenger seat for logging...frustrating!

Not filled up since having it fitted.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 11:36 AM   #5
windymissile
Captain
17
Rep
894
Posts

Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It's probably still adjusting.
Best thing to do is give it 3 good, full pulls in 3rd with all aids off. In map 5.
The power is addictive but it's a can o' worms. Expect boost leaks.
I got a otg cable and use the app on my phone for logging. It's 100% easier.

The jb4 is really sensetive to timing pulls. This is a good thing as it saves you putting pistons on the moon.

Not really aplicapable in a high gear pull but just so you are aware. The JB4 will see dct intervention as 'knock' too. And give you map 4 if there is too much of it. So best to have all aids off while logging. Just go real steady as the rear will soon try to overtake the front.

WM
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 11:53 AM   #6
Dave2013
Private First Class
3
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Thanks mate, will do some logging in map 5 over the weekend.

Where did you pick up the OTG cable from?
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 12:34 PM   #7
AWSAWS
Captain
AWSAWS's Avatar
12
Rep
651
Posts

Drives: E92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Derbyshire

iTrader: (0)

Yes not having 1/3 - autoclear on will cause down pipes to throw a code.
A 5th gear pull from 2000 is also probably quite stressful on the car and might cause a protective safety measure.

You really need to log to see numbers and investigate.

I shift my passenger seat as far forward as it will go and place the laptop sideways on the seat. Adjust the back of the chair to tilt back so the window is obstructed.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 12:47 PM   #8
AWSAWS
Captain
AWSAWS's Avatar
12
Rep
651
Posts

Drives: E92 335i MSport DCT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Derbyshire

iTrader: (0)

No codes it's probably just down pipes being detected.
I think I have heard of protection if boost is high for a long time as well.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 01:59 PM   #9
windymissile
Captain
17
Rep
894
Posts

Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave2013 View Post
Thanks mate, will do some logging in map 5 over the weekend.

Where did you pick up the OTG cable from?
Maplin. Dearer than most but it works from the box with no issues whatsoever. A lot of the cheap EBay ones have issues.

WM
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2015, 02:08 PM   #10
windymissile
Captain
17
Rep
894
Posts

Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWSAWS View Post
*Yes not having 1/3 - autoclear on will cause down pipes to throw a code.
*A 5th gear pull from 2000 is also probably quite stressful on the car and might cause a protective safety measure.

*You really need to log to see numbers and investigate.
Correct but just a couple of points.

*Will never throw a map 4 safety pull though. Only a "half engine" light.

*Only if it can't reach boost (will leave an underboost code). Or there is a timing pull. The JB4 works on octane based tuning as its the safest way to tune. So any anomalies in fuel could cause minor issues.

*Yup. If you can recreate the fault while logging you will nail it. Don't hold your breath.

Run some good logs and send to Terry for investigation. In the meantime get out there and waste some tyres.

WM
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2015, 09:55 AM   #11
JP.Williams
Second Lieutenant
JP.Williams's Avatar
United Kingdom
2
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: 335i Convertible
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kent - UK

iTrader: (2)

What fuel are you running? Map 2 will need higher octane fuel. 97Ron+
__________________
LeMans Blue E93 335i - Koni Yellow - H&R Springs - JB4 G5 - BMS DCI - VRSF Downpipes - Retrofit CIC
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2015, 05:01 AM   #12
Dave2013
Private First Class
3
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Midlands

iTrader: (0)

its not doing it in map 2, its doing it in map 5.

anytime i load it up it throws the cat code, engine management light comes on and it puts it back to map 4.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST