E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Homelink Garage Door Opener Installation Guide



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-20-2011, 09:13 PM   #67
z4nhy3uz
Private
 
Drives: 335I
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cali

Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)

added this to my brother E93 and work like a charm with Marantec M.The angle has to be between the windshield and the rear view mirror. I tried several other location but no luck.
z4nhy3uz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2011, 11:56 AM   #68
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
HELP

my opener doesnt have a learn button

It uses individual dip switches up or down on the receiver. The switches will push up or down with your finger. there are also dip switches on the remote to match the switch placement inside the receiver.

my acura rdx had no issues..took 3 minutes

this is an Allister type IIa system...pretty old

any ideas?

.

Last edited by ska///235i; 06-19-2011 at 10:24 PM.
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-19-2011, 12:22 PM   #69
DLE
Second Lieutenant
 
DLE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 328XI
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis

Posts: 283
iTrader: (0)

Great thread, finally found the method to make this work with my garage. The car manual sucked.
DLE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2011, 09:47 AM   #70
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
HELP

my opener doesnt have a learn button

It uses individual dip switches up or down on the receiver. The switches will push up or down with your finger. there are also dip switches on the remote to match the switch placement inside the receiver.

my acura rdx had no issues..took 3 minutes

this is an Allister type IIa system...pretty old

any ideas?

.
According to this you are correct,

http://www.ehow.com/how_8464643_repr...-type-iia.html

I suggest you replace the old thing with a more compatable model.

Additional info, http://homeappliance.manualsonline.c...dThread/853663
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 07:40 AM   #71
Gerald Fabricatore
New Member
 
Drives: 2010 328i Tasman Green
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Florida

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjnptel1 View Post
great thread, now if we can figure out how to keep it live even when the car is turned off would be great.
You do not want it to work when the car is off. If it did then anybody can break into your car and gain access to your house. Bad enough to have the car broken into but worse when they get into your house.
Gerald Fabricatore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 11:23 AM   #72
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
According to this you are correct,

http://www.ehow.com/how_8464643_repr...-type-iia.html

I suggest you replace the old thing with a more compatable model.

Additional info, http://homeappliance.manualsonline.c...dThread/853663

can you explain why my wife's acura which also uses homelink and we were able to program her car in less than 3 minutes
__________________
" Hey, your m235i is not a true M car"..."No shit, its a M Performance doe"
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2011, 12:33 PM   #73
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
can you explain why my wife's acura which also uses homelink and we were able to program her car in less than 3 minutes
I believe the difference is the Acura only needs to learn only the remote which the BMW does as well but the the BMW needs to sink with the main receiver utilizing the rolling code sequence from the motor assemby. For the BMW it is a two step process, the Acura is a single step.

This is explained on page 5 of the instructions here,

http://www.eurohomelink.com/PDF-Down...sanleitung.pdf
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-17-2011, 09:37 PM   #74
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
thanks for your research but you're just referring info you google.....my next post will help others with same problem i had

Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
I believe the difference is the Acura only needs to learn only the remote which the BMW does as well but the the BMW needs to sink with the main receiver utilizing the rolling code sequence from the motor assemby. For the BMW it is a two step process, the Acura is a single step.

This is explained on page 5 of the instructions here,

http://www.eurohomelink.com/PDF-Down...sanleitung.pdf
__________________
" Hey, your m235i is not a true M car"..."No shit, its a M Performance doe"

Last edited by ska///235i; 09-17-2011 at 09:48 PM.
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-17-2011, 09:45 PM   #75
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
if anyone has the opener that doesnt have a learn button but uses individual dip switches up or down on the receiver. The switches will push up or down with your finger. there are also dip switches on the remote to match the switch placement inside......YOU CAN get your homelink to work

first thing you'll need to do is make sure you have a new battery in your remote (this is a must do)

then hold the two outer buttons on the mirror to reset

now choose the button you want to program and hold it and then hold the button on your remote....place the remote on the driver side, one inch away between the windshield and the mirror

you should see the light blink slowly but then changes to blink rapidly...you're done
__________________
" Hey, your m235i is not a true M car"..."No shit, its a M Performance doe"

Last edited by ska///235i; 09-18-2011 at 12:08 PM.
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2011, 10:31 AM   #76
matrix76
Major
 
matrix76's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E90 328i xDrive Ex/Ps
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The West Coast, BC

Posts: 1,300
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
if anyone has the opener that doesnt have a learn button but uses individual dip switches up or down on the receiver. The switches will push up or down with your finger. there are also dip switches on the remote to match the switch placement inside......YOU CAN get your homelink to work

first thing you'll need to do is make sure you have a new battery on your remote (this is a must do)

then hold the two outer buttons on the mirror to reset

now choose the button you want to program and hold it and then hold the button on your remote....place the remote on the driver side, one inch away between the windshield and the mirror

you should see the light blink slowly but then changes to blink rapidly...you're done
Even the units that have a "learn button" have the dip switches, they simply set the frequency you want to use. The issue is not just learning the remote, which is easy, but learning the tansmitter from the over head unit itself, it needs to know the manufacturer of the unit before it will work. That is what is missing, the BMW, as indicated in the manual, has to learn the main unit as well as the remote. Two steps, you are simply talking about just one of them, the remote.
__________________
Brian
Black Sapphire, Black w/Burrwood Trim & Shifter, 162's, Mtec H8 AE's, DS1 HID 6000K

matrix76 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2011, 11:46 AM   #77
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
thats why i posted the instructions for those that doesnt have the learn button in the unit....homelink just learns the remote

i got mines to work, so i have first hand experience. i think the main reason i couldnt get it to work before is cuz of the battery in the remote, it needs enough power to transmit the frequency so you must change to a new battery if the bat is old. i did the programming away from home (at work) so this proves that mines only program thru the remote.

like i stated before that our acura rdx was able to program but the bmw couldnt....to me that didnt make any sense so i have tried everything on the net



Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix76 View Post
Even the units that have a "learn button" have the dip switches, they simply set the frequency you want to use. The issue is not just learning the remote, which is easy, but learning the tansmitter from the over head unit itself, it needs to know the manufacturer of the unit before it will work. That is what is missing, the BMW, as indicated in the manual, has to learn the main unit as well as the remote. Two steps, you are simply talking about just one of them, the remote.
__________________
" Hey, your m235i is not a true M car"..."No shit, its a M Performance doe"

Last edited by ska///235i; 09-18-2011 at 12:07 PM.
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2011, 06:08 PM   #78
Gerald Fabricatore
New Member
 
Drives: 2010 328i Tasman Green
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Florida

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkc415 View Post
Will this work on front gates? I have a front gate opener but I couldn't find the learn button from the front gate
You will only need to do the "learn" step with rolling code openers. Your front gate probably does not use rolling codes. Once you program the remote to your car's homelink you are done.
Gerald Fabricatore is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 10:14 PM   #79
LKNGOOD
Private
 
LKNGOOD's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i w/6sp manual.
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wylie, TX

Posts: 91
iTrader: (2)

Bringing back the dead - Homelink setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by LKNGOOD View Post
This is AWESOME - I spent 20 minutes last night with no luck. I knew I would find the answers here.

Just did it - took me 3 minutes flat.

As soon as I moved the remote behind the rear view mirror - I found the sweet spot. After that I just followed the rest of the instructions - I'm good to go

Thanks,
Mike
Well somehow after setting up another car to our garage door, the settings on my 335i stopped working. I did a quick google search and this thread came up.

Guess what - I remember this post because I replied back to this a few years ago.

Note to self, for me the "Sweet Spot" is behind the rear view mirror on the right side (opposite side of the three buttons. If you look behind the rear view mirror, you'll see a small square plastic window on the passenger side, that's where I aimed the garage door opener remote).

This way if I ever need to do this again and somehow forget how to, the instructions will always be here. Maybe I'll make a short video of what to do since it will only take 2-3 minutes to complete
LKNGOOD is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 10:29 PM   #80
ska///235i
***** noob
 
ska///235i's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 8,417
iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
or you could change to a new battery on your device, this will make any spot the sweet spot

Quote:
Originally Posted by LKNGOOD View Post
Well somehow after setting up another car to our garage door, the settings on my 335i stopped working. I did a quick google search and this thread came up.

Guess what - I remember this post because I replied back to this a few years ago.

Note to self, for me the "Sweet Spot" is behind the rear view mirror on the right side (opposite side of the three buttons. If you look behind the rear view mirror, you'll see a small square plastic window on the passenger side, that's where I aimed the garage door opener remote).

This way if I ever need to do this again and somehow forget how to, the instructions will always be here. Maybe I'll make a short video of what to do since it will only take 2-3 minutes to complete
__________________
" Hey, your m235i is not a true M car"..."No shit, its a M Performance doe"
ska///235i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2012, 07:38 PM   #81
letsgopadres
New Member
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Long Beach

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Got my e93 used and without the correct manual. These instructions worked on the first try! Thanks!
letsgopadres is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2012, 06:08 PM   #82
Glopez5
First Lieutenant
 
Glopez5's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 321
iTrader: (1)

excellent, this worked for my e92 335i, this is just what i needed since I bought the car used and it didn't come w/ a manual.
Glopez5 is offline   Honduras
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2012, 12:49 AM   #83
jerrys
New Member
 
Drives: bmw se
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: us

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for your detailed steps.It works for E93. The angle must be between the windshield plus the rear view mirror monitor.
__________________
jerrys is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2012, 01:39 PM   #84
Toyo
Major
 
Toyo's Avatar
 
Drives: 335d Titanium Silver LCI E90
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fayetteville GA

Posts: 1,267
iTrader: (0)

Thanks!
Toyo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2012, 04:59 PM   #85
Oggie335i
New Member
 
Oggie335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Saskatoon

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Thanks a lot for this, did it last night and worked first try.
Oggie335i is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2012, 12:37 AM   #86
ketchupfreak
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 535i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ska325xi View Post
place the remote on the driver side, one inch away between the windshield and the mirror
This man knows what he's talking about! Thank you!!!!
ketchupfreak is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2012, 01:32 AM   #87
07e92
Private
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N CAL

Posts: 85
iTrader: (3)

it works for me too after reading this thread and realizing that I need to do 5,6,7,8 to make the link completed. Big thanks!!
07e92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2012, 01:16 PM   #88
n2djazz
Private
 
n2djazz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 135i Coupe (T. Silver)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia

Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)

This is for Chamberlain garage door openers. Had to have my remote touching car mirror to get Homelink to remember remote code. Once LED flashed, indicating car had learned remote code, pressed the LEARN button on garage door opener and pressed associated button on Homelink and door opener responded. I can now open both garage doors...only took me 3yrs to find this link and figure it out.
n2djazz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST