E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > No messages stored in the ECU using the new AA Active Processor



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-01-2008, 06:56 AM   #1
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
98
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

No messages stored in the ECU using the new AA Active Processor

Hi,

I connected my car with the AA Active Processor installed to the BMW service computer. No codes/messages have been stored, the unit is invisible. I never got a CEL or limp mode.

IMO this is nice to know .

Cheers,
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 07:18 AM   #2
KWA VaTech
Private First Class
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 350Z
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

Can't think of a single way the AA could be traced?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 07:22 AM   #3
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,560
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Interesting, thanks for the info. So are you saying it is invisible as long as your don't go into limp mode or throw a CEL? Did you review the ECU readout?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 07:23 AM   #4
MIB335
New Member
France
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E92 335i monaco blue
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Eugen, do you mean AA AP is invisible when other piggybacks may be detected ?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 07:37 AM   #5
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
98
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbles View Post
Interesting, thanks for the info. So are you saying it is invisible as long as your don't go into limp mode or throw a CEL? Did you review the ECU readout?
Yes
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 07:40 AM   #6
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
98
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIB335 View Post
Eugen, do you mean AA AP is invisible when other piggybacks may be detected ?
PROcede V1 has been detectable even when the unit was working without problems ( by drawing too much current when the car is shut off ). V2 solved this. Not every occurrence of a problem causes the car to make new entries AND throwing a CEL. You never know. The AA Active Processor works as it should be. No entries, no CEL, no limp.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 09:09 AM   #7
MIB335
New Member
France
0
Rep
26
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E92 335i monaco blue
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

So the AA active processor is just like the others when there's no trouble.

However it's interesting to know the new AA tune is well born. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 09:09 AM   #8
doba_s
Major General
doba_s's Avatar
United_States
150
Rep
6,099
Posts

 
Drives: M3, 1M
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (26)

Send a message via Skype™ to doba_s
so it is safe to bring your car for service with it on it?
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 09:17 AM   #9
KWA VaTech
Private First Class
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 350Z
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doba_s View Post
so it is safe to bring your car for service with it on it?
Define safe, how would this change anything about going in for service?

Leaving it on comes with a risk of your warranty being denied, has been discussed and should be readily apparent.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 11:08 AM   #10
Bubbles
Brigadier General
Bubbles's Avatar
Cayman Islands
86
Rep
3,560
Posts

 
Drives: Green Bastard
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bishop Bend

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e.n335 View Post
PROcede V1 has been detectable even when the unit was working without problems ( by drawing too much current when the car is shut off ). V2 solved this. Not every occurrence of a problem causes the car to make new entries AND throwing a CEL. You never know. The AA Active Processor works as it should be. No entries, no CEL, no limp.
Eugene, good info for those interested in AA. I am sure everyone appreciates your efforts.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 11:32 AM   #11
BoostedBMW
Moderator
BoostedBMW's Avatar
United_States
82
Rep
6,787
Posts

 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
This is good news. Thanks for keeping us updated.
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 04:46 PM   #12
Flat Out 32
First Lieutenant
Flat Out 32's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
372
Posts

 
Drives: my feet.
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South FL

iTrader: (2)

Someone, probably the best source available around, suggested that bringing the car in for service with the AP could be done as long as the repair has nothing to do with electronics or something that could lead to the ECU itself. He/She also said to keep it installed but in the ON position and with the glove box secured.

I got a CEL for a broken vacuum hose but got it fixed in no time, hopefully this will not come into play.

This thing is goooooood!
__________________

Georgie Vazquez
Mayaguez, PR
R.I.P. 335i, 010 135i here!
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 05:50 PM   #13
eunosracr
Colonel
42
Rep
2,109
Posts

 
Drives: a car
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: here

iTrader: (4)

Nice to know! So glad I went with AA.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2008, 06:13 PM   #14
SV Concepts III
Lieutenant General
262
Rep
17,021
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Duh
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clara

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to SV Concepts III
Quote:
Originally Posted by e.n335 View Post
Hi,

I connected my car with the AA Active Processor installed to the BMW service computer. No codes/messages have been stored, the unit is invisible. I never got a CEL or limp mode.

IMO this is nice to know .

Cheers,
Eugen
Eugen,

That's great news, thanks for confirming!
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2008, 08:39 PM   #15
MarioKart
Lieutenant
MarioKart's Avatar
9
Rep
455
Posts

 
Drives: Black on Black
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ventura, CA

iTrader: (12)

Was the battery unplugged when the install and removal took place? I had 255 codes including removal of foglights, taillights, Golf tee mod.......etc. These are even time stamp everything, too damn smart.
__________________
E90 335iA BLK/BLK 19" IForged Daytona, UR Intake, JB3 2.0, RR DP, AA intercooler, HKS BOV, KW C/O Street Comfort, 424whp
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2008, 08:48 PM   #16
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
98
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarioKart View Post
Was the battery unplugged when the install and removal took place? I had 255 codes including removal of foglights, taillights, Golf tee mod.......etc. These are even time stamp everything, too damn smart.
Yes, had the battery unplugged during installation.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2008, 09:27 PM   #17
Hunter399
Major General
Hunter399's Avatar
111
Rep
7,757
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (30)

nice
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2008, 09:38 PM   #18
SilverBullet
You have absolutely NO IDEA...
SilverBullet's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
239
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i E90
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jerzey Shore

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to SilverBullet Send a message via MSN to SilverBullet
I <3 my processor!!!
__________________
TeeJay
BMW 335i E90: Carbon on Silver on 20"s on Steroids - not me, the car... way,way,way to much 2 list contact info: FibreOptix@comcast.net - tjoconnor@live.com - aim: TJatFibreOptix
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST