E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > I-Drive Navigation Retrofit!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-29-2009, 04:40 PM   #331
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyd335xi View Post
im going to be parting out my totaled 335 e92 soon so if u need the stuff for a navi let me know as i will be taking the navi system out with the dash and hardrive for it
PM sent...
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2009, 04:42 PM   #332
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
4,661
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
PM sent...
what were you looking for?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2009, 04:46 PM   #333
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335iheLLraiseR View Post
what were you looking for?
The MY2009 HD screen and the CIC...
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2009, 04:47 PM   #334
335iheLLraiseR
اوليسيس
335iheLLraiseR's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
4,661
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: sfl

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2007 e92 335  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The MY2009 HD screen and the CIC...
ahh, i just needed a screen. already got the dash. not doing an idrive retrofit, but i need that housing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Anyone who can transition seamlessly from defending one vendor and bashing another vendor to bashing the one he formally defended and defending the one he formally bashed has a instant credibility problem.
<---Sign up Now for Bonus Storage! Up to 10gb!
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 01:47 AM   #335
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3sparky View Post
thanks booster for making my dash changeout alot easier with you diy. i owe you!!!!
No problem.... the dash changeout was a lot easier than I expected.. (compared to the nightmare of removing one on a Grand Cherokee!!) Glad it helped 'ya..
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2009, 01:06 AM   #336
gqmd
Chemo Doc
United_States
5
Rep
468
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maryland/DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank2808 View Post
Amazing project!! I'd like to add that if the people are finding the software portion of the retrofit daunting you might want to try swapping the hardware and using a carputer to operate the screen. Just a thought.
But I was under the impression that the OEM Navi screen cannot handle VGA resolution, only RGB.
__________________
jet black 335i, 6MT manual, black interior with silver aluminum trim, PP, SP.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2009, 11:40 AM   #337
Omar717s
New Member
Omar717s's Avatar
Egypt
2
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 e90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Alexandria

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to Omar717s
sorry guys,, am still nagging about installing an IDrive.. my 2010 E90 has everything but an idrive it also got the 2 buttons in the multifunction steertin wheel of the voice commands nd the mobile thingy anyways,, i asked here in bmw dealers they said idrive coasts here around 10,000$ and u have 2 change the whole dashboard nd the console so am askin.. how much is it gonna coast getting a 2010 dash nd idrive,, cuz i also thought abut trading it in. nd it coasts even double the price

Last edited by Omar717s; 09-06-2009 at 12:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2009, 07:46 PM   #338
davidarg
New Member
0
Rep
25
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 325i EXE
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Argentina

iTrader: (0)

guys im new here. I just bought a new 325 i, im from Argentina. Here it comes with idrive, it is called business nav.

It doesnt have nav (gps) and the screen is 6", but it seems the controller is the new one. Anyone can tell me.

Thanks


Here are some pics.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2009, 08:35 PM   #339
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Can you show some pictures of screens shots, please?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2009, 07:19 AM   #340
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

You should be able to swap out the screen and CCC for the one with full maps and it should work, as long as it came from a car with the same spec.
ie, if your car has no audio upgrade make sure the nav comes from one with no audio, if your car has bluetooth, make sure the nav came from a car with bluetooth.

If not you need to code your car to get it all working 100%.
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2009, 03:10 AM   #341
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Flash View Post
You are brillant! BMW needs to hire you.

Anyhow, based on your vast knowledge of the iDrive system, do you think it is possible to splice into the idrive harness for an video input? I want to install a rear camera and was wondering what is the cheapest method of doing this beside from buying a Nav-TV kit.
I don't know about vast, but we are learning as we go... It is possible, and there several different methods - search some of the other theads on this forum. Some of the boxes that splice into the LVDS cable are the cheapest and easiest to install and get going quickly. There are cheapo chinese-type boxes that are similar to Nav2TV and can be had for much less (check ebay.) I'm currently playing with the Dension AVR (although having problems with my box / possible programming issues) - but I like the "seamlessness" of it (assuming I get it working.) This is definitely a topic for another thread tho...
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2009, 05:22 PM   #342
kyd335xi
Private
2
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: alpine white 335xi coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: quincy

iTrader: (0)

i have a single disc cd player with 80gb hard drive and navigation from a 2009 335xi if anyone is intrested hit me up with some offers

screen has been sold to technic
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2009, 09:48 AM   #343
mickever
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i conv
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD

iTrader: (0)

kvd335xi, pls see my pm re possible purchase. Many thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2009, 01:35 PM   #344
mickever
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i conv
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD

iTrader: (0)

On the lookout for an orphan 2009+ hard-drive nav system to retrofit into 2007 (with ancient DVD nav). Would need harness too, as configuration/supplier different. Please contact me with any leads. Many thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2009, 04:17 AM   #345
EZ_TUR90
Ez tur90
EZ_TUR90's Avatar
Armenia
57
Rep
3,112
Posts

 
Drives: E90 & E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (10)

I have a Stupid Question:

My friend as a e93 with navi, would it be as "easy" as switching the entire dash and all components?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2009, 08:07 AM   #346
335i_LeMans_pkgmax
Brigadier General
335i_LeMans_pkgmax's Avatar
30
Rep
3,030
Posts

 
Drives: 09 - 335i Xdrive Sdn
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Booster and all who went through this you guys are amazing!!! I will be looking into this once my warranty expires
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2009, 07:19 PM   #347
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EZ_TUR90 View Post
I have a Stupid Question:

My friend as a e93 with navi, would it be as "easy" as switching the entire dash and all components?
Download and read the PDF of the procedure (post # 307 on the bottom of page 14 of this thread) . . . then decide for yourself..
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2009, 07:06 PM   #348
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

For those considering this retrofit, there is a steal-of-a-deal on this auction!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/06-BM...fAudioQ5fVideo
(don't ask me how they are shipping it for that cheap, either...)
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2010, 07:20 AM   #349
tay
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: many
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

Smile

Cant get the controller to operate all wired ok, as per your guide. All my units came from same donar car. Screen lights up all ok, have audio etc. Programing maybe? Any help would be great as have two cars i am fitting nav too.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2010, 03:05 AM   #350
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tay View Post
Cant get the controller to operate all wired ok, as per your guide. All my units came from same donar car. Screen lights up all ok, have audio etc. Programing maybe? Any help would be great as have two cars i am fitting nav too.
I had that exact problem at one point - turned out one of the fuses was not seated all the way into the socket in the JBE - what are the odds(!) ...and you have no idea how many fuses affect the controller--weird. I'd check all fuses for continuity with a test light and make sure they are all seated BEFORE DOING ANYTHING ELSE. (remember - always start with the basics)
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2010, 03:26 AM   #351
tay
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: many
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

THANKS for that, i will check all fuses.
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2010, 01:36 AM   #352
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

If anyone is considering this, there looks to be a deal on this auction:
(I didn't verify part numbers, but its the whole deal...)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OEM-0...fAudioQ5fVideo
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST