E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > I-Drive Navigation Retrofit!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-05-2010, 02:59 PM   #375
mikko-msport
New Member
mikko-msport's Avatar
England
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/E ENGLAND

iTrader: (0)

Different CID types??

Looks like you have just about everything you need! You will be a few weeks ahead of me so keep us all updated with your progress.
I see you have the al6016 CID as everyone else has - mine is an AL9027. Does anybody know if this is compatible? Anyway, where did you get your wiring loom from? I have been looking for a nav equipped car in a breakers, but as yet I have been unlucky.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2010, 08:48 PM   #376
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

The dash harness isn't really necessary if you find the connectors - the only difference is for the CID and controller..
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2010, 10:18 AM   #377
lesliew
Private
0
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

grimplinyi

From your picture it looks like the CID power and controller harness are intact just follow these and strip them from the harness shown then follow boosters guide for connecting them back into your car.

I don't see the x13812 connector from the back of your CCC which means that you are going to need to make/obtain a cable for the CCC fan. Luckily thats the easiest cable to make anyway.
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit

Last edited by lesliew; 02-06-2010 at 10:23 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2010, 12:54 AM   #378
lesliew
Private
0
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: E92 328i Sports+Premium
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
Hmm...my suggestions would be :

1) Make sure all fuses are installed for CID (I don't have the list in front of me, but there are a few that can keep it from working) You may need a fuse installed in the JBE that you don't currently have in there...

2) Make sure that the harness is properly connected to the CAN bus - if its not, the CID will not turn on

3) Make sure there is no break in the CAN bus in the line to the CID - again, this can keep the CID from turning on

4) Make sure all fuses are SEATED! (back to basics!) - this stumped me for hours when my controller all of a sudden stopped working. Go figure. Push all the fuses in and check them all with a test light.

The coding shouldn't affect it - it should all turn on, but maybe not work perfectly. I tested a ECE CCC and CID and it turned on just fine for me in my US car.

Good luck!
Don't know what I did wrong previously but yesterday I connected everything up again and the CCC/CID/Controller worked first time no reseating of fuses or rechecking of cables were necessary. Of Course this might also mean that I have a bad solder joint somewhere.

All of the major i-drive functions work (mostly). Navigation works, phone works, radio & CD work, Climate control works. Amp works. Service orientated items including oil level all check out. However some minor settings are selectable but don't stick, i.e the menu that allows you to lock the doors when the car moves off and also the Check Control is not selectable, maybe some others that I haven't noticed yet.

Even my USB/iPod interface retrofit works which I'm really pleased about. I have tried a USB stick and the new AUX jack both of these work.

I'm still waiting for my dual hump dash from tischer hopefully it should be here this week.

Over the first bump now, just need to tackle the hurdle of the dreaded change of VO then the FSC.
__________________
2007 328i Coupe Auto | Monaco Blue | Cream Dakota | Premium | Sports | CIC retrofit | 6FL Retrofit | Logic 7 Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2010, 09:27 AM   #379
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesliew View Post
Over the first bump now, just need to tackle the hurdle of the dreaded change of VO then the FSC.
Have no fear - these are what makes it all work!
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2010, 08:15 PM   #380
my07_335i
Second Lieutenant
10
Rep
255
Posts

Drives: 2007 E90 SMG 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
this is absolutely most impressive...would love to see the write up after you are completely done...trolling through 18 pages of comments to see everything is hard
__________________
'07 SGM + DG 335i sedan|Navi|ZPP|Rear PDC|Euphoria 6k LED interior|Matte Black Grills|OEM Blacklines|MTEC A.E's|CF Roundels|Alufelgen 19" CS7 with 15/12mm spacers
If I buy something from you please leave me feedback
My Portfolio
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2010, 11:07 PM   #381
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by my07_335i View Post
this is absolutely most impressive...would love to see the write up after you are completely done...trolling through 18 pages of comments to see everything is hard
My write up is here:
http://home.comcast.net/~Booster/idr...e_retrofit.pdf
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2010, 11:31 AM   #382
grimplinyi
New Member
grimplinyi's Avatar
Hungary
1
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318d E90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: n47

iTrader: (0)

navi

hi!
Yesterday incorporated. All work! New software has been in the car. A black console have yet to be purchased.


Appreciate 0
      02-13-2010, 03:57 PM   #383
mikko-msport
New Member
mikko-msport's Avatar
England
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: N/E ENGLAND

iTrader: (0)

cid

Anyone know the difference between an al6016 and a al9027 CID???
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2010, 04:16 PM   #384
veuve
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: rolla
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MARINA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimplinyi View Post
hi!
Yesterday incorporated. All work! New software has been in the car. A black console have yet to be purchased.
u r the man
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2010, 01:34 PM   #385
grimplinyi
New Member
grimplinyi's Avatar
Hungary
1
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318d E90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: n47

iTrader: (0)

navi

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikko-msport View Post
Anyone know the difference between an al6016 and a al9027 CID???
hi!
I think only the manufacture date, there are exceptions. When produced for you?

Zsolt
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2010, 01:39 PM   #386
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
56
Rep
4,754
Posts

Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

iTrader: (9)

I am curious ... can anybody tell me the dimensions of the BMW navi screen? I just had a crazy idea of replacing it with a Car PC screen, but I am guessing the geometry is different with PC screens.

Also: does anybody know if the top part of the dash is detachable (i.e. if I don't want to replace the centre console, I just want the top part where the LCD goes), or does the ENTIRE dash need to be swapped?
__________________

Last edited by Pseudo Nim; 02-14-2010 at 01:47 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2010, 03:37 PM   #387
piggelin
First Lieutenant
piggelin's Avatar
9
Rep
355
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

iTrader: (0)

8.8" right?
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2010, 03:57 AM   #388
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pseudo Nim View Post

Also: does anybody know if the top part of the dash is detachable (i.e. if I don't want to replace the centre console, I just want the top part where the LCD goes), or does the ENTIRE dash need to be swapped?
I was hoping so also, but the entire dash needs to be replaced. Its not really a hard job, just a little pricey (and scary, at least at first.)
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2010, 05:08 AM   #389
mimiandi
Private First Class
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2009 323i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 323i  [0.00]
W unbelievable... Might try this after few years
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2010, 05:09 AM   #390
mimiandi
Private First Class
2
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2009 323i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 323i  [0.00]
Btw where did u get that trim tool ?
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2010, 05:47 PM   #391
Dennis E92
Registered
Belgium
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: E92 320d
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Stekene

iTrader: (0)

Hi everyone,

I also started to install the I-drive pro. Does anyone know of a CCC of 2006 fits into an E92 320d? The CCC I have comes from an E90 2006 that's probably been one EDC16 car. My car is a EDC17. The Big question is, is the CCC E90 EDC16 compatible with E92 EDC17 a car? Sorry for my bad english

Regards,

Dennis
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2010, 06:37 PM   #392
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
81
Rep
5,231
Posts

Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

All CCC units should transfer between cars no problem, you can even put one from an E60 in if you change the front.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2010, 02:03 AM   #393
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
389
Posts

Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mimiandi View Post
Btw where did u get that trim tool ?
I think I got it from Snap-on or a similar tool source...but they can be had from any quality tool place. And that one has lasted me YEARS...best $6 (or whatever) money I've ever spent. Well worth the damage its saved!
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2010, 11:25 AM   #394
piggelin
First Lieutenant
piggelin's Avatar
9
Rep
355
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

iTrader: (0)

still, how much did u spend? i read almost the whole thread, damn thats alot of work man!

did u have to cut alot of wires?

was the dash hard to change? did you have problems when disconnecting airbags?
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2010, 02:41 PM   #395
grimplinyi
New Member
grimplinyi's Avatar
Hungary
1
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: BMW 318d E90
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: n47

iTrader: (0)

CCC retrofit

Hi Guys!

I made a summary.I was so in the retrofit. Ebay.de bought the parts. The great part. I'm sorry because the other currencies.

I hope you can help this calculation!

regards,

Zsolt

Appreciate 0
      02-20-2010, 03:34 PM   #396
piggelin
First Lieutenant
piggelin's Avatar
9
Rep
355
Posts

Drives: BMW 320i E90 2005
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: -.-

iTrader: (0)

you got everything you need to do the retrofit for 400 euros???? thats cheaper than my stereo man! wtf
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST