E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > I-Drive Navigation Retrofit!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-06-2008, 11:08 AM   #133
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

There is....but you have to change the vehicle order (VO). It defines what the car is equipped with and programs it based on that equipment. If it is modified, progman will go ahead and program the car based on that info. Seems like dealers either aren't comfortable or have the know-how to create a VO, so they put in a Puma request and have HQ do it and send it back to them.

I keep seeing the "Chinese" ops on ebay...but they range from $1200/up... but it would be nice to have my own SSS to screw around with the software myself. Apparently, if you can get a hold of the Ops head (the optical part), you can kind of piece the system together, but it still sounds like a nightmare putting together and making it work.

The business to professional nav retrofit path was created for those of us outside the US that want to do that retrofit. It's weird though, since business nav and the RAD2 radio are M-Ask, that retrofit in itself is a conversion to CCC.

Technic- I'm not sure if the HU's make simultaneous analog/digital output or if they switch back and forth. However, you are right - the programming is what it takes to tell it which amp/system you have and how to work appropriately. In my case, the SSS couldn't even talk to the CCC because it was specifically looking for a RAD2/M-ask system. Weird.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2008, 12:41 PM   #134
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Booster4075 View Post
There is....but you have to change the vehicle order (VO). It defines what the car is equipped with and programs it based on that equipment. If it is modified, progman will go ahead and program the car based on that info. Seems like dealers either aren't comfortable or have the know-how to create a VO, so they put in a Puma request and have HQ do it and send it back to them.

I keep seeing the "Chinese" ops on ebay...but they range from $1200/up... but it would be nice to have my own SSS to screw around with the software myself. Apparently, if you can get a hold of the Ops head (the optical part), you can kind of piece the system together, but it still sounds like a nightmare putting together and making it work.

The business to professional nav retrofit path was created for those of us outside the US that want to do that retrofit. It's weird though, since business nav and the RAD2 radio are M-Ask, that retrofit in itself is a conversion to CCC.

Technic- I'm not sure if the HU's make simultaneous analog/digital output or if they switch back and forth. However, you are right - the programming is what it takes to tell it which amp/system you have and how to work appropriately. In my case, the SSS couldn't even talk to the CCC because it was specifically looking for a RAD2/M-ask system. Weird.
The way that BMW implemented this MOST network and its way of adding/programming accessories or simply modyfing configurations is kind of absurd to me. I can't see any technical advance from the E46 to the E90 when it takes hours to install and program a Sirius receiver now when it used to be plug n' play before. Even the OEM alarm takes an hour of programming...

About the audio outputs, I don't see the use in doing simultaneous analog/digital output if the OEM amp and the wiring does not support one of the two types of transmission. However, it should be possible to switch the outputs by just changing the application in the DIS from HiFi to Top HiFi and viceversa.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2008, 03:55 PM   #135
djdaveyg
New Member
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

iTrader: (0)

Im not sure i want to go do the route of changing my VO. I wanted to do a retrofit that was kinda invisable to the dealership once programed. My car is only a few monts old so ive got a few warranty concerns.

I have been looking into the business navigation. I understand that it can now display a 2d map, although on a smaller screen. I would be quite happy with this as long as the idrive interface is still the same.

I have the professional radio, is this M-ASK same as the business navigation head unit?

do you think this would be more of a straight swap out with the addtion of a new dash and cid.

Also does anyone know if to get the new 2d maps you need a later version on the business navigation head unit, or latest software..or both.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2008, 07:35 PM   #136
xdrive
Second Lieutenant
7
Rep
250
Posts

 
Drives: 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Wow, you are crazy. I am hoping you will get it to work. I'm going to order a new dash with navi and put in my own aftermarket big, touch screen navi. I guess my project is nothing compared to yours.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2008, 09:24 PM   #137
xdrive
Second Lieutenant
7
Rep
250
Posts

 
Drives: 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

HEY Booster4075 ,
Check this out. E90 navi dash for only $300. Air bag still intact.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-E...spagenameZWD1V
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2008, 09:28 PM   #138
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xdrive View Post
HEY Booster4075 ,
Check this out. E90 navi dash for only $300. Air bag still intact.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-E...spagenameZWD1V
Thanks - yeah, these guys have been selling that for like a month. I need a black dash, however, and this one is gray. I already emailed them a while back - this is the only one they have. Great deal tho!
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2008, 05:36 PM   #139
Houman21
Captain
Houman21's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
949
Posts

 
Drives: Nothin right now
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: L.A.

iTrader: (0)

I really appreciate you getting your hands dirty - this is truly one of my favorite posts to follow! Very educational and informative.
__________________
2008 e92 335i Step | Is Gone - It was fun but not meant to be | M3 - Cancelled | 135 Ordered
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 12:34 PM   #140
J.P.
Close to bein Bannned
J.P.'s Avatar
United_States
57
Rep
5,068
Posts

 
Drives: Pussy Magnet
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hunterdon, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to J.P.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdrive View Post
Wow, you are crazy. I am hoping you will get it to work. I'm going to order a new dash with navi and put in my own aftermarket big, touch screen navi. I guess my project is nothing compared to yours.
Im doing the same. im also going to get the dash leather wrapped.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexye92 View Post
JERRYS MOM= BEST HEAD OF MY LIFE
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 12:36 PM   #141
Kev
Resident Anesthesiologist
Kev's Avatar
Hong Kong
180
Rep
8,815
Posts

 
Drives: VW bug with a misplaced engine
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JP_335xi View Post
Im doing the same. im also going to get the dash leather wrapped.
Baller Post your results when it's done.
__________________
kev { divinum est sedate dolorem }
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2008, 01:36 PM   #142
J.P.
Close to bein Bannned
J.P.'s Avatar
United_States
57
Rep
5,068
Posts

 
Drives: Pussy Magnet
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hunterdon, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to J.P.
does anyone have the dimensions of the NAV opening on the oem dash?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexye92 View Post
JERRYS MOM= BEST HEAD OF MY LIFE
Appreciate 0
      06-10-2008, 10:10 AM   #143
c_boy
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

(x13895) Pin3 ----- X10547
(x13895) Pin1 ----- Pin1 (x60001) Dme
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2008, 01:07 AM   #144
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_boy View Post
NO! NO! NO!


CID
LVDS to CCC
and

can-bus 12pin(x13822)
(x13822)PIN1 ------ PIN37 (X14272) +
(x13822)PIN3 ------ PIN27 (X14272) -
(x13822)PIN5 ------ PIN11 (X14272) K-CAN_H
(x13822)PIN6 ------ PIN30 (X14272) K-CAN_L

and
I-drive controller
Pin 1 of the controller: 30G(power) ----> hook to pin 1(x9331)
Pin 2 of the controller: 31E(ground) ---> hook to X13016
Pin 3 of the controller: K-Can high -----> hook to pin 11 on back off CCC(x13812)
Pin 4 of the controller: K-Can low ------> hook to pin 9 on back off CCC(x13812)


Yes...we are aware of where the "proper" locations are to hook up these items...as per the WDS. In addition, the pins you looked up may vary due to the month of manufacture. Don't panic. These locations I furnished in my first list are "easy" to hook-up locations right behind the CCC....they can be "tapped" right off the back of the CCC - I've tested them and they all DO work. However, when I do my retrofit, I will be utilizing the "stock" OEM locations (listed in my second list) with the correct wire colors (and correct guage of wire) so that it appears and functions as "stock." I have NOT tested these locations (yet.) Where you are stating to hook up the controller may be correct for the month of manufacture for the car you are looking up. I believe (it may not be true) that diagnosis if something should go wrong years from now will be improved if all items are hooked up in the proper location of the JBE. One thing though, I don't plan on tearing apart a junction to merely tap into it (like x9331) - I'd rather get power/ground at the source. Even though I want to hook up the controller in the "stock" location, the power and ground supply for the i-drive controller is not that critical (clearly it works just fine by tapping in behind the CCC as I have tested it.)

I am not too worried about IBS unless I hook items up in a non-stock location. When this retrofit is complete, I plan to hook these things up just as if it came from the factory. Things will go to "sleep" just like they should and not draw excessive current. While testing this system, I had it hooked up for several days - it went to sleep after 20 minutes or so (like things normally do after you leave the car) - no battery issues whatsoever....and this was not even in the "stock" location for power/ground. I'm not losing sleep over IBS - I'm losing sleep over VO changes!
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2008, 12:21 PM   #145
j-tuned
Private First Class
j-tuned's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
188
Posts

 
Drives: jetblack e92 - 335i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SGV

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
08 e92 335i  [0.00]
major balls to be tackling this type of job. GL
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2008, 03:24 PM   #146
txusa03
Major General
118
Rep
6,567
Posts

 
Drives: TS330iPPSP6MT
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Planet Earth

iTrader: (2)

omg I wish I could help but I don't know sh1t about anything. Looks like fun
__________________
under construction!
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2008, 02:51 AM   #147
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Haven't given up - just stalled again

Well, I'm still trying to get several sources to custom make me a vehicle order. Ironically, there ARE people at home with the know-how and ability to not only create a VO, but also to program it with their very own BMW ops (SSS) equipment. Cool.

I'm still trying to get it done through the dealer, utilizing their engineering skill to make sure every aspect is covered, since there is no such "retrofit" programmed into the SSS. I was told by a person (other than the dealer) that on some of the older nav retrofits, that getting traffic info to work was a cluster. I'd really like it all to work, without affecting other systems!

We'll see...
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 01:03 AM   #148
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

C_Boy-

Due to the language difference (I assume), I'm not entirely clear on what you are saying.

First of all, I'm not sure what IBS is (I-bus?)

I think you are saying (someone help me here), that you have BMW OPS and are actually trying to program this system. Is what you believe is that the no audio issue is due to the DME and CAS having to be programmed first?

Personally, I believe the no audio-out is due to the CCC acting as the MOST controller has no idea what components you have on board and thus has the incorrect (or missing on a new CCC) registration file.

I do think the JBE is important (can it be programmed? - part of the CAS?), as it is the junction for the buses and if the controller & CID is hooked up in the OEM wiring locations, its controls their power (individually) as well as the individual bus circuits for each component.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 10:27 AM   #149
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,170
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Nice one!!
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2008, 11:13 AM   #150
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Good work!!

(Oh yeah- IBS. (momentarily mind-blanked) Too many BMW acronyms!)

I, for one, are very interested on how you got your car programmed (do you have your own OPS?) and did you have to change the Vehicle Order or were you able to program/retrofit without manually changing it?
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 04:59 AM   #151
Paranoia
Banned
United_States
0
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Irving, Texas

iTrader: (1)

keep up the good work
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 05:35 PM   #152
Kris
Colonel
No_Country
44
Rep
2,295
Posts

 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USOFA

iTrader: (0)

Will you write a how to? with photographs and parts require?
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2008, 09:05 PM   #153
calvino
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
72
Rep
1,926
Posts

 
Drives: had e90, 330i mystic blue
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston,Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 e90 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to calvino
WOW really interesting !!! I have read every single page of this thread is amazing I hope you get it to work Booster4075

keep us informed is an amazing project.
__________________
E90 Mytic Blue 330i 07-20-2006. 05-17-2011
Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit . . . unnatural? Support NORML
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2008, 02:56 AM   #154
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
Booster4075's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Friday (later today) I plan to meet with an acquaintance who has BMW vehicle order know-how as well as the equipment to talk to the car. With some luck (and a lot of technical expertise I don't seem to have!) this system will be functioning 24 hours from now. We'll see! I hope to be reporting back here with good news. (on the other hand, I'm not sure how to make an "easy" retrofit for all the other viewers of this thread!)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST