E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > I-Drive Navigation Retrofit!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-20-2008, 03:27 AM   #155
djdaveyg
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I have got 2 systems im playing with at the moment, bussness navi system that has audio, but needs programming for PDC and CD Changer for IPOD control, and i have a PRO system (new version with 8 buttons on the front) that has no audio output and is programmed for logic 7, which also needs CD changer programming for IPOD.

I can put either unit in the car and get no errors. I get all the time and trip computer information just as Booster does.

I also have the dash ready to go.

My car is booked in with a bmw specialist a week on Thursday. They plan to upload the cars config, modify it and then reload to the car.

Hope you get it working booster!
djdaveyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 03:36 AM   #156
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by djdaveyg View Post
I have got 2 systems im playing with at the moment, bussness navi system that has audio, but needs programming for PDC and CD Changer for IPOD control, and i have a PRO system (new version with 8 buttons on the front) that has no audio output and is programmed for logic 7, which also needs CD changer programming for IPOD.

I can put either unit in the car and get no errors. I get all the time and trip computer information just as Booster does.

I also have the dash ready to go.

My car is booked in with a bmw specialist a week on Thursday. They plan to upload the cars config, modify it and then reload to the car.

Hope you get it working booster!
I wish (well, I WISH a lot of things) that I had the newer generation system with the option buttons on the front - nice! djdaveyg - does your pro-system have the two-button controller or just the menu button?

Let us know how your programming goes (and what is required to get either/both systems going!)

I wish more of those "BMW specialists" were around...maybe we need to become one after this endeavor!!
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 04:33 AM   #157
djdaveyg
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Still came with the one button controller. The business nav has the one button controller too, but the one that came with the pro has clicks each time you move it around, the bussiness one has a smooth action. The person i brought the business navi from said the controller came from a pro system, so i guess the newer versions have the click.

Im undecided what one to fit yet, the garage plans to program the car with the MASK, may be a good start.

The dash looks fairly easy to remove, ive got details from the TIS and from looking at the double dash i have theres more work getting all the other bit removed in prep than actually removing the dash.

I plan to remove the dash next weekend, im interested to see if the cid connector is in there!
djdaveyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 04:35 AM   #158
djdaveyg
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Im also removing the dash to see if the cooloing hose has a connection available in there. I hope its just closed off ready to be used.
djdaveyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 04:49 AM   #159
djdaveyg
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Also forgot to add that i do not have a shark fin for GPS.

I purchased a GPS receiver form ebay with the blue fakra connection. Should be delivered later today.

Couldnt find a SiRF III receiver with a fakra connector.

Here are the details of the one i brought

voltage 5v
frequency 1575.42 mhz

Thats all it states, link below

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/GPS-ANTENNA-FA...742.m153.l1262

Might get a chance to test it today.
djdaveyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 07:21 AM   #160
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (2)

Can't see the images on there mate.

Need to be a member.

If you email me them I will host them.

guy.hare@btconnect.com
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 07:31 AM   #161
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (2)

I can see the start picture and finish picture, but not the other ones. The pictures on yupoo I can not see.

Email me those pictures and I will put them up for you.



Also, have you got anywhere that sells double din fascias where you are??
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 07:52 AM   #162
c_boy
New Member
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: earth

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I can see the start picture and finish picture, but not the other ones. The pictures on yupoo I can not see.

Email me those pictures and I will put them up for you.



Also, have you got anywhere that sells double din fascias where you are??
OK,i will send to you

please help me send to here

thanks
c_boy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 09:06 AM   #163
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (2)

c boy,

the pics are now showing fine anyway!!
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 12:10 PM   #164
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

djdaveyg-

The system I got has a silver (platinum?) sharkfin with the GPS antenna and another fakra fitting...can't remember which color. I'm not going to use it, as my car already has the sharkfin with all the goodies. If you or anyone needs it...

I'm nearly positive that the CID connection is within 6 inches of the center dash speaker mounting point. I just couldn't see it or get to it, even with a mirror. I'm almost positive its tucked into the dash back there...and there is no way to get to it without pulling out the dash. I was wondering the same thing about the cooling tube... If mine gets programmed today, I'll be doing these same things in a week or two. I've studied the dash removal process also - it really doesn't look too bad per the TIS, but you are right... it is all the prep work just getting to the point of removing it. (thank your stars that the HVAC doesn't have to come out!) They must have made it not-so-bad, since the dash MUST be replaced if the passenger airbag pops. See if you can sneak it out without pulling out the "A" pillar side-curtain airbags. I'm thinking that would save time and potential damage.


For some reason, I am not able to view c_boy's pix whatsoever..just getting the yupoo (LOL!) screen. C_boy - do you have BMW Ops?
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 01:24 PM   #165
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,089
iTrader: (2)















gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 02:22 PM   #166
djdaveyg
New Member
 
Drives: e90 318d
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: london uk

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Cheers for the offer booster, i may take you up on it. I did not get a chance to test the receiver i got today, so i will see how it performs next week.
djdaveyg is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-20-2008, 10:33 PM   #167
c_boy
New Member
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: earth

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

sorry,Booster4075
I will send more picture later.
c_boy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2008, 03:45 AM   #168
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Professional SatNav - 90% functionality!

Okay...well, here's the status update.

After making a vehicle order change (removing radio professional -663) and adding options 609 and 620 to the VO, nearly everything works. And I'm told it would ALL work if my CCC was a US model. Supposedly, the business -to-professional retrofit program MAY have worked if I didn't have this region issue with my hardware. Ironically, my CCC says US/ECE right on it, but the parts catalog shows its for ECE only. So progman kicks it, stating to replace the CCC as well as the controller before it will update the software. However, nearly everything works as is! What doesn't work: AM radio, traffic updates, and all voice functions. Everything else works - steering wheel controls, Logic 7 audio, ipod adapter, climate control, navigation, bluetooth, service functions, etc.. Obviously, my goal is 100% integration, but for now this is great. I can research the CCC/controller issue while its installed in the car and working at 90%.

To fix my problem, ideally, I need to 1) flash the CCC to a US part number by updating its firmware (send it off somewhere or DVD firmware flash???) or 2) get another US specific CCC for my build date. Anyone want to trade a UK/ECE CCC for a US model??

Haptic feedback is still working on the idrive since I can't get the latest version of progman installed until all errors are removed. I also have a few can-bus errors, but that is likely due to me hooking CID and controller bus and power wiring to the back of the CCC for testing/programming, however, it all works. When I do the full and proper install, the CID and controller will be hooked up in the OEM locations on the JBE.

I will be ordering up a dash and related parts tomorrow, as it WILL be installed. These are minor issues that I can deal with as I go...I will keep you all updated.
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2008, 11:59 AM   #169
Bacano
New Member
 
Drives: BMW E91 320D
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: suisse

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Display

hi you have a 12 pin's in back of your display but where is the Pin 1 and the pin 6 .
can you hepl me i have see what you do and i hope you finish all the work .
Bacano is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2008, 09:16 AM   #170
Bacano
New Member
 
Drives: BMW E91 320D
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: suisse

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

why can i see the photos you have post
Bacano is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2008, 01:45 AM   #171
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacano View Post
hi you have a 12 pin's in back of your display but where is the Pin 1 and the pin 6 .
can you hepl me i have see what you do and i hope you finish all the work .
The pin numbers (first and last) are labeled on the end of the connector itself in very small type. If you need a pin breakdown of the connector, you can find it on the WDS. I actually have a 12-pin connector on the back of my CID. (however, my WDS shows a 6-pin....it is different for the business nav display?)
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2008, 05:52 AM   #172
Bacano
New Member
 
Drives: BMW E91 320D
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: suisse

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up retrofit nav bmw

hi
i'm doing the same thing like you.
you can post how do you remove the dash board and if you have found the wires for cid display?
i send photos later once i begin the work .
Bacano is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2008, 05:54 AM   #173
Bacano
New Member
 
Drives: BMW E91 320D
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: suisse

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

nav

i have the same 12 pin's in prof. cid display
Bacano is offline   Switzerland
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2008, 12:28 AM   #174
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacano View Post
hi
i'm doing the same thing like you.
you can post how do you remove the dash board and if you have found the wires for cid display?
i send photos later once i begin the work .
C_Boy...can you answer this question? djdaveyg and I are both just days away from ripping out the stock dash....did you find the CID connector hidden in there somewhere??? I can't quite see it in your picture (which is horrifying by the way!) I like your new trim also! (is that glacier silver?)
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2008, 03:10 PM   #175
E92Vancouver
First Lieutenant
 
E92Vancouver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 328, 2011 Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 316
iTrader: (0)

Booster4075, this project is insane in the membrane!!!! Wow!!!!
E92Vancouver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2008, 02:25 AM   #176
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Insane is right. My wife is actually being pretty cool about the car intermittently being torn apart. (since Friday, the CID has been sitting on the passenger side floor and the CCC is hanging out of the radio "hole.") I should have the dash parts this week then I'll take pix and put together an actual parts list of necessary items.

What I am looking for is an US i-drive controller, since progman is mad at the one I have. Its a ECE (specifically UK) controller. It works just fine, but for progman to get me up to v30, it wants the right controller and CCC. Anyone know where to procure a new/used 6583 9 150 962 i-drive controller for cheep?
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST