E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Blaupunkt Plug'N'Play Amp install.....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-11-2009, 04:26 AM   #287
seanblee
Captain
 
seanblee's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

Posts: 753
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmf69 View Post
Why do I need to use a 40A fuse on the positive cable since there is already one inserted in the amp? If one chooses to use the power cables provided within the harness (yellow and black) then no extra fuse will be needed....weird
You should always fuse as close to the battery as possible. Otherwise, if your power cables chafe and short to the body, there's no fuse to blow to isolate the wiring, so it gets extremely hot and potentially causes the trim around it to catch fire. The fuse on the amp is to protect the car from the amp; the fuse on the feed cable is to protect the car from the cable.
seanblee is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2009, 05:37 AM   #288
illingworth22
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320d M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dublin

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmf69 View Post
The subs are fed by the 5th channel, still I could frie an egg or two on the amp - it's that hot!!!
I must say I still have the OEM subs running...but this shouldn't be a problem, I will disconnect them tomorrow to see if any effect occurs
So you disconnected the Subs (from the front 2 door speakers) and then re wired them directly to the Amp?
illingworth22 is offline   Ireland
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2009, 08:08 AM   #289
LW
Enlisted Member
 
LW's Avatar
 
Drives: 330i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

Can somebody explain to me why a digital amp should not be hot after use?
It are still electrical parts, so it should get warm/hot?
LW is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2009, 11:41 AM   #290
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by illingworth22 View Post
So you disconnected the Subs (from the front 2 door speakers) and then re wired them directly to the Amp?
This is exactly what i did!
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2009, 07:54 AM   #291
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

heat emmision

Hi,

I am getting worried about the amp work temperature, as I sad previously, it gets very, very hot after an hour of riding...I didn't puzzle out the cause so far:
- could it be the OEM subs I still use (direct connected on the sub channel), I have "heard" they contain a sort of resistence which might "upset" the amp...
- could it be the position, I have installed it in the trunk under the carpet - not much air to breathe...
- could it be the power cables I used to connect to the battery/ground - I used the yellow/black cables from the original harness...should i have used something thicker? I happen to have some 10 squaremm cables
Is there anyone who can help me with a bit of advise on this matter? Thanks in advance!
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2009, 09:28 AM   #292
seanblee
Captain
 
seanblee's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

Posts: 753
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
How have you connected the subs to the sub channel? If you've wired them in parallel, their impedance is halved, which could be taking the amp out of spec. Have you tried wiring them in series instead?
seanblee is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2009, 09:38 AM   #293
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanblee View Post
How have you connected the subs to the sub channel? If you've wired them in parallel, their impedance is halved, which could be taking the amp out of spec. Have you tried wiring them in series instead?
From each sub I connected 2 wires to the plus/min connections on the amp, in other words I have 4 wires going to the 4 connector socket on the amp...
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2009, 10:47 AM   #294
seanblee
Captain
 
seanblee's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

Posts: 753
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
I thought the sub channel was mono, i.e. there is only one set of terminals?
seanblee is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2009, 12:00 PM   #295
illingworth22
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 320d M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dublin

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmf69 View Post
From each sub I connected 2 wires to the plus/min connections on the amp, in other words I have 4 wires going to the 4 connector socket on the amp...
My Amp is the 475 & I have 2 input plugs from the head unit (4 wires on each plug) and 4 output plugs (again 4 wires on each plug).
I assume you should have the same input as mine but an additional 2 wires for the Subs, now these have to be wired in the right way. I don't know the Impedance of the Subs in the BMW's, if they are 2 Ohm and you have them in Paralel (=1 Ohm Load) then the Amp will be overloaded. I seem to remember these Amps are 2 Ohms minimum, but check on line.

Have a look here http://www.bcae1.com/spkrmlti.htm and calculate the load on your Sub's (which in the 475 CAN NOT go below 2 Ohms!).

Last edited by illingworth22; 08-12-2009 at 12:16 PM.
illingworth22 is offline   Ireland
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2009, 12:40 AM   #296
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

fe0wap79.bosch.de/intershoproot/files/serviceDocuments/7607792132001_EA_DE.pdf


I have my subs connected like in fig. 5...This morning I removed the carpet in the trunk to allow some air circulation around the amp but it still gets pretty warm

Last edited by nmf69; 08-13-2009 at 09:27 AM.
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2009, 04:26 AM   #297
seanblee
Captain
 
seanblee's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

Posts: 753
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
OK. Think the stock subs are less than 4 ohms impedance, so that's not going to do the amp much good. Try taking the wires off the two central sub terminals and join them together, thus connecting the subs in series to the bridged amp terminals.
seanblee is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2009, 08:37 AM   #298
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanblee View Post
OK. Think the stock subs are less than 4 ohms impedance, so that's not going to do the amp much good. Try taking the wires off the two central sub terminals and join them together, thus connecting the subs in series to the bridged amp terminals.
I'll try that tonight...meanwhile an email from Blaupunkt:

"Dear customer ,

Thank you for you email .
You can installing one more time over again and if there is hot then 70 degres Is better if u send him to service partners for reparetion

Thank you. Is there still any question you wish to ask? Please call us. You can reach our hotline team from Monday to Friday from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM under the phone number 0900/188 44 10. Always keep yourself up to date and subscribe to the Blaupunkt Newsletter. [for more information please click www.blaupunkt.com ]

With kind regards,
your Blaupunkt Service Team"
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-19-2009, 02:56 PM   #299
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

So far i have received an RMA number and my tha555 is on his way to Blaupunkt technical service in Germany....Two days ago I was able to measure the surface temperature with some professional thermometer - it showed 64 degrees after one hour of usage on a well ventilated spot!!!
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 02:19 AM   #300
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

I have received a new THA 555...guess what, the same working temperature - it's driving me nuts!!!!
So I imagine, being the only one with this proble, something must be wrong in my configuration...I will replace also the power cables with thicker ones but I don't expect to solve anything
I also disconnected the subs for one day, no change!
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 03:43 AM   #301
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,129
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nmf69 View Post
I have received a new THA 555...guess what, the same working temperature - it's driving me nuts!!!!
So I imagine, being the only one with this proble, something must be wrong in my configuration...I will replace also the power cables with thicker ones but I don't expect to solve anything
I also disconnected the subs for one day, no change!
Only just seen this.

You sure you have the correct subs??

Which did you buy, the 4 or 8 ohm ones?? and how have you wired them?
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2009, 03:47 AM   #302
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,129
iTrader: (2)

OK, just seen you have wired the subs correctly, however you are using the OEM subs.

I would run the amp with the subs disconnected and see what happens, if it runs a lot coller you know that is your problem.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 04:07 AM   #303
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
OK, just seen you have wired the subs correctly, however you are using the OEM subs.

I would run the amp with the subs disconnected and see what happens, if it runs a lot coller you know that is your problem.

I also disconnected the subs for one day, no change!
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 05:57 AM   #304
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,129
iTrader: (2)

I know you have already posted this info, but it is a bit spread out, so can you answer again? Sorry!

What speakers are you using?

Where is the amp now??

If under the floor have you tried playing it with the floor up and seeing what happens??

Do this with the subs disconnected first and if it stays cool, then hook them back up and try again.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 09:33 AM   #305
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

In the doors: Audio System X--Ion 200 for BMW (the subwoofers rest in the garage)
pbase.com/rkoelewijn/audio_system_xion_200_bmw

Subs: OEM Bmw woofers

The amp rests on the trunk floor but the carpet has been removed
As power cables i used the harness supplied black/yellow ones with the original connectors - I always suspected the cables could be the problem but an american user complained over the same problem and he uses an 8 gauge cable!

And, yes, I disconnected the oem subs for one day - no change, it gets hot, i did the same with the first amp I had!

The last thing I could try is to disconnect the front speakers
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 10:54 AM   #306
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,129
iTrader: (2)

I really don't know??

Maybe the speakers?? What load are they?? 2 or 4 ohm?
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2009, 10:56 AM   #307
gIzzE
Major General
 
gIzzE's Avatar
 
Drives: E350 cdi Estate.
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

Posts: 5,129
iTrader: (2)

Have you got a link for the speakers??

I had them with a Deutsch supplier but that link is at work and I can't find them again.
gIzzE is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2009, 09:54 AM   #308
nmf69
Private
 
Drives: F30 bmw 320i EDE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
I really don't know??

Maybe the speakers?? What load are they?? 2 or 4 ohm?
4 ohm

but i even disconnected them for 1 hour - the same result
nmf69 is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amp, blaupunkt, diy, tha 475

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST