E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Blaupunkt Plug'N'Play Amp install.....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-28-2008, 05:19 AM   #23
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Hold on, did you get those part numbers from my post above??
That was for kend who has a coupe.

Have a look on here....

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/select.do

Go to vehicle trim and find the parts, you want the trim for a car with top hi-fi.

Then get the dealer to confirm this is the trim they would order for your shape car and production month if the car had the locig7 sound.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 05:20 AM   #24
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...13&hg=51&fg=10
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 05:22 AM   #25
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

FOR VEHICLES WITH
HIFI SPEAKER SYSTEM
OR
HIFI SYSTEM PROFESSIONAL DSP
ONLY IN CONJUNCTION WITH LOUDSPEAKER
GRID
S676A=YES

S677A=YES
01 COVER, WINDOW FRAME, DOOR FRONT LEFT 1 51337171201 $32.64 +core
01 COVER, WINDOW FRAME, DOOR FRONT RIGHT 1 51337171202 $32.64 +core



Plus you need part 3, the speaker grille, but you need them to pull the part number up.
Don't bother with the foam at 20, cut a hole in the stuff that is in there.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 07:17 AM   #26
kend
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
295
Posts

 
Drives: E93 330i SE auto
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Hold on, did you get those part numbers from my post above??
That was for kend who has a coupe.

Have a look on here....

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/select.do

Go to vehicle trim and find the parts, you want the trim for a car with top hi-fi.

Then get the dealer to confirm this is the trim they would order for your shape car and production month if the car had the locig7 sound.
gizze
Thanks for the part numbers, I had them confirmed this morning. I was told that I may also need 2 spring clips 5133 718 2524 at 16 p each.
I have ordered the Blaupunkt amp and new MB quartz speakers for the front so my holiday weekend is booked.
Thanks for your original post, great detail, it gave enough info to encourage me to do it.
Ken
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 01:30 PM   #27
v7seb
New Member
0
Rep
27
Posts

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: bradford

iTrader: (0)

hi all i am really interested in getting 1 of these amp will it work with my hi fi upgrade its not the logic 7 upgrade its the loudspeaker 1 cheers seb.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 01:35 PM   #28
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Simple answer is NO.

However, you can chop out your factory amp and run a new one, I would get a decent 3 channel amp and run the fronts and subs off a new amp and leave the rears being run off the stock amp.

Plus all the wires are in the boot already, so a pretty easy install if you choose an amp that can take a balanced hi-level input.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 03:00 PM   #29
sheps
Colonel
sheps's Avatar
United Kingdom
30
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cambs, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to sheps
Gizze,

Thanks for answering all my earlier questions; just a couple more!

Am I right in thinking you have both subs powered by the 5th output, which is therefore running at 2 Ohms?

Does the amplifier have any crossovers/filters? Presumably your subs are set to run at 150hz (or similar) and below, meaning you're either using an inductor or the amplifier has a low-pass filter for the 5th output?

Conversely, do you have a high pass filter for the fronts/rears so they don't have to struggle with the lows? or have you left them running full range?

Many thanks for all the info - this looks like a great upgrade and something I shall definitely be doing. I have missed having the depth and clarity from my last car but feared an upgrade would be too expensive/time consuming/too far movement from OEM to warrant a change - however, you've changed all that!

Top marks chap
__________________
Gone but not forgotten:
325i M Sport (E92), Black Sapphire, Coral Red Dakota, 19" 225's, Seat Heating, 6FL and de-badge

Replaced by 6.2 litres of AMG powered C class.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 03:26 PM   #30
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

The amps sub output can drive one or two subs, there is two + and - outs, but there are mono, so the same signal.

The amp has hi-pass on the fronts.
Hi and low pass on the rears.

Low pass on the sub outs.

I have actually crossed the fronts over at nearer 200hz, and the same on the low pass for the subs.
Because the subs are under the seat this works well, when I put a sub in the boot I will make sure the fronts are installed well enough to go down to 60hz up front so I can cross the sub over at the same point.

The crossovers on the front have a 6db slope and the sub has a 12db slope for those that like to get techy.

Your only down the road mate, if you want to hear it just shout and we can meet up on the A11 somewhere.
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2008, 04:00 PM   #31
sheps
Colonel
sheps's Avatar
United Kingdom
30
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cambs, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to sheps
Thanks for the offer, I'd really like that.

So, your next stage is to add a further dedicated sub in the boot? Will you be re-using the equipment from your previous install, or shopping for something new?

How will you be getting a signal/remote switch to your sub-dedicated amplifier? I'm guessing the Blaupunkt has pre-outs out for daisy chaining an additional amplifier?

I have a JL sub that I'd love to use in the BMW - its very reassuring that there is an upgrade path without masses of work...it just takes chaps-in-the-know like yourself to share the wealth of knowledge!
__________________
Gone but not forgotten:
325i M Sport (E92), Black Sapphire, Coral Red Dakota, 19" 225's, Seat Heating, 6FL and de-badge

Replaced by 6.2 litres of AMG powered C class.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2008, 01:08 PM   #32
sheps
Colonel
sheps's Avatar
United Kingdom
30
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: C63 AMG
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cambs, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to sheps
Gizze,

Any chance you could post a couple of pics of the DLS components as fitted in your doors? I'm keen to see how your tweets look compared to the L7 items, and how the DLS-supplied grills look in place of the BMW ones.

I've had a look at the Blaupunkt website and the amp specs specifically - the amp you've fitted doesn't have provision for daisy chaining to additional amps - when you come to fit your in-boot sub, what will you use for signal/source? Are you planning on tee-ing into the line level inputs and fitting a line to RCA converter? Does this affect impedance if you still use the line level input for speaker duties as well as converting to RCA?
__________________
Gone but not forgotten:
325i M Sport (E92), Black Sapphire, Coral Red Dakota, 19" 225's, Seat Heating, 6FL and de-badge

Replaced by 6.2 litres of AMG powered C class.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2008, 02:29 PM   #33
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I am not going to run a sub, this goes down to 30hz as it is with the Earthquake subs, which is plenty low enough.
Now I have had it in for a couple of weeks and the subs are starting to loosen up I don't feel I need any more bass, it is superb and seriously well balanced, far better than I have ever had in a boot install.

I will take some pics tomorrow of the speakers/tweeters.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2008, 05:24 PM   #34
kend
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
295
Posts

 
Drives: E93 330i SE auto
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Today I fitted the Amp - What a great improvement. I would highly recommend this mod.
Thanks to Gizze for the inital write up and idea. It took a little bit longer than 20 mins as you have to take out extra trim on the coupe
I put the amp under the boot rear floor where the amp goes on the enhansed versions.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2008, 02:03 AM   #35
yargnat
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
2
Rep
49
Posts

 
Drives: E90 330D M-Sport, Le-Mans Blue
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

How do the blaupunkt amps/harness work with remote turn on? Does the amp power on only when pressing the start button a couple of times, or stay on when just stopping the engine (stop engine, don't pull out key)?
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2008, 02:13 AM   #36
kend
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
295
Posts

 
Drives: E93 330i SE auto
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It senses a signal on the input and automatically turns on and off
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2008, 05:13 AM   #37
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Yeah it is seemless, turns on and off with the radio, as soon as that lights up, the amp is on and it turns off a few seconds after the head unit turns off too, so no pops or clicks.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 07:43 AM   #38
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Sheps, pics of the DLS speakers and tweeters, you can obviously mount them in the L7 trims, but being able to angle them up at the windscreen improves the sound stage 500%.






Excuse the quality, it is a camera phone and it was very bright outside.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 07:45 AM   #39
steve-p
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
241
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 ActiveHybrid 5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newbury, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gIzzE View Post
Excuse the quality, it is a camera phone and it was very bright outside.
Good pics for a camera phone though, think I need a new phone
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 07:47 AM   #40
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I am not into these phones with all gadgets on them, but this N95 8GB is pretty cool and not very big at all, got it as second phone to sit with my 6300, but seem to be using it all the time.

Even used the nav on it the other day when in my old E30 325i and it worked a treat.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 08:19 AM   #41
steve-p
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
2
Rep
241
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 ActiveHybrid 5
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newbury, UK

iTrader: (0)

Does it work OK with Bluetooth in the BMW? The N96 is out soon and I might be tempted.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 08:34 AM   #42
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I have had no problem at all with it, I run the app that pushes contacts to the Nokia 610 car kit on my phone and this then works 100% with the BMW.

N95 8gb looked better to me, smaller handset by quite a bit and with a better battery, 1200mAh vs 950mAh, this could be the difference between 2 days use and having to make sure you charge it every day.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2008, 05:01 PM   #43
Mal
New Member
Mal's Avatar
Aruba
0
Rep
16
Posts

 
Drives: E90 320i Sparkling Graphite
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Aruba

iTrader: (0)

Full potencial THA 555PnP

I've just installed Blaupunkt THA 555PnP with the stock cable harness. One problem, since the subwoofers and the front speakers are wired together on my E90 basic system, the cable harness doesn't use the 5th channel (sub).

So this is what I've done, do this for both sides:
- remove front seat, remove woofer cover.
- Cut cable at the woofer and re-wire new cable from woofer to the amp. and connect to sub terminal.

Now the sub-woofer gets power of their own. Also, you can use the remote bass level control.

So far I don't see I need to replace the subwoofers.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2008, 05:22 PM   #44
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,164
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

Make sure you have the gains all the way down, you want to do this anyway as the output from the head unit is around 8v, but even more so when driving the stock subs direct.

Also make sure the low pass is set to 50Hz as that speaker will only go down to that anyway and will probably blow pretty quick if you feed it any lower.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amp, blaupunkt, diy, tha 475

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST