E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Blaupunkt Plug'N'Play Amp install.....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-21-2008, 02:54 PM   #67
kend
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
295
Posts

 
Drives: E93 330i SE auto
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I have the 4 channel amp and installed the factory tweeters and mouldings.
I mounted the amp under the floor at the back. The whole job took a couple of hours and that included finding a home for the amp. Having an E92 the trim around the rear seats is more time consuming. But this was a really worth while mod that really improves the sound for low cost.
Sheps I am in Herts and you are welcome to look / hear mine.
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2008, 02:20 PM   #68
BigBanana
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
244
Posts

 
Drives: Beemer E90 325d
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (0)

When the sound went off, the time I could check the amp, it was 'cold'.
I was setting off to work and only been driving for 10 mins..

I've now disconnected it's supply and connected the cable loom input to output. (This is how the rear speakers are connected with a 2 channel amp
since they have separate wires in the loom).

Effectively, the extension loom and associated connectors are still in cct but the amp is not. In this situation, (although it's only been one day), the problem has not re-occurred.

It's pointing to the THA....
I'll give it one more day then contact the supplier. (Bluespot).

I thought it should be easier than this.....
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2008, 08:19 AM   #69
Smack DaddyD
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: 325i 2002
Join Date: May 2008
Location: TX

iTrader: (0)

Hopefully, the forum members can help me out. This is what I have in my e46 sedan 2002:

Rainbow speakers:
http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/pr...-Series-Sedan/

BSW Bass
http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/pr...-Series-Sedan/

New Head Unit:
Kenwood KVT-512 DVD Receiver

IPod Integration off a Kenwood

Steering wheel control off of kenwood

Bluetooth off of Kenwood.

Now the part where you come in:

I am still using the factory amp in the trunk to power the speakers. The bass has a separate amp which taps into the factory harness at the factory amp.

My Kenwood amp will need an adapter to work with the BMW factory amp and I am not happy about that since I want to get rid of the factory amp.

The problem I have been told is that to do that I have to run new wired to each speaker and totally cut out the factory amp.

I read your post and now believe that the Blaupunkt cable/adapter and a blaupunkt amp may works I can simply:

1. Toss the factory amp.
2. Replace it with a blaupunkt amp (can you recommend a model)
3. Run the blaupunkt harness from the kenwood back to the trunk and simply connect it to the new blaupunkt amp. Then there would be no need to run new speaker wires.

Will this work?

Since my bass amp (Rockford fosgate is tapped into the factory amp harness, will I need to disconnect that and tap it into the blaupunkt harness? Or run it right to the new blaupunkt amp?

Your help is greatly appreciated!

Dennis
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2008, 09:17 AM   #70
booforty
Major General
booforty's Avatar
United Kingdom
129
Rep
8,813
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [0.00]
Fantastic DIY gIzzE!! Well done
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2008, 12:51 PM   #71
BigBanana
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
244
Posts

 
Drives: Beemer E90 325d
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Midlands, UK

iTrader: (0)

Ok.
So, Bluespot acknowledged I was trying to eliminate connection problems etc.
and advised I spoke to Blaupunkt to see if there was a general problem with the THA 275.

Spoke with Blaupunkt, they suggested, if it happened again, return it.

It has. So, it's going back.

I've had no problems with the wiring installation, which is still installed.

I may just have a duff amp.

Does anyone know if the 'standard' installation subs are 4ohm or 2 ohm?

Looking through many posts, ( mainly from the USA), varying information on this.

If they are 2ohms, I don't think the amp is rated for this.....
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2008, 08:56 PM   #72
wagonmaster
Private First Class
wagonmaster's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: 328xi Touring
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Absolutely brilliant write-up by GIzzE! No two installs are alike. This gives me some great guidance!!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2008, 01:09 AM   #73
E92-Lighting
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
E92-Lighting's Avatar
United_States
426
Rep
27,040
Posts


 
Drives: Next Generation LED Lighting
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Walnut

iTrader: (319)

Send a message via AIM to E92-Lighting Send a message via MSN to E92-Lighting Send a message via Yahoo to E92-Lighting Send a message via Skype™ to E92-Lighting
i agree


Quote:
Originally Posted by wagonmaster View Post
Absolutely brilliant write-up by GIzzE! No two installs are alike. This gives me some great guidance!!!!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2008, 06:56 AM   #74
xupi
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330XD AlpinWhite
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Barcelona (Spain)

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBanana View Post
Ok.
So, Bluespot acknowledged I was trying to eliminate connection problems etc.
and advised I spoke to Blaupunkt to see if there was a general problem with the THA 275.

Spoke with Blaupunkt, they suggested, if it happened again, return it.

It has. So, it's going back.

I've had no problems with the wiring installation, which is still installed.

I may just have a duff amp.

Does anyone know if the 'standard' installation subs are 4ohm or 2 ohm?

Looking through many posts, ( mainly from the USA), varying information on this.

If they are 2ohms, I don't think the amp is rated for this.....
hi, any good new about the THA275 amp??

I want to upgrade my sound system and gIzzE recommended me this amp for my E92 and a simple installation.

And it's a good idea to fit it under the glove box?
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2008, 08:51 AM   #75
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I think you have a duff amp mate. I was running my 555 version, which has less power per channel, into the DLS speakers and the factory subs for a few days with no problem.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2008, 09:01 AM   #76
AlanQS
Colonel
AlanQS's Avatar
Scotland
25
Rep
2,523
Posts

 
Drives: 320d SE Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
gIzzE, would there be any problem with the existing speakers and subs if the THA275 was hooked up to them as a first upgrade?
Whilst I don't fancy trusting door card removal to my clumsy hands, I don't mind simply connecting the amp up to the cable harness.

Also, I currently have a Parrot CK3100 which mutes the radio and uses the front speakers for the phone. Will using the THA 275 scotch that set-up?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2008, 09:14 AM   #77
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I wil be a good upgrade to start with.

The only problem I can see with having teh Parrot kit installed is room behind teh radio, that kit also uses a plug and play cable, so space will be getting tight!
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2008, 01:33 PM   #78
DaveC
Captain
United Kingdom
8
Rep
645
Posts

 
Drives: 330 Touring
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

This looks like a nice way to upgrade, since the head unit is apparently set to give a very non-linear output (others have talked about using clever bits of kit to flatten the curves before chucking them into an amp) I wonder how this sounds? I'm sure it sounds better though, the basic system is pretty dire.

I'm pretty interested in this although I'm possibly more tempted to pop down to Prestige and just let them do everything.

Good write up though Gizze, thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2008, 03:19 PM   #79
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

The head unit is a linear out put, it is the amps that start to mess around with dsp settings, so as long as you go head unit to amp you don't need anything to clean the signal up.

That is why I always say buy the most basic system or the top system, anything in between will disappoint and be a mare to upgrade.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2008, 03:41 AM   #80
kend
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
295
Posts

 
Drives: E93 330i SE auto
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanQS View Post
gIzzE, would there be any problem with the existing speakers and subs if the THA275 was hooked up to them as a first upgrade?
Whilst I don't fancy trusting door card removal to my clumsy hands, I don't mind simply connecting the amp up to the cable harness.

Also, I currently have a Parrot CK3100 which mutes the radio and uses the front speakers for the phone. Will using the THA 275 scotch that set-up?
I have the standard speakers and the 4 channel amp.
I added the tweaters off the higher spec system ( door card removal required).
I am very pleased with the results, it is a great improvement for a small outlay. I was going to change the front mid range speakers but have found that I am happy with the sound now.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2008, 03:59 AM   #81
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

The door cards on these cars are really easy to remove, jus unscrew the two torx screws behind the trim (3rd bhind the handle on passenger side) and then pull it away staring at the bottom, they just pop off.
Then pull it up and out at the top.

The new tweeter just clips in to the existing speaker.

You need to remove the trim round the top of the door and replace that with the new trim with the tweeter grille and you are done.

Put it back together in reverse.

10 minutes a side at the very most and they are all so new the clips are not brittle at all.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2008, 07:31 AM   #82
CrimsonRedE93
Major
CrimsonRedE93's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
1,085
Posts

 
Drives: Le Mans Blue E93 330d+
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Sussex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I can see me spending some money Will need to check out the locations for an amp on the E93 it may be different
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2008, 09:12 AM   #83
dazzapb
Major
England
20
Rep
1,214
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d M Sport +
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SW London, England

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone installed the THA275 in their E92?

If so did it fit in the front using the shorter cable, or did you have to go with the 5.5m cable and mount in the boot? I know that bigbanana has issues in the front in the e90.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2008, 10:55 AM   #84
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

I owuld order the longer cable anyway, only 10 more and gives you options.
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2008, 02:38 PM   #85
CrimsonRedE93
Major
CrimsonRedE93's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
1,085
Posts

 
Drives: Le Mans Blue E93 330d+
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Sussex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Gizze's work has inspired me to upgrade the stock stereo system in my E93.

So far on order are, top hifi tweeters, internal tweeter mounts, THA555 amplifier and 5.5M cable.

I will take pics and create a post when done.

Good info Guy
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2008, 05:56 AM   #86
dazzapb
Major
England
20
Rep
1,214
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d M Sport +
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SW London, England

iTrader: (0)

cheers Gizze, order placed (finally) I have bog standard speaker system, with Pro Nav as per your guide - do I need to remove climate module etc?, or just the part where the CD goes (with buttons 1-8 on it)

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2008, 06:01 AM   #87
gIzzE
Major General
gIzzE's Avatar
United Kingdom
71
Rep
5,166
Posts

 
Drives: Mercedes ML, F25 X3 and 2.8i Z
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK.

iTrader: (2)

You pop the climate out to get to the radio screws.

Enjoy.

By the way, I may have my set up for sale if anyone is interested.


200 for the amp and the 5.5m harness, with wires to go onto the battery connected.
300 for a pair of Earthquake subs mounted in BMW baskets and enough cable to get back to the amp.

This is only if I trade my car though.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2008, 07:30 AM   #88
dazzapb
Major
England
20
Rep
1,214
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d M Sport +
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SW London, England

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, I have ordered the Logic7 tweeter bits and bobs

65136964013 - Tweeters (dealer said I need to order x 2 here - but I believe its comes with 2?
51337184197 - Corner plastic bit
51337184198 - corner plastic bit
51337182524 - clips

Do I need to order anything else? e92 coupe

cheers!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amp, blaupunkt, diy, tha 475

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST