Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > TPMS acting wonky



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Wheel offset calculator courtesy of BimmerPost.com. You may use this calculator to calculate what tire sizes you might need if you upgrade your tires, or what wheel sizes/offsets are compatible with your car.
    Current Wheel Width  inches             Current Wheel Offset  mm.
         New Wheel Width  inches                  New Wheel Offset  mm.
 
TIRE WIDTH
/
ASPECT RATIO
- WHEEL DIAMETER
ORIGINAL TIRES
/
NEW TIRES
/
Based on your stock wheel setup, your new wheel will have:
Original Tires Diameter (in.)
      New Tires Diameter (in.)
  Difference in diameter (in.)
           Percent Difference %
                     
Speedo @60mph will read: mph
Collapse/Expand the BimmerPost Wheel and Tire calculator
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2014, 10:11 PM   #1
jon_335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 178
iTrader: (1)

TPMS acting wonky

I recently installed TPMS sensors from PYSpeed (car didn't have sensors when I bought it). I can't go 10 miles without iDrive telling me to set the pressures and reset the system. Yet, the graphic shows the system as active and all of the wheels green. The pressures are where they are supposed to be. My assumption is that the control module is bad, but before I plunk down $250 for a new unit I wanted to see if anyone had other suggestions.

And even if the module is bad, why does it tell me that all is good and at the same time I need to reset the system? Makes no sense to me.
__________________

2007 BMW 335i | Garner, North Carolina
jon_335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 02:14 PM   #2
ThatGuyMikee
Captain
 
ThatGuyMikee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 m3 e90 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten island

Posts: 698
iTrader: (2)

are the sensors oem? If not aftermarket usually dont work or cause problems
ThatGuyMikee is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 02:30 PM   #3
jon_335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 178
iTrader: (1)

The sensors are not OEM. The vendor, PYSpeed (the sell on this board), assured me the sensors would behave just like OEM. The graphic in iDrive shows all wheels as green and says TPM active. Based on that, I assume the sensors are working correctly.
__________________

2007 BMW 335i | Garner, North Carolina
jon_335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 02:32 PM   #4
shadow191
Captain
 
Drives: '07 E92 335i / '07 Infiniti FX
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: GA

Posts: 907
iTrader: (3)

Are you getting the reset message at the same time all tires show green? Maybe one sensor is intermittent so it's causing the reset message when it cuts out and then comes back.
shadow191 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2014, 02:39 PM   #5
jon_335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 178
iTrader: (1)

I get the reset message, navigate to the status/reset screen and all tires are green. It's pretty consistent that this pops up within 10 miles of being reset. Maybe I should drive around with the status screen up and watch for when it says to reset ... see if there is an interruption of signal.
__________________

2007 BMW 335i | Garner, North Carolina
jon_335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-19-2014, 08:07 PM   #6
jon_335
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 178
iTrader: (1)

I reset my TPMS on the way to work and left the TPMS screen up on the iDrive. I was trying to watch for any indication that the signal was lost from the sensors. When the Reset message came up, there was zero indication that the signal was lost. The tires were green before and after the message came up.

I guess the only way to confirm that the module is the problem is to hook the car up to a scanner? Or swap in someone else's for 10 miles and see what happens?
__________________

2007 BMW 335i | Garner, North Carolina
jon_335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST