E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Pro Nav 2008-2 ???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-22-2008, 05:17 AM   #133
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by alcook View Post
Slightly different issue here as many speed cameras are missing from the POI. My earlier 2008-01 disk has all the local ones but this disk is hardly showing any at all....

I am using DVD-R. But that's the same type for the one that's working, so that's unlikely.
Try using Sergei's version, Al.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougie335 View Post
Sergei is there any way of changing the voices as per tomtom?
Hi Dougie- hope you're well.
It was good meeting you at UK5, BTW!

Unfortunately, the car's Progman firmware controls the voice used for the navigation. There's currently no way of simply changing the voice yourself, sorry.

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      06-22-2008, 09:40 AM   #134
Dougie335
Private First Class
Scotland
7
Rep
188
Posts

 
Drives: Audi S5
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for that Viv.

PS Sergei's disk worked a treat. Keep up the good work.

Dougie.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2008, 09:52 AM   #135
alcook
Captain
alcook's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
613
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330D M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekk View Post
Try using Sergei's version, Al.
Viv, that's the version I have mate. I also ran through the ISO editing to get it onto a single layer.

I was just comparing it to the 08-01 copy I have on -R that works fine...

I can only assume it's the -R that's causing the issues. I don't have +R at the mo, so will look to get a single +R DVD to try it out...
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2008, 10:02 AM   #136
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by alcook View Post
Viv, that's the version I have mate. I also ran through the ISO editing to get it onto a single layer.

I was just comparing it to the 08-01 copy I have on -R that works fine...

I can only assume it's the -R that's causing the issues. I don't have +R at the mo, so will look to get a single +R DVD to try it out...
There are some issues with DVD-R discs, including the inability to use voice entry of destinations.

The Speedcam POI locations are those currently available from 2 well-known providers. I've checked it myself & it is certainly up-to-date.

Have another go with a DVD+R / DVD+RW disc, Al.


All the best.

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      06-23-2008, 02:29 PM   #137
bluemax
Private First Class
United Kingdom
3
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: Sparkling Graphite 320i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Sergei.

went the whole hog and did a single dvd on Tesco's Finest seems to work ok.

One thing though, there seems to be quite a lot of speed cams missed this time (sorry if this is already stated in an earlier post)

regards
Bren
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2008, 03:00 PM   #138
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemax View Post
Thanks Sergei.

went the whole hog and did a single dvd on Tesco's Finest seems to work ok.

One thing though, there seems to be quite a lot of speed cams missed this time (sorry if this is already stated in an earlier post)

regards
Bren
I'm quite surprised by that, as there's now more data making up the speedcam POIs (as a result of combining 2 separate POI databases) than in the previous release.

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      06-23-2008, 04:07 PM   #139
alcook
Captain
alcook's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
613
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330D M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemax View Post
Thanks Sergei.

went the whole hog and did a single dvd on Tesco's Finest seems to work ok.

One thing though, there seems to be quite a lot of speed cams missed this time (sorry if this is already stated in an earlier post)

regards
Bren
I may not have an issue then as this is exactly my findings.

Anyone else have back to back comparisons with earlier versions? My 08-01 has 2-3 times the amount of Cameras referenced.

I can understand a re-calculation and clear out of some mobile ones, but there's 4 fixed Scameras within short distance of my house and all are missing.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 07:18 AM   #140
CrimsonRedE93
Major
CrimsonRedE93's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
1,085
Posts

 
Drives: Le Mans Blue E93 330d+
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Sussex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The speed cameras in my local area are all there
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 02:02 PM   #141
bluemax
Private First Class
United Kingdom
3
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: Sparkling Graphite 320i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Does Sergei know if it's a straight forward cut and paste to put the older cams on 08-01 on to 08-02?

cheers
Bren
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 02:47 PM   #142
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemax View Post
Does Sergei know if it's a straight forward cut and paste to put the older cams on 08-01 on to 08-02?

cheers
Bren
It's quite easy, Bren.

If it's Sergei's 2008-1 'version', then you'll need to do this:

1 Open the iso file (with the likes of UltraIso), or the final disc:

Name:  screen.gif
Views: 551
Size:  36.4 KB

2 Browse to the directory shown above.

3 Save the '9000.IDX' & '9000.URL' file to your desktop

4 Close the 2008-1 version & now open up the 2008-2 iso image

5 Paste the '9000.IDX' & '9000.URL' file from your desktop & into the folder, below:
Name:  screen2.gif
Views: 549
Size:  44.5 KB

6 Now, copy the '0079.IDX' & '0080.URL' files from that folder, onto your desktop (as a backup, if things go wrong) & DELETE both of them IN THE ISO FOLDER.

7 Re-name the '9000.IDX' file as '0079.IDX' & re-name the '9000.URL' file as '0080.URL'.

8 Burn the new image & save it if you want to.

You should now have the old speedcam data on the new disc.


If you have some other 2008-1 version, then you'll need to know the speedcam table filenumbers.


All the best.

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 02:49 PM   #143
coodem
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
283
Posts

 
Drives: M335d
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemax View Post
Does Sergei know if it's a straight forward cut and paste to put the older cams on 08-01 on to 08-02?

cheers
Bren
No reason why not, just make sure you keep the file-name the same and remember the directory structure has changed, but easy enough to find

You will most likely want to use something like ISOedit to edit the ISO, then burn it again
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 03:28 PM   #144
alcook
Captain
alcook's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
613
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330D M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks Viv.
I'm burning.... Sergei's update now
Will load it tomorrow and report back.....
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 03:52 PM   #145
Carrera RSR
Colonel
Carrera RSR's Avatar
England
36
Rep
2,938
Posts

 
Drives: E61 M Sport + 924 Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Location: Location:

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Would anyone like to offer a burning service to someone with only 2gb of hard drive left on their laptop and no dual layer DVD drive?

No money left in the bank to buy new hard drive or DVD burner but just enough to cover a drink for the very nice person who can help.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2008, 04:25 PM   #146
bluemax
Private First Class
United Kingdom
3
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: Sparkling Graphite 320i Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Viv, will get on to it. Might even break down and buy a dual layer disc this time
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 03:16 AM   #147
G33
Colonel
35
Rep
2,082
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carrerarsr View Post
Would anyone like to offer a burning service to someone with only 2gb of hard drive left on their laptop and no dual layer DVD drive?

No money left in the bank to buy new hard drive or DVD burner but just enough to cover a drink for the very nice person who can help.
ive successfully burnt a single layer dvd with the cams on now, however it missed the only one (in a 30mph zone) on my journey in to work can a really nice person also merge the 2008-2 cams with the 2007 ones on??? pleeeeeease im prepared to paypal some of the queens finest your way or some drinks (or even maybe lunch) at the next meet?!
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 03:21 AM   #148
G33
Colonel
35
Rep
2,082
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

also im still seeding! but whats with the 8 yanks that im seeding to??? isnt it an europe nav disc?!?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 03:52 AM   #149
alcook
Captain
alcook's Avatar
United Kingdom
7
Rep
613
Posts

 
Drives: F30 330D M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by alcook View Post
Thanks Viv.
I'm burning.... Sergei's update now
Will load it tomorrow and report back.....
Nope. A distinct lack of cameras.

Did EXACTLY as instructed using EXACTLY the same files in the explanation....

Only thing left is the +R scenario. Will have to try that when I can get hold of a single +R or +RW (I've lots of -R)
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 10:51 AM   #150
GhostsForge
Enlisted Member
GhostsForge's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330d MSport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alcook View Post
Nope. A distinct lack of cameras.

Did EXACTLY as instructed using EXACTLY the same files in the explanation....

Only thing left is the +R scenario. Will have to try that when I can get hold of a single +R or +RW (I've lots of -R)
The +R sorted it for me

Gave up trying a single layer disk, even though these worked for the 2008-1 version, used a Verbatim +R DL disk no problems (though TMC doesn't seem to be working, but the previous disk has the same problem so unlikely to be down to the disk)
__________________
E92 330D M Sport - Auto - Titanium Silver - Black Dakota Leather - Pro Sat Nav - Bluetooth + Telematics - Voice Control
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 11:04 AM   #151
G33
Colonel
35
Rep
2,082
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

can u pass your 08-1dvd my way
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 03:04 PM   #152
vivekk
THE Viv
vivekk's Avatar
England
68
Rep
4,740
Posts

 
Drives: 330i SE
Join Date: May 2005
Location: the North, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
As I've said several times now, you need to use a DVD+R / +RW disc, if you are burning to a single layer.

The -R/RW discs cause several problems when using the navigation.

The 2008-1 & 2008-2 speedcams ARE up-to-date & are composed of data from 2 separate databases.

If there are problems, I really do think you need to follow Sergei's instructions FULLY, ok.

Viv
__________________
[TiAg ▪ Dakota Black ▪ Active steering ▪ Sports suspension ▪ 162s ▪ Sports seats ▪ Al trim ▪ Bi-Xenons ▪ F&R PDC NavPro ▪ Voice control ▪ Bluetooth ▪ 6CD Logic7]


Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 04:33 PM   #153
GhostsForge
Enlisted Member
GhostsForge's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330d MSport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G33 View Post
can u pass your 08-1dvd my way
If you want the disk, no problem
__________________
E92 330D M Sport - Auto - Titanium Silver - Black Dakota Leather - Pro Sat Nav - Bluetooth + Telematics - Voice Control
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2008, 04:42 PM   #154
GhostsForge
Enlisted Member
GhostsForge's Avatar
United Kingdom
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330d MSport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekk View Post
As I've said several times now, you need to use a DVD+R / +RW disc, if you are burning to a single layer.
Viv
Used a +R single layer disk, just didn't want to work fully for some unknown reason

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivekk View Post
If there are problems, I really do think you need to follow Sergei's instructions FULLY, ok.

Viv
I always follow Sergei's instructions

__________________
E92 330D M Sport - Auto - Titanium Silver - Black Dakota Leather - Pro Sat Nav - Bluetooth + Telematics - Voice Control
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2008-2, 2008.2, dvd, nav, pro, speedcams

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST