E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Finally installed my CarPC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-01-2008, 04:37 PM   #23
f30er
Captain
 
Drives: F30 335xi
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NOVA

Posts: 947
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [3.00]
i take off the screen everywhere I park the car and usually either just put it under my seat or in the glovebox....takes less than 5 seconds to take it off and put it on.....just loosen the bolt a turn or two, and it pulls right off.....
f30er is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2008, 04:53 AM   #24
JoeyFiasco
Major
 
JoeyFiasco's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: P'boro, UK

Posts: 1,211
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92er View Post
i take off the screen everywhere I park the car and usually either just put it under my seat or in the glovebox....takes less than 5 seconds to take it off and put it on.....just loosen the bolt a turn or two, and it pulls right off.....
So it's an all in one cable? that's good news. I been seriously considering installing a carpc, but I am still not sure what screen to go with. The best all around touchscreen I can find (well in my opinion) is the Xenarc 7 inch. But don't know if that will be big enough for everything. There are several monitors with bigger screens but don't have brightness, all in one cable, high resolution or touch sensitivity.. It would be my first carpc, maybe I'm asking for too much?
JoeyFiasco is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2008, 11:15 PM   #25
monkeyboy
Private
 
Drives: 2007 E90 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Upstate NY

Posts: 70
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by e92er View Post
The computer's directly wired to the car's battery with a 1/2 farad cap and a fuse in between....
half a farad ??? 500,000uf ? why would you need such a big cap ? unless its a super-cap (but too high inductance/too slow to suppress much noise)... perhaps you're worried about when the car starts... but then hopefully you have a diode in there...
monkeyboy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2009, 06:52 PM   #26
Pseudo Nim
twinborific
 
Pseudo Nim's Avatar
 
Drives: fast, sometimes slow
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: i am a citizen of the world

Posts: 4,732
iTrader: (9)

Sorry for reviving a dead thread... but how did you run your VGA cable to the Lilliput? I have a Xenarc, and been fighting with routing the cable through the dash _somewhere_ - but there is no opening large enough to do it. Did you cut the trim, or did you find a place to run it through?
__________________
Pseudo Nim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST